We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hike well worthwhile !”
Review of Palisade Falls

Palisade Falls
Ranked #4 of 62 things to do in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bethlehem, Connecticut
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A hike well worthwhile !”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Just outside of Bozeman is the beautiful Hyalite Reservoir ---- and about another 5 miles on a dirt road is this beautiful falls . From the parking lot it is 1.25 miles , slightly uphill, to the falls -- on a paved path . At the top it becomes quite steep --- but by then you can hear the falls --- so the anticipation fuels your steps ! This is deep in wilderness and Grizzly country -- so bear spray is strongly suggested !

Helpful?
Thank FMAC523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    48
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and an easy trip”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Fairly easy and relatively short paved walk. Scenery is awesome and the people you encounter are friendly. The road up is unpaved for the last mile or two, but that's really the most challenging part of the trip. If you take dogs like we did, be prepared to pack out any poop bags because garbage cans are not available in the recreation area.

Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheGoGirl_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“30 minute walk on paved trail to a great waterfall!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This is so accessible, one can walk up to the waterfall pushing strollers and wheelchairs. At the end there is a wonderful view of Pallisades Falls. There are rocks for the kids to clamber over, and you can get quite close to the Falls doing that. The drive up is beautiful too! No downside to this one.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hike for non-hikers”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I arrived in Bozeman around noon on Sunday and didn't have time to go to Yellowstone before my business meeting started on Monday morning, but I wanted to experience some Montana nature and decided to visit the Falls based on Trip Advisor recommendations. I didn't realize that the drive from downtown Bozeman would include 10 minutes of gravel road, but my little rental car made it to the parking lot. From there it was a short 10 minute hike to see the beautiful waterfall. I saw kids, seniors, and disabled people on the trail. Stopped on the way there and back several times to take pictures of the breathtaking scenery. Definitely a good expedition if you only have a few hours.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, OR
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Easy walk”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Easy hike for those who are walking challenged. Gentle slope uphill to the falls, on a paved path. .6 miles each way. It would have been helpful in my case to have had a couple of benches along the walk to stop and rest... but other than that it was good. Beautiful falls, awesome rock formations.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palisade Falls also viewed

 

Been to Palisade Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing