We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent sandwiches”
Review of Pickle Barrel

Pickle Barrel
Ranked #37 of 234 Restaurants in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Montana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent sandwiches”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Right across from MSU campus. The half sandwiches are HUGE!
Small place with outside seating or to go. Fast service, and sandwiches are made to order. Another place that must be super busy when school is in session.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MontanaFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    19
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Bozeman-MSU Institution!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I've been eating at the Pickle Barrel for over 30 years! It's always good! It's outlasted almost all of the other Bozeman institutions from my heyday! For thirty years I've been trying to find sub sandwiches as good as the ones at the Pickle Barrel, but I've yet to find anything that compares. I even prefer the Pickle Barrel Cheesesteak to ones I've had on the streets of Philly!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt98030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“3rd hand review”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Disclaimer - I have never eaten at Pickle Barrel. What I have done is ordered the occasional sandwich for my daughter who is at Montana State. She reports to me that they knock their sandwiches out of the park! Her favorite is the Big Sky sandwich because, of course, who doesn't love bacon on everything?

What I have been impressed with is the ease of ordering, the promptness of their delivery to her dorm and their willingness to fix the (one time) issue she had.

A full sized sandwich will last her all weekend. The first time I ordered one, she thought they had delivered 2 by mistake, because each half is about the size of a regular Subway sandwich.

Before she even got to her freshman orientation, we were told by numerous people not to miss Pickle Barrel. She is very glad we took their advice.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Still the same great place it was years ago”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Pickle Barrel has been around for decades, and in a time when most restaurants are cutting down on portions but raising prices, Pickle Barrel has remained consistent in quality and quantity. Their sandwiches are huge, so be sure you're good and hungry before you go there. They put other sandwich shops to shame.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank quiettraveler783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches in Bozeman”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Living next door to it made it obvious choice to grab something there. A half a sandwich was enough for me for a meal. I miss their sandwiches...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Defi90m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pickle Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Pickle Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing