We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bozeman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 12 Bozeman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Orange, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A Unique Experience”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Having the wolves beneath our bedroom window is, indeed, unique in itself! In addition to this experience, the inn is beautiful and the owners are fabulous! We loved the breakfasts! Be sure to check out Mary Martha's cookbook to take home with you! Not only does it have her special recipes, but it also includes biographies on the wolves. This was a fantastic way to conclude our trip to Yellowstone. We are grateful to Mary Martha and Chris for taking such good care and allowing us a close-up peek at these amazing animals!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howlers, Owner at Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We loved getting to meet you both. So glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
101
220
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have to say that Howlers Inn is the best b&b that I have ever stayed in! This is a beautiful ranch in a beautiful country setting. Excellent hosts, excellent food. The most awesome feature though are the wolves! Loved them all, especially Commanche, a beautiful white wolf. Hearing the wolves howl at night was unbelievable--truly a once in the lifetime experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howlers, Owner at Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hearing the wolves howl at night is a remarkable experience, I am so glad you had that opportunity. I am looking at Sekani right now as I write this response, she is licking the office window! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Howlers Inn. Have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at Howlers for two nights in the Western Room during a trip to the Yellowstone Park area. Our room was large (a lot larger than it actually looks in the brochure), spotlessly clean and wonderfully comfortable. All those little luxuries that you would expect of a top notch inn are present too. The room is equipped with a TV for showing dvds - a massive collection of which is available in the lower floor games area along with a huge screen TV should you wish to watch your films or watch a programme on a bigger screen. The bedroom also has a microwave and a small fridge tucked into a closet and, very thoughtfully, the owners have provided some paper plates, plastic cutlery and plastic drinking mugs. Then, of course, there are the wolves right outside your window. We considered ourselves extremely lucky as the wolves performed a magnificent howl on both nights, but only for a few minutes before peace was restored. You might not get to hear the howl as it doesn't happen all the time, but it is a wonderful experience.
You might also like to walk around the wolf pen and scratch a wolf under its chin - Comanche will take this all day long. Of course, not everything is about the wolves - the breakfasts are really good and beautifully presented. If you do happen to leave anything, you can always toss it from the kitchen window for the wolves to finish off - with Chris and Mary Martha's permission of course. Altogether, this is a lovely place to stay and you will be made both welcome and comfortable by terrific hosts. The house is set in the most glorious countryside and Yellowstone is about a ninety minute drive away through more lovely scenery. Livingston and Bozeman are both about a ten mile drive from the inn with a selection of places to eat and shops.

Room Tip: the Western room is dual aspect and has views of the wolves and of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdersmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful ranch 15 minutes off
Main Street
So quite so beautiful
Bring some snacks and a few bottles of wine to tied u over till u get back to Bozeman
Beautiful patios, fire pit, outdoor furniture, play set for kids to run around and then there are the wolves!!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank fraink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My sister bought a gift certificate for my 10 year old for Christmas to stay 3 nights at Howlers Inn. We had the most amazing time. No one has stopped talking about it since we left yesterday morning. :) Mary-Martha, Chris and the girls are amazing. They are so friendly and make you feel like you are with family. I was not sure about a B&B as it was our first time. If there were all this good I would never stay in a hotel again. The rooms were the cleanest I have found anywhere in the world. The beds were so comfy and the sheets were the best. They have put together a very in-expensive cookbook with all of their AMAZING breakfast recipes and information about the wolves together with pictures. Our 10 year old and 4 year old read the cook book all the way home over and over. We are picking a recipie for breakfast as I type. It is located only an hour from the Lewis and Clark Caverns and about 1 1/2 hours from the entrance to Yellowstone National Park. We did both and Mary Martha and Chris were happy to suggest other outings and even have maps to locations. The wolves are also amazing! The kids went out every morning first thing and pet and scratched the wolves and let them lick their hands. From the kitchen window you can watch the wolves and their pack behaviour and even throw them left over breakfast scraps. Our room, the Aspen, was huge two queen beds and tons of windows. There was a huge tub and shower that even had a skylight and small garden in it. It was a completely magical experience and worth twice the price we paid. Make the decision to go. You will NOT be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Aspen room is perfect for families and has a microwave and mini fridge. (They even have plates and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HamiltonFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Five of us stayed for 1 night at Howlers earlier this week. We reserved the coach house (2 bedrooms and bath) and one of the rooms, the Aspen (2 queen beds, private bath). Mary Martha was on the upper deck waving a greeting as we pulled into the drive. Accommodations were very, very nice--clean, comfortable, spacious, nice amenities. The views are incredible, and the one from the Aspen was quite special. Mary-Martha and Chris are gracious and informative hosts. They made some dinner suggestions, and we enjoyed a steakhouse they recommended in nearby Livingston. As others have said, the wolves are fascinating, and we enjoyed observing them and hearing about their behavior. My husband and son shot some pool in the game room after dinner. Our daughter and her friend enjoyed a couple of movies from the DVD collection. Coffee was available early in the morning, and the breakfast Mary-Martha prepared was delicious. We enjoyed conversing with the other guests. We will definitely visit again. Howlers is so much nicer and more interesting than a hotel. If you visit Bozeman or the surrounding area, make sure to spend at least 1 night a Howlers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooter824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howlers, Owner at Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to return. We really enjoyed meeting you all and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Howlers Inn and Wolf Sanctuary is about 13 miles from Bozeman, MT. We had two bedrooms, kitchen, and living room - all superb. Breakfasts were all that we could wish for. Hostess Mary Martha has written a cookbook/wolf journal that is well worth the price. We were there in February, but imagine it would be just as beautiful in other seasons.

Room Tip: Our rooms were over the garage, other rooms are in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin `
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
10.2 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
592 reviews
11.3 mi away
MountainView Lodge & Suites
18.3 mi away
Gallatin River Lodge
Gallatin River Lodge
#8 of 31 in Bozeman
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#5 of 31 in Bozeman
217 reviews
10.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bozeman
11.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bozeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary

Property: Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary
Address: 3185 Jackson Creek Rd, Bozeman, MT 59715-9659
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lodging experience. Visit a beautiful log home B&B with wolf sanctuary set on 42 acres near Bozeman, MT. All rooms have a private bath and mountain views. Some rooms overlook the wolf enclosure, home to five wolves, offering an up close opportunity to enjoy their singing and antics. Children of all ages welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast And Wolf Sanctuary Bozeman, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing