We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bozeman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 12 Bozeman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Obviously the main draw card here is the wolves - which are amazing. I will remember my visit to Howlers forever - it was such a privilege to get to spend time with these animals.
But Howlers doesn't just rely on the wolves to impress their guests - this is B&B done with 5 star style & service.
We stayed in the carriage house - which has 2 bedrooms, a small living area & a full kitchen. Everything is nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. In addition to satellite TV, there is a library of DVDs you can borrow - or get together to watch something with your fellow guests on the home theatre set up in the main house. Complimentary wine is also provided!
Free wifi without password worked most of the time.
Breakfast was amazing with a different home cooked speciality daily (you can buy a cook book featuring the recipes). Hosts are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble (they helped us to book a trail ride for after our departure).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateE006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
103
225
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portola Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a very special place. In between Bozeman and Livingston, the inn has a real feeling of being in the country with the convenience of being close to great restaurants and all the other things the towns have to offer. You could not ask for better hosts than Chris and Mary-Martha – very helpful with great suggestions for hikes, sightseeing and restaurants and just so enjoyable to just sit down and have a chat with. We stayed in the Western Room – VERY comfortable and lovely views including of the wolves. Breakfasts were spectacular! The inn was convenient for day trips to Virginia City and Nevada City; Missouri Headwaters State Park; outdoor options galore; and of course Yellowstone where several of our fellow guests spent their time. We have another visit to Howlers planned and we are so looking forward to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvmavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and I have just about stopped counting how many times we've stayed at Howlers Inn as it's hard to keep track now! Why do we keep going back, when there are plenty of other places to stay in the Bozman area? It's because there is truly no other place like Howlers Inn. If you're looking for a unique (wolves!) B&B that is also beautiful, very clean, and run by a friendly and welcoming family then this is the place for you! You'll also get the most delicious and creative breakfasts, and the most awe inspiring views from whatever room you choose. We just love this place, the wolves, the two resident kitty cats, and the owners. You can't ask for more. For anyone who might be thinking that Howlers is too far out from town, it really isn't at all. It's a short and pleasant drive into downtown Bozeman. You'll also be very close to Bridger Bowl, and plenty of other attractions. We're already looking forward to our next stay at Howlers Inn!

Room Tip: Choose the Southwest or Western rooms if you want a view of the wolves. Choose the Aspen room if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth devon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

stayed for three nights on a family road trip. this is a lovely place to stay, with very friendly and genuine hosts. the wolves are a bonus and the town of bozeman has something for everyone. wish we could have stayed longer. will return soon. thanks mary martha.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ippyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Recently stayed at Howlers Inn for 2 nights. Had the good fortune to stay in the Western room which was located overlooking the wolf enclosure. Howlers Inn far exceeded our expectations and we could not fault any part of our stay. The location, room, and breakfast were first class and nothing was too much trouble for our excellent hosts Mary-Martha and Chris. Will definitely be back only wished we lived within driving distance.

Room Tip: Western room was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstorey36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howlers, Owner at Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
We love to hear we exceeded your expectations! Thanks so much for sharing that information. We do hope you will come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capistrano Beach
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I wasn't a wolf fanatic before my stay ( I was referred when looking for a travel rest between Glacier and Yellowstone. Before I was afraid would would keep me awake howling and their area was set back and my dog snores louder so it was very quiet our night. We stayed in the Carriage Rooms which have great luxury with every detail tastefully done! The wolves have their own acreage and are are beautifully well cared for with guests well protected. Mary Margaret is a terrific cook; her French toast was perfectly seasoned and executed. They had private wide screen tv in there, every heat and kitchen and electronic luxury. Each wolf was a character and being able to look into their amber eyes and have that I'm in charge and I'm not a dog expression was quite an experience. I read the wolves' bios and they were all smiling-they had just had an unscheduled wild meat nights.
So much better than a hotel and the property is so beautiful-better than the other ranch locations in my humble opinion. I'd go out of my way to stay there again-well worth the money!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howlers, Owner at Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and got to learn more about the wolves. Hearing them howl is quite a treat. They don't howl every night, and when they do it doesn't last very long, usually only a few minutes. When a guest doesn't get to hear them, they are disappointed. We loved meeting you both and hope to see you sometime in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The wolves were what drew us to this B&B and they were well worth it. The icing on this cake were the hosts, Chris and Mary-Martha. They were so friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were amazing and the inn was far enough away from town to be quiet and relaxing.

We would recommend this wonderful retreat. The Western Room was perfect and we loved the view of the wolves. We will definitely stay there if we are back in the area!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Akd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
11.3 mi away
MountainView Lodge & Suites
10.2 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
611 reviews
18.3 mi away
Gallatin River Lodge
Gallatin River Lodge
#8 of 31 in Bozeman
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#6 of 31 in Bozeman
227 reviews
11.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bozeman
11.5 mi away
My Place Hotel-Bozeman, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary

Property: Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary
Address: 3185 Jackson Creek Rd, Bozeman, MT 59715-9659
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lodging experience. Visit a beautiful log home B&B with wolf sanctuary set on 42 acres near Bozeman, MT. All rooms have a private bath and mountain views. Some rooms overlook the wolf enclosure, home to five wolves, offering an up close opportunity to enjoy their singing and antics. Children of all ages welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast And Wolf Sanctuary Bozeman, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing