We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The ultimate vacation spot, my home away from home.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bozeman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 12 Bozeman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, Montana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The ultimate vacation spot, my home away from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

This was my third trip to Howler's and I love it more each time I am there. It's close enough to town to make a run for dinner but out of town enough to give you the peace and serenity that can only be found in this area. From breakfast to bedtime you feel well cared for, safe, welcomed and happy (it's almost impossible not to be). Then there are the wolves. Lucky visitors, and most are, are able to hear howling during their visits, and the owners are VERY well versed on wolves, their habits, and needs. All the wolves (two enclosures, two packs), are living wonderful lives. They are spayed/neutered and living in a wonderful habitat with loving caretakers. Wolves are acquired through licensed breeders that have more pups than they can handle. The family at Howler's take the pups, raise them and care for them for the rest of their lives. You can learn more about the family and wolves at Howler's Inn on Facebook. Become a fan, I sure am. I have another trip planned for August.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seiny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
210
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

A very relaxing and beautiful place to stay. Very comfy beds, you get to watch the wolves interact with each other, listen to them howl, plus see other wildlife in the area. It is only about a 20 minute drive to Bozeman, but you have the peace and quiet of the country. The views of the mountains are beautiful and MaryMartha and Chris are great hosts! We stay there every chance we get when we go to Bozeman.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayandrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

We chose Howlers because of the excellent ratings it had received on Trip Advisor. We were not dissapointed.
Our room was large and offered an excellent view of the wolf range. It was spotless, and represented a very modern execution of a log home. We essentially became part of the host/hostesses family, as the rooms are part of their lovely log home. We felt lots of privacy and security none the less.
Chris and Mary-Martha, the owners were friendly and hospitable, and offered lots of perspective on their wolves. It was really enjoyable to see the wolves playing, exploring, and howling, both during the day and at night. Surprisingly, the daytime AND nightime howling was soothing to both of us. Not like any other sounds of nature we had ever heard.
The breakfasts were excellent both days of our stays (two separate one day stays), and Chris and Mary-Martha were very flexible about dietary requirements.
OUr experience was excellent, and we would recommend Howlers to most any traveller.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincy-Flash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crofton, MD
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

We went with 3 kids, ages 13, 11, and 8, and absolutely LOVED it. It felt like going to visit some old friends who happened to have wolves in their backyard! We lucked out and got to visit with the new wolf pup, Sekani, who has a blog on their website. Our two girls enjoyed getting to play with some other kids as a break from their sightseeing routine, and our son had ad infinitum questions about the wolves. Chris and Mary-Martha were so patient to answer each one! The property is gorgeous, and Flynn Creek Outfitters down the way gave us a wonderful horseback outing. After days of eating out, we were able to stop at Costco and pick up a rotisserie chicken and belly up to the beautiful large log kitchen table to enjoy a "homestyle" meal. We would visit again in a NY minute - but I would be on Montana time!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_of_5_Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
298 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

What a lovely place! This must be one of out top global places to stay. Located on the side of a mountain in a beautiful part of this lovely countryside a few miles outside Bozeman (easy drive for evening dinner). Just few rooms for lucky travellers who want comfort, charm, friendliness and good food - they will get it all! Chris and Mary Martha are the perfect hosts, and the accomodation was excellent. The wolf sanctuary was an added bonus (and the occasional howling of the wolves is not a problem). Wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

First, the Bozeman area is beautiful and situated relatively close to (what we think is) the most spectacular part of Yellowstone - the northern entrance. The Inn is located in a rural area that reflects the beauty of the state. Chris and Mary Martha are gracious and welcoming hosts - even when we arrived late after a long day of activity in Yellowstone. They guided us to many of the highlights of the area...including the Museum of the Rockies and the local ski mountain - which we had to check out.

The rooms are large and welcoming to families - we had our teen daughter with us - who was looking at Montana State University. The amenties reflect a comfortable, home- like atmosphere. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The best part was the unique inclusion of wolves. This is a place where you can watch these incredible animals behave normally in a pack. We wondered if we would be unnerved by the howling. Instead we found ourselves fascinated by it. We visit many B7Bs, but this one is truly special.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dedicatedhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

We loved our visit to the Howler Inn. Within the first minutes, Chris made us feel at home; and Mary Martha was a fabulous host, as well. To say it is clean and full of amenities is to say the least. The memories we created there are wonderful. If you are ever anywhere near Bozeman, you must make reservations to go to the Howler Inn. While we were there a moose and deer walked in the yard! It is quiet and so comfortable. I wish we had stayed longer, and it's a bit sad to think we may not ever be back in MT.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbrent20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
10.2 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 30 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
18.3 mi away
Gallatin River Lodge
Gallatin River Lodge
#7 of 30 in Bozeman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
10.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bozeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#5 of 30 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
11.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bozeman
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bozeman
Hampton Inn Bozeman
#8 of 30 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary

Property: Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary
Address: 3185 Jackson Creek Rd, Bozeman, MT 59715-9659
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lodging experience: visit a beautiful log home B&B with wolf sanctuary set on 42 acres near Bozeman, MT. All rooms have a private bath and mountain views. Some rooms overlook the wolf enclosure, home to four wolves, offering an up close opportunity to enjoy their singing and antics. Children of all ages welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast And Wolf Sanctuary Bozeman, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing