We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great New Place in Bozeman”
Review of 14 North

14 North
Reserve with OpenTable
14 North is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 235 Restaurants in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Gastropub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main Street
Description: Located in downtown Bozeman 14 North offers a contemporary take on handcrafted and scratch prepared new west food highlighting selections from local providers when possible. Extensive wine and liquor selections. Nightly specials feature fresh fish and a variety of additional entrees beautifully presented in a comfortable and fun yet professional environment.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
182 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great New Place in Bozeman”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Finally got a chance to visit 14 North, a great new restaurant in Bozeman, MT Took family and friends out for a birthday dinner. The atmosphere, food and service was great. Servers (and the owner) were very attentive and welcoming. The variety of large and small plates on the menu is a bit limited, but everything that everyone orders was enjoyed immensely. The Tempera Bacon appetizer is simply decadent. We will go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BozemanMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    50
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
122 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A new treat to Bozeman”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Waited for several weeks after opening before trying dinner there. Was surprised! A real treat. My daughter had the ribs, a bit salty I had a tenderloin and it was great. Done well and served as it should have been. The place is a bit noisy but worth the the loudness. I'll be back and will recommend it! Well done.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank License697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls
Level Contributor
318 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“14 North Hasn't Gone South”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is a relatively new restaurant to the Bozeman dining scene. They have pretty nice happy hour offerings until 6 PM on both appetizers and drinks. The bar is quite nice, the dining room somewhat small. The service was excellent (Thank you Amber). The steak a bit overdone even though ordered very rare. The 14 North Manhattan was delicious. Worth a try and sure to improve as they move forward.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
233 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Elegant ambience, good food”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I really enjoyed the elegant, upscale ambience that we experienced at 14 North. The choice of colors, beautiful lighting fixtures and artwork on the walls combined to create what is perhaps Bozeman's top fine dining atmosphere. My wife and I both had the lamb shank for dinner. The lamb was tasty and the accompanying vegetables were fresh although somewhat undercooked. While the food was very good, it did not quite deliver the expressive presentation and flavors of a five star dining experience. In choosing a wine to have with our meal i really appreciated that there were perhaps 15 wines available by the glass. Also on the plus side, the service at 14 North was warm, attentive, and efficient from the moment we arrived and throughout our dinner. 14 North is a great addition to Bozeman's culinary scene and one that we will return to and recommend to our friends.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MontanaVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yuk”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The decor of the (renamed Boodles) lives on in 14 North; the tiles and carpet are the same, and the dark wood, too.

But the food...wow. Is it possible to make seared tuna tough to cut? Yes, it CAN be done, because they did...

Ribs, anyone? Straight from Costco to the microwave. But not as good: lots of salt, but they forgot to add any (store-bought?) barbecue sauce.

We had the warm potato chips with truffle sauce. Nice, but they're still potato chips.

And the salmon had to be sent back to the kitchen to be warmed beyond room temperature.

Yuk.

The service was OK and, given everything else, that's a plus.

So, maybe it was a bad night in the kitchen.

Or maybe it's a bad restaurant. We will see what others have to say...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyzyl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 14 North also viewed

 

Been to 14 North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing