We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The ONLY Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bozeman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 12 Bozeman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The ONLY Place to Stay”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of October. Due to a scheduling error (mine!) we were only booked for one night, but, thankfully, Mary Martha & Chris had an opening for our second night. We had chosen the Western Room and I would definitely recommend it. Gorgeously decorated, it overlooked the wolves enclosure and we had great fun watching them. The second night we stayed in the Carriage House, which, with two bedrooms, a living room and a full kitchen, would be great for a family.
Views are terrific from any window. The B&B is located about 15 miles outside of the city, and a great spot from which to see the Bozeman area without being in all of the noise and crowding you'd find in the heart of the city. At night we could hear the wolves howling...what a delightful sound!
There is a path to walk around the wolves' enclosure and see them up close. On our second night Chris was inside the enclosure feeding them. We chatted for a bit and a couple of the wolves came up to the fence to meet us. I asked if it was OK to pet them and Chris said sure. What a thrill! One loved having his ears scratched, and even turned around to give me his other ear to scratch! Another just leaned against the fence and seemed to be saying "ahhhhh" as I scratched his back. Definitely a once in a lifetime event for me!
Breakfasts were delicious and, due to an early departure flight, Mary Martha prepared us a terrific earlier than normal breakfast on our last morning. It had snowed during the night and from her kitchen window we watched the wolves in the snow. She tossed them some food from the kitchen window and, as I was taking photos of him, one gave me a look as if to say "more, please". I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B-RTravelers27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
95
211
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Our room overlooked the wolves who serenaded us in the evening and early morning as we watched them play.

The food was healthy, tasty and plentiful and Mary Martha and Chris were well informed and delightful hosts.

Room Tip: The Southwest room has a very good view of the wolves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anglogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellensburg, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The location of the Inn is an idyllic, off the interstate, Montana Valley.
The views from the porch are beautiful. The hosts were very informative about the wolves and their history. As if on cue, on our second night, we were serenade by a brief "pack howl" lasting about 5 minutes. What a great experience. We would definitely recommend this B & B Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarXBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This B&B turned out to be everything we were hoping for. Our room looked right down on the wolves that were quite fascinating to watch. The room was very comfortable, and the hosts were an extremely friendly and interesting family. I hope to return someday with my grandchildren.

Room Tip: The Western room looks right down on the wolf sanctuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We spent two nights at the Howlers Inn in late August 2012. Our principal reason for doing so was to see the wolf sanctuary. The wolves were fascinating and fully justified our choice. The accommodations in the Western Room were fantastic in addition to providing the opportunity to look down on the wolves whenever we chose to. The hosts are genuinely nice people and made our stay a highlight of a trip full of highlights. We could not recommend it more highly.
JTB

Room Tip: The western room and the southwestern room overlook the wolves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We wished would could have stayed here longer and hope to be able to go back. The hosts were incredibly, genuinely nice people who welcomed us to their home and cared for us like close friends. They explained all about the home's amenities (many), and of course all about the wolves. We stayed one night each on the Aspen room and the Western room and both were great. The Aspen room was huge and could have accommodated a whole family. The house had more to offer than we could use in our short stay but the games, projector tv, sauna, air hockey, games, etc would be great for a longer stay, with kids, and after a day of skiing. Watching the wolves and listening to them at night was fantastic. Breakfasts were amazing as well. It took 15-20 minutes for us to get to dinner in Bozeman center from Howlers Inn. That wasn't a problem at all, but it should be noted that the Inn is somewhat outside of the main Bozeman area. Absolutely recommended.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Krissy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howlers, Owner at Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for letting us know! We hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We were in Montana in August 2012 for a two week trip around Yellowstone, Tetons and Glacier (in that order). We flew into Helena (awesome airport, scary plane rides in) and needed a place to stay not too far away on our way down to Yellowstone. Bozeman looked close, and i found Howlers on the TripAdvisor site. Had we been doing more local stuff, Howlers would have been a great place to base a stay. It was remote, but not TOO remote, in a little valley just south of Bozeman but near enough the Interstate for easy access. I loved just sitting on the front porch and watching the nothing happen all up and down the valley.

We happened to be coming through on a night when they had a single night open in the carriage house over the garage. It's pretty much a full apartment with two bedrooms, long couch, kitchen, separate entrance. Very nice cabin place, with all the kitchen stuff you'd need to do some cooking too. It has the weirdest bathtub ever, but everything was great.

Chris and Mary Martha were great hosts and talked to us for a long time about the wolves. They have two pens of born-in-captivity wolves that they care for. They look like dogs, well, big dogs, but guests can't pet them! We got there close to dark and my daughter went down to the pen to see them, and they came rushing up to the fence to have a look at her! She got a great shot of 5 pairs of eyes glowing through the fence at her.

We had a great breakfast the next morning and, alas, had to depart after walking around the enclosures to see all the furry friends. I would highly recommend Howlers as a great place to relax, base some day trips in southern Montana and take in the big sky.

Room Tip: The carriage house is great, we didn't see the other rooms in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howlers, Owner at Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thanks for writing! You are right, the tub/shower in the Carriage House is very unique (it is built into the eaves of a gambrelled roof - i.e. a barn style roof line). It is a full tub and shower but with weird angles. We think it fits in with the character of the place - not highly polished or prissy - but comfortable, functional and a little but different. To quote our own tag line - ...a breed apart!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
10.2 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
18.3 mi away
Gallatin River Lodge
Gallatin River Lodge
#8 of 31 in Bozeman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
10.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bozeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#5 of 31 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
11.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bozeman
11.5 mi away
My Place Hotel-Bozeman, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary

Property: Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary
Address: 3185 Jackson Creek Rd, Bozeman, MT 59715-9659
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lodging experience. Visit a beautiful log home B&B with wolf sanctuary set on 42 acres near Bozeman, MT. All rooms have a private bath and mountain views. Some rooms overlook the wolf enclosure, home to five wolves, offering an up close opportunity to enjoy their singing and antics. Children of all ages welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast And Wolf Sanctuary Bozeman, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing