We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An adventure in Montana”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bozeman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 12 Bozeman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2009

First, the Bozeman area is beautiful and situated relatively close to (what we think is) the most spectacular part of Yellowstone - the northern entrance. The Inn is located in a rural area that reflects the beauty of the state. Chris and Mary Martha are gracious and welcoming hosts - even when we arrived late after a long day of activity in Yellowstone. They guided us to many of the highlights of the area...including the Museum of the Rockies and the local ski mountain - which we had to check out.

The rooms are large and welcoming to families - we had our teen daughter with us - who was looking at Montana State University. The amenties reflect a comfortable, home- like atmosphere. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The best part was the unique inclusion of wolves. This is a place where you can watch these incredible animals behave normally in a pack. We wondered if we would be unnerved by the howling. Instead we found ourselves fascinated by it. We visit many B7Bs, but this one is truly special.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
Thank Dedicatedhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2009

We loved our visit to the Howler Inn. Within the first minutes, Chris made us feel at home; and Mary Martha was a fabulous host, as well. To say it is clean and full of amenities is to say the least. The memories we created there are wonderful. If you are ever anywhere near Bozeman, you must make reservations to go to the Howler Inn. While we were there a moose and deer walked in the yard! It is quiet and so comfortable. I wish we had stayed longer, and it's a bit sad to think we may not ever be back in MT.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbrent20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at Howler's Inn as part of a summer cross-country trip. We'd heard Bozeman was a great place to visit, so we put it on our list. Bozeman is great, but the highlight of our trip was certainly Howler's Inn. We stayed for three nights. After traveling the country from the East Coast (and staying in B&B's all of the time) I can confidently say that Howler's Inn ranks as the best we experienced. Mary-Martha and Chris are very warm and friendly, so much so that we remarked to family, "it feels like we're staying with old friends!" That being said, one should note that the owners live on-site. If you don't like the experience of sharing common space with owners and other guests, or if you prefer a B&B that is more like a hotel (hands-off owners; limited face-time with other people) then this may not be the accommodation for you. We enjoy the aspect of talking with other guests, so staying here was just wonderful. The breakfasts are delicious and the rooms are beautiful and comfortable. (I should add that I appreciated hand-made soaps and shampoo provided!) We stayed in the Western room and reveled in our top-notch view of the mountains and the wolves. And, ohhhhh, the wolves are fantastic. Howler's Inn is truly a unique, yet at the same time, familiar place to be. We have already made plans to return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlove2081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at Howlers at the end of our Yellowstone holiday , we only stayed one night but it was a memory we will not easily forget. When we arrived we were given the guided tour of the lovely house by Mary-Martha who is a very warm and genuine host, and then offered a glass of wine as we asked plenty of questions about the wolves who are obviously the stars of the show! The wolves are very well loved and well kept and we even had the chance to hold the young cub who had just recently arrived at the sanctuary. Our room was clean and spacious with a large cozy bed overlooking the wolves enclosure, my husband heard them howling during the night which is why we wanted to stay, so that was great. The location was also gorgeous and not far from town. I would love to stay here again the next time we are in Montana, what a find!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LooseMooseDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2009

This was the Best place we could have ever imagined to stay in Montana, especially since we have a 6 year old daughter! Not only is the place child friendly, the owners have young children of their own that are polite and played well with my daughter. The Rec room downstairs was good for the evenings after playing all day at Big Sky, Moonlight Basin or Yellowstone National Park! The Howler's Inn is not too far from anything, if you are willing to drive and experience the beautiful scenery of the Montana Mountains. Mary Martha's Breakfast's were INCREDIBLE! I couldn't wait for breakfast every morning- Spiced pancakes with lemon maple sryup to Orange French toast with powdered sugar etc. Every breakfast was delicious and a hit for both me and my spouse. Also, Mary Martha, the owner, would allow us to use her oven to cook pizza's for dinner if we didn't feel up to going out for dinner every night. The Howler's Inn was so accomodating to our every day needs! My daughter was also especially fond of the Wolf sanctuary there at the Inn! The howling of the wolves at night is really cool! Not irritating at all, if you are worried about that! We just got home late last night, and I already miss the inviting atmosphere at the Howler's Inn, it was as though it was a "Home away from Home" but without the worries and ALL the Relaxations of a resort! I really miss Mary Martha and her good natured spirit! We can't thank them enough!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cookiescrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2008

This is what a B & B should be. A wonderful, beautiful, peaceful place where you are, indeed, treated like family. Very comfortable accommodations, great breakfasts from Mary-Martha, a glass or two of wine in the evening-just get the whites from the fridge, truly part of "the last best place". I sure expect to return!

In winter, if you are "antsy" about possible snowy driving, stay in Bozeman...otherwise, 20 easy minutes from Bozeman, 20 from Livingston, 15 from Bridger (ski area).

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights during a 10-day vacation that included Jackson Hole and Yellowstone. Bozeman, Montana is a pleasant, scenic drive just over an hour from northern Yellowstone, so we worked it into our trip.

When I heard about the Howlers Inn and read all the wonderful reviews from guests, I knew it would be a memorable place to stay ... and it was!

The inn is a charming place with a spacious front porch and clean, cozy and comfortable rooms. The owners are personable and engaging hosts. Mary Martha prepares breakfast meals that are delicious and filling. You won't be hungry for lunch. Matt the Cat is their friendly and entertaining pet who will show you to your room, but he doesn't go in the rooms. And of course the wolves are a very special attraction.

It was interesting to learn about the wolf pack and the personalities of the wolves. We pulled up chairs to the windows in our room and watched them for hours at twilight. I highly recommend the rooms that overlook the wolf enclosures if you're here to enjoy the wolves.

You will definitely enjoy your stay here! There's nothing not to like.

A final note: I'm from New Jersey - where one town flows into the next - so I will add that this place is a little out of the way (although pleasantly so). It's maybe a 15-minute drive on the highway to get to Bozeman in one direction and Livingston is 15 minutes the other way. You're not walking distance to any restaurants or stores ... just the serene countryside.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Route31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
10.2 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
659 reviews
10.9 mi away
Springhill Suites Bozeman
11.3 mi away
MountainView Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Bozeman
Comfort Suites Bozeman
#4 of 31 in Bozeman
366 reviews
18.3 mi away
Gallatin River Lodge
Gallatin River Lodge
#10 of 31 in Bozeman
246 reviews
11.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bozeman, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary

Address: 3185 Jackson Creek Rd, Bozeman, MT 59715-9659
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bozeman
Price Range: £78 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lodging experience. Visit a beautiful log home B&B with wolf sanctuary set on 42 acres near Bozeman, MT. All rooms have a private bath and mountain views. Some rooms overlook the wolf enclosure, home to five wolves, offering an up close opportunity to enjoy their singing and antics. Children of all ages welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast And Wolf Sanctuary Bozeman, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing