We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pizza in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mackenzie River

Mackenzie River
Ranked #106 of 234 Restaurants in Bozeman
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Downtown Bozeman, Montana
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pizza in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have pizza from MRPCo several times a month. It is fantastic pizza. My fave is the Athenian on thin crust or the tomato basil on thin crust. Actually, there is no bad pizza here. The lodgepoles and rollini are really great too. Same with their salads.

Love the ales and wine selection here.

The service can be very slow during busy times. It's best not to eat here if you are on a schedule or in a hurry. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We went early Saturday night as we were passing through Bozeman. First, be prepared to wait. We had to wait a while to be seated, although the place was only about a third full. We had to wait for the waiter to take our drinks order, wait for him to come back to take our food order, he never did bring our check...we had to seek him out to pay for our dinner. He was certainly nice, but disappeared for long periods of time, even for a Saturday night. The interior was clean, bright, and appealing. After a while, the place got loud! Not restaurant loud, more like bar loud. We had to shout at each other across the table. Obviously this is not the restaurant's fault. I am just giving a heads up.

Second, the food was not that great. We ordered a made to order pizza and the children had cheese pizza kids meals. The made to order was okay. There were scant toppings and it had been overcooked, but the tomato sauce was nice and vest and the original crust was light and airy. The kids meals were horrible, my son's pizza had been overcooked to the point that the cheese was just a bubbly layer of brown and you could not cut through the crust. Even after being sliced up by the kitchen, we had to literally pry the pieces apart.

All things told, I might retry MacKenzie River - but not with hungry kiddos. This is more of a have a bottle of wine and visit with friends kind of place. To sum up, might be okay for adults and older teenagers. Would not recommend for those with younger children. The food is not worth the wait.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant - gluten free pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I'm not a big pizza fan, but when I do feel like a pie, McKenzie River is the place to go. The pest breadsticks are great. Yesterday I had the Thai Pie, just spicy enough, it was delicious!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Very extensive menu, but specialize in pizza. Have good selection of tap beer. Good family place as they look after the kids. Handy downtown location.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We have eaten there many times and always have a great experience !! The menu is salads, soup and pizza. They also have a great local beer menu. I love this place and we always go at least once when in town.

Helpful?
Thank Denver1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mackenzie River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing