We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top notch”

Spire Climbing Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Fun & Games in Bozeman
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Come experience indoor climbing on your next vacation! Indoor climbing is safe, fun for the entire family, and a great addition to your Bozeman visit. No experience or appointment is required - we will teach you everything you need to get started! Welcome to Spire Climbing Center, Bozeman's premier indoor rock climbing facility! We have something for everyone, from first-time climbers and families, to groups, to serious climbers. Open since 2004, Spire offers more than 12,000 square feet of roped climbing to heights of 50 ft, and over 5,000 square feet of bouldering. Our walls range from low-angle to overhanging, boast a spread of routes ranging from 5.5-5.13, and boulder problems rated V0-V12. Our setters create routes and problems with an inspiring range of styles, ensuring that everyone has plenty to try. Spire offers the following amenities: Over 18,000 square feet of climbing and bouldering Top-rope walls to 45 ft tall Lead routes to 62 ft in length 36 top-rope stations 6 Auto belays State-of-the-art foam flooring/landing systems Birthday party/group room complete with kitchenette Mezzanine with system-training area and fitness/cardio equipment Free Wi-Fi Retail shop Whether you're looking to train hard, checking out rock climbing for your first time, or throwing a birthday party, you'll find yourself welcome at Spire. We're open year-round, and offer air conditioning during Bozeman's hot summer months.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
falmouth, maine
Level Contributor
697 reviews
262 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“top notch”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

well, i don't climb but my college freshman son does; he's addicted to it; his girlfriend back east was a nationally ranked climber and they climbed at a local rock gym. He says this place is just flat out fantastic.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chimayred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, MT
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great climbing gym”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Spire offers something for everyone...a fun bouldering room, lots of lead climbing, and top roping for any ability level. I especially love the quality of the route setting, the friendly staff, and the flooring. Having visited many gyms around the country, Spire is one of the cleaner and well-kept facilities I've been to thus far.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bswitze_406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top notch facility”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This gym stands out among the many climbing gyms I have visited across the US and world. While it is not as large as those in metropolitan areas like Sunnyvale and Boulder, the routes are consistently good quality. I have climbed in gyms in Sunnyvale CA, Boulder CO, Albuquerque NM, Amsterdam, Melbourne, and several in Sydney Australia. While many were larger gyms and some had higher ceilings for longer routes, none were as reliably challenging or as accurate on route difficulty. This gym is great for the serious climber as well as the casual, and I have taken my young family and out of town guests with everyone enjoying the facility.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MTCaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great small town gym”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. Big bouldering room, half the walls are top-rope, other half set up for lead climbing. Gets very warm and busy on a Sunday afternoon--midday during the week is better

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank coloradokd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fun place with varying levels of challenge.”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

:)
It was fun at a fair price. I went there with my wife on a date. We had not been climbing in a long time. Staff was helpful. We enjoyed the experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sean_hornof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, Manager at Spire Climbing Center, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for the review! Glad to hear you had a good time! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spire Climbing Center also viewed

 

Been to Spire Climbing Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing