We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will keep coming back to Howler's”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bozeman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 12 Bozeman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“We will keep coming back to Howler's”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We have been coming to Bozeman every year for over a decade, both Spring skiing and Summer hiking. 2013 marked the 3rd time staying at this wonderful B&B. Located on Jackson Creek Rd, easily accessible from the interstate and Bridger Bowl Skiing. Howler's is hosted by a wonderful couple who offer comfortable accommodations, helpful advise, thoughtful intelligent conversation, and of course, a close-up view of beautiful wolves.
Hearing the wolves howl as we drift off to sleep after a day of sleeping is magical. We always leave feeling that we will be back soon.
Oh, and the breakfasts are amazing.

Room Tip: We have stayed in all 3 rooms in the main house and like them all. Choose the one with the bed confi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makenmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
95
212
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

From New Zealand to Montana in February, we were visitng a winter wonderland and sleeping in paradise at Howlers Inn. Mary Martha and Chris are considerate hosts who provided everything we could wish for. Like them, their home is warm and inviting and you can be involved or left to enjoy as you please. It is an easy drive from Bozeman and if you wish - enjoy the hot tub, sauna and big screen. We slept in the very comfortable Western Room looking out over the wolves was an amazing experience for us. We still think it was perhaps a dream!

Room Tip: Personally as it was a wolf sanctuary I would choose a room with a view to the wolves but all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My adult daughter and I stayed for one night ant the Howlers Inn, and we loved every minute of it. It was lots of fun to stay in the winter, when the white and gray wolves blend with the scenery. It is off the beaten path, but an easy drive to restaurants in Livingston or Bozeman. The rooms are large and quite nice. We stayed in the separate cabin which had cooking facilities. It would be great for a longer stay. As previously mentioned, the family atmosphere is very welcoming. The breakfast was outstanding - my daughter rarely eats her breakfasts at b and bs - but she chowed this breakfast right down. We relaxed on the couch, drank wine and enjoyed a movie. We had so much fun watching the wolves and would love to come back someday.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretWashburnBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howlers, Owner at Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay - and that the wolves howled for you, that can be such a treat! We noted that you rated us a "3" on cleanliness and hope there wasn't a problem. We want everyone to have a great stay in a great place that is clean and comfortable so if we are falling down on the job we take that seriously. We certainly hope to see you again some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Elizabeth, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We have visited a number of places in the area for overnight accomodations as our son lives locally. Howler's Inn is the best of the best. The hosts are congenial, accomodating and great help with ideas of places to visit. The rooms are large, well furnished and comfortable. We could see the pens for the wolves out of our windows and observe them living their lives. It was very special to be part of their world for a short time. Our grand son came to visit and was thrilled to see wolves and be able to watch them. The breakfasts were unique and delicious and our hostess has been asked by many guests to do a breakfast cookbook. I am in line for one. The Inn is located on a mountain side with spectacular views of the countryside. We intend to stay there next time we go to see our son and grandson. It was the best B&B we have been in.

Room Tip: any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Experience here was fantastic, even as someone who is familiar with the area Howler's is still an exciting place to stay. Went during December, when the wolves were a little less active, but still got to see them play a a bit in the morning. Howler's is about a ten minute drive from Bridger Bowl ski area, and about the same from Bozeman. There's plenty to do within a really short drive. The breakfast there was amazing, with something new everyday. My girlfriend and I were wanting to go snowshoeing while we were there. When I mentioned this to Mary Martha, she offered my girlfriend her personal snowshoes so we didn't need to rent them in town (I had my own with me). As a side note, Lava Lake is a pretty nice place to snowshoe if you don't mind the 45 minute drive from Howler's. I also told Chris and Mary Martha before arriving that this was my girlfriend and I's Christmas trip (we live on different sides of the country right now), and Martha offered us a bottle of champagne to celebrate. I would highly recommend anyone looking for a bed and breakfast in the area to stay at Howlers, they will not regret the choice. Chris and Mary Martha are excellent, generous hosts.

Room Tip: Stayed in the southwest room overlooking the wolf sanctuary, definitely a good room to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howlers, Owner at Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
We are so glad you two enjoyed your stay here, and the snow shoeing. We hope to see you some time in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2013

What a wonderful experience. The beauty of the location, having breakfast looking at white wolves, the excellent breakfasts each morning, the family atmosphere were more than any B&B we have ever stayed in. Not too far from the wonderful town of Bozeman but far enough to be in the country away from it all. Bozeman has a lot to offer in shopping and dinning experiences. Be sure to ask Mary Martha. We enjoyed the Garage our first night. Every place she recommended was great. Both Mary Martha and Chris were very accomodating in every way, no matter what the request. Be sure to ask for the jam :). Your stay will be very satisfying. No negatives from us. All the best to this special family. Jeff & Lissa, Lexington, SC

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vibound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howlers, Owner at Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Jeff and Lissa, we had the best time talking with you guys! Every time I put out the jam I think of you Jeff. Thanks for the kind words in your review, we appreciate it. Have a great year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

All the reviews I concur with so no need to repeat-- The area was quite beautiful with rolling hills and plenty of open space. We could see the sunrise from our bed. The wolves don't howl much in the winter but I could hear them playing during the night as we like our window open a little. The rooms are so nice and quiet . The room walls not next to one another... Enjoyed watching one of their many DVD's in our room with no worry of sound effecting others.
Hosts were were very nice.

Room Tip: We had the Western Room overlooking the three acres fenced enclosed with the wolves. Nice King siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicePerson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
10.2 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
18.3 mi away
Gallatin River Lodge
Gallatin River Lodge
#7 of 31 in Bozeman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
10.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bozeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#5 of 31 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
11.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bozeman
11.5 mi away
My Place Hotel-Bozeman, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary

Property: Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary
Address: 3185 Jackson Creek Rd, Bozeman, MT 59715-9659
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lodging experience. Visit a beautiful log home B&B with wolf sanctuary set on 42 acres near Bozeman, MT. All rooms have a private bath and mountain views. Some rooms overlook the wolf enclosure, home to five wolves, offering an up close opportunity to enjoy their singing and antics. Children of all ages welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast And Wolf Sanctuary Bozeman, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing