We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary
Nearby Hotels
Ramada Bozeman(Bozeman)(Great Value!)
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Bozeman(Bozeman)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MountainView Lodge & Suites(Bozeman)(Great Value!)
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Bozeman)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Bozeman(Bozeman)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
412
16
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
412
16
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmary marthawestern roomcarriage houseb bunique experiencewonderful hostsrolling hillsaspen roombeautiful animalsbreakfast was deliciousrecreation roomlog homeother guestsbozeman areastayed longerevery morningthe main house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2008

The Howler's Inn is a truly magical experience! We sadly only stayed there for one night, as part of a week-long trip exploring in and around Yellowstone, and we wished we could have stayed much longer!
This b&b is attached to a wolf sanctuary, which houses about 8 or 9 wolves. The wolves are in a large enclosure very close-by (in fact, our room was right over the enclosure so we had a fantastic view of the wolves and could hear their nighttime chorus very clearly, which was great!). You are able to walk around the enclosure, and even pet one of the extremely friendly wolf cubs.

The innkeeper, Mary Martha, is the most welcoming, friendly hostess you could hope for, and the house itself has loads of amenities, such as sauna, pool table, hot tub...breakfast was also one of the best we had in Montana.

We will definitely go back there if we're ever in Montana again!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Skikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2007

If you're looking for an up close and personal experience with wolves, in a beautiful pastoral setting, with lovely hospitality, then this is the B&B for you. Located 15-20 minutes driving distance from downtown Bozeman, it is close enough to the city that you can get the best of both worlds. Our room was huge, with comfy beds and ample closets, along with a personal fridge and microwave, and a nice view. The breakfasts were delicious. The proprietress, Mary Martha, was only too happy to help, as well as excited to teach about the wolf pack (and two wolf pups) on the premises. She also seemed very eager to bring us into the wolf pups' pen so we could play with them, which was the highlight of our stay, along with hearing the wolf pack howl under a full moon.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CambridgeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2007

I thank my son Steve for this heavenly place. He was marrying a Montana girl and wanted the best place for his parents to stay whilst visiting. He certainly did that..Thanks for introducing us to this wonderful place.

We were all excited about the wedding, but Howlers certainly came very close to being the topic of conversation for the week we were there.

Howlers is a large Log built house on two floors and an annexe. The back drop is rolling hills and mountains. The peace and quiet makes your ears screaming, trying to pick up the minutest of sound. The rooms are light, airy and extremely comfortable, all with en-suite, and very clean.

But to share a dream holiday with nature, is awe inspiring. The wolves are in a vast enclosure and are free to come and see you, or just rest in the countryside. Then to stroke, and play with the two cubs was an irreplaceable chapter, I will never forget.

If you walk around the enclosure after a your large breakfast, they follow you...All five of them.As soon as you stop and look back, they seem to turn around and appear to be whistling a tune and playing the old innocent look. Then they start the follow again. Brilliant..!!!

It was strange to wake up to wolves howling at the break of dawn..but much better than a crowing cockerell.

The hosts (well ..now our friends for life) is Mary Martha and her husband Chris. MM runs the B&B whilst Chris is hard at working either at his job or DIY-ing around the sanctuary. The breakfasts are different to the UK. We may have eggs and bacon..whilst Howlers will serve you with fruit cereal, Eggs, muffins,sausages, bacon,toast.. Ohh..I could go on.

They are two lovely people who basically say.."it is your home whilst you are here please feel free do what you like"..and they mean every word of it.

You will see, spiders,snakes, gophers, elks, deer, Prairie dogs,bluebirds,eagles,bears,bison and of course, Mat the Cat. most of them can be seen, from your porch overlooking the vast undisturbed, peaceful,countryside.

If you ever visit Bozeman in the beautiful traffic jam free state of Montana..stay at the Howlers Inn. I guarantee that you will leave with the most memorable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Thee-Daddy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2007

I highly recommend this B&B. We stayed two nights - one night at the beginning and one at the end of our trip to Yellowstone - in the Western Room and the Sourhtwest Room, both of which were very nice. We loved the decor in the Western Room had it a great view of the wolf enclosure. Listening to the wolves howling and watching them makes the whole stay worthwhile but you also get the added benefits of two great hosts, Mary-Martha and Chris, a super relaxed atmosphere and a delicious breakfast. We couldn't have asked for more - except that we just missed the arrival of the two wolf pups. We definitely plan on staying here again.

Thank teddygirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2007

We had a wonderful 2-night stay at the Howlers Inn. It was extremely clean and sizeable for a B&B and the bathroom was spotless. The hosts were friendly and helpful in navigating the area.

The best part...the breakfast was only surpassed by the view of the wolf sanctury from our room (the cheapest one!). We could hear the wolves howling during the night and watch them interact right outside of our window. Plus, the wolf pups are great additions to the Inn as we were able to interact and play with the two little ones (growing quickly!). The Inn is a short 15-minute drive to Bozeman and easy coming and going.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank himmelsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews