We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Howlers Inn -Great location, great hosts -the American West at its best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bozeman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 12 Bozeman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Near Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Howlers Inn -Great location, great hosts -the American West at its best”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Howlers Inn is located in a lovely spot off I-90 between Livingston and Bozeman, so it's located close to Yellowstone but far enough away where you get peace and quiet.

The room was enormous and very comfortable; Mary-Martha and Chris were attentive hosts who make delicious breakfasts; the facilities were great for our son (air hockey!). And the kicker --the wolves. My favorite moment would be the morning when the neighbor moved cattle to another pasture down the road and the wolves started howling. We just watched and listened and enjoyed. Great stuff.

Howlers Inn is a great place to stay if you enjoy the American West!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adesanfeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
95
211
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

As a longtime "longrider" motorcycle touring couple, we have stayed in the full gamut of accommodations, from campgrounds to resorts - but we always look for something a little different. Howlers Inn gave us that and so much more! The owners were gracious and friendly, the rooms comfortable beyond measure in a beautiful setting. When you add in the extra attraction of the wolves, the very reasonable cost, and the proximity of Bozeman's museums and restaurants, this is frankly THE place to stay in the area. Worthy of a destination trip, you won't be disappointed with any aspect of your stay at the Howler Inn. Absolutely superb!

Room Tip: Owners are quite good at filling special menu requests - just let them know well ahead of your stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A grandfather traveling with a seven year old fly fisherman sought a mature rest that would appeal to both. Howler's owners get it, did it and MORE. The wonderful home rises on a hillside overlooking red angus cows, next to four acres of fenced in tundra wolves. It is a special place with four beautifully appointed bedrooms. The hosts could not have been more pleasant: Dutch pancakes or baked oatmeal in the morning; fresh fruits and excellent coffees and guests honed by the delight of travel. The location is equidistant from Bozeman's the extraordinary Museum of the Rockies (with a paleontologic collection second only to Paris), the wonderful Sola Restaurant with baked breads and fresh salads AND Lininston's rodeo, Gills pizza and the fried green tomatoes of the Rib Room. And it could not have been closer to the Madison and Yellowstone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fhh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A very nice location, which has obviously been set up to the highest standards.
The wolves were taken care of very well, and the noise from my room in the evening was simply unique.
I would recommend either of the Western rooms as they each had wonderful views over the wolf enclosure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howlers, Owner at Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I hope your entire group enjoyed their stay with us and that you all had safe trips on to your next destinations. It looks like you enjoyed your meal at Montana Ale Works as well, I'm glad our recommendation for there was a good one. I hope there wasn't anything you needed during your stay with us that we did not provide. Our goal is for all our guests to feel warmly welcomed into our home and have a relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Having the wolves beneath our bedroom window is, indeed, unique in itself! In addition to this experience, the inn is beautiful and the owners are fabulous! We loved the breakfasts! Be sure to check out Mary Martha's cookbook to take home with you! Not only does it have her special recipes, but it also includes biographies on the wolves. This was a fantastic way to conclude our trip to Yellowstone. We are grateful to Mary Martha and Chris for taking such good care and allowing us a close-up peek at these amazing animals!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howlers, Owner at Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We loved getting to meet you both. So glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have to say that Howlers Inn is the best b&b that I have ever stayed in! This is a beautiful ranch in a beautiful country setting. Excellent hosts, excellent food. The most awesome feature though are the wolves! Loved them all, especially Commanche, a beautiful white wolf. Hearing the wolves howl at night was unbelievable--truly a once in the lifetime experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howlers, Owner at Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hearing the wolves howl at night is a remarkable experience, I am so glad you had that opportunity. I am looking at Sekani right now as I write this response, she is licking the office window! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Howlers Inn. Have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at Howlers for two nights in the Western Room during a trip to the Yellowstone Park area. Our room was large (a lot larger than it actually looks in the brochure), spotlessly clean and wonderfully comfortable. All those little luxuries that you would expect of a top notch inn are present too. The room is equipped with a TV for showing dvds - a massive collection of which is available in the lower floor games area along with a huge screen TV should you wish to watch your films or watch a programme on a bigger screen. The bedroom also has a microwave and a small fridge tucked into a closet and, very thoughtfully, the owners have provided some paper plates, plastic cutlery and plastic drinking mugs. Then, of course, there are the wolves right outside your window. We considered ourselves extremely lucky as the wolves performed a magnificent howl on both nights, but only for a few minutes before peace was restored. You might not get to hear the howl as it doesn't happen all the time, but it is a wonderful experience.
You might also like to walk around the wolf pen and scratch a wolf under its chin - Comanche will take this all day long. Of course, not everything is about the wolves - the breakfasts are really good and beautifully presented. If you do happen to leave anything, you can always toss it from the kitchen window for the wolves to finish off - with Chris and Mary Martha's permission of course. Altogether, this is a lovely place to stay and you will be made both welcome and comfortable by terrific hosts. The house is set in the most glorious countryside and Yellowstone is about a ninety minute drive away through more lovely scenery. Livingston and Bozeman are both about a ten mile drive from the inn with a selection of places to eat and shops.

Room Tip: the Western room is dual aspect and has views of the wolves and of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdersmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
10.2 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
18.3 mi away
Gallatin River Lodge
Gallatin River Lodge
#8 of 31 in Bozeman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
10.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bozeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#5 of 31 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
11.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bozeman
11.5 mi away
My Place Hotel-Bozeman, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary

Property: Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary
Address: 3185 Jackson Creek Rd, Bozeman, MT 59715-9659
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lodging experience. Visit a beautiful log home B&B with wolf sanctuary set on 42 acres near Bozeman, MT. All rooms have a private bath and mountain views. Some rooms overlook the wolf enclosure, home to five wolves, offering an up close opportunity to enjoy their singing and antics. Children of all ages welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast And Wolf Sanctuary Bozeman, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing