We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously great little museum!”

American Computer Museum
Ranked #3 of 62 things to do in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For both Techies and Non-Techies alike: Since 1990 - the world's oldest continually operating nonprofit museum dedicated to the History of the Information Age, Robotics & Social Networking. Inch for inch, the best museum in the world. - Edward O. Wilson, Professor Emeritus - HarvardAn eye-opener for nine-year-olds to ninety-nine-year-olds, and you'll find your conversations going back to it again and again. - Montana MagazineAs seen in the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, LA Times, Billings Gazette, Bozeman Daily Chronicle, ABC News, Vancouver Courier, New Yorker Magazine, USA Today, C-Span, ABC News, Distinctly Montana, and many other media outlets...
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Seriously great little museum!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is worth the visit. We were amazed how much was packed into a tiny space. It is very unassuming from the outside since the space is in an office complex. We loved the mix of old historical forms of communication and new technologies. There was great attention paid to giving credit to ALL of the scientists and innovators critical to the evolution of computing. I was pleased to see many women noted among the ranks. Of course, our favorite room had the Apple Computers timeline. The original Apple 1 was there along with many of the older putty-colored models. The staff was knowledgeable and gave tours which will help maintain the attention of younger kids. There is no charge, but you'd be a cad not to put something in the donation box.

Criticisms: The film was not worth our time since it focused primarily with how robots are eliminating the need for human employees. I get it, but it was depressing and off-mark compared to the inspirational and forward-thinking vibe of the rest of the museum. We'd also suggest the employees not eat their stinky lunch in the main rooms as we had to smell it the entire time we walked through.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2Webers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    22
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A trip down memory lane”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is a surprising free museum that really chronicles the history of communications/information technology. For anyone who has lived through the explosion in electronics and computer technology, this is a trip down memory lane. Remember the TRS80 computer? Giant portable phone? Apple IIe?
... and it's free!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jefferson, TX
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband would probably rate this a 5. There is more than just computers. There is an old printing press, old telecommunication devices, old robot toys, there's the old telephone board that you'd have to connect the wires by the operator. Lots of fun stuff to learn, remember and enjoy. Free, but donations appreciated.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank deafsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth a visit - don't be fooled by the location”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Small but fascinating museum. Though situated in a office park and the building interior is noveau bland, the nice array of computing and robotic artifacts had our whole family engaged for a good 90-minutes or more. Can't beat the price (voluntary donation) and they have a well curated little gift shop with high-educational/fun factor and almost zero schlock/commercial junk. The greeter/docent was charming, knowledgable and friendly. She gave us a brief but thorough introduction then left us to explore without interruption. Exhibits ranged from the early history of communications, to the age of optimism (1950's) to present day. Some of the most fun was showing our kids the clunky old technology we used to use (Motorola flip phone, Apple Macintosh from 1984, Atari game consoles). Good little write-ups by most objects allowed independent exploration for our 11-year old. The 5-year old had a lot of fun and wasn't bored at all. But this is NOT a hands-on interactive experience for the most part. Definitely worth a visit for the science- or technology- minded and plenty to interest just about anyone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fauxnomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not just a Computer Museum”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I expected a museum dedicated only to computers and was worried that my young daughter would get bored. Was I wrong!

This is actually a museum dedicated to communication - beginning with ancient stone tablet cuneiform writing, the Gutenberg press, all the way to the current computers. It was incredibly interesting!

The many displays show the earliest days in computing and have many artifacts from those times - especially the early 1980's, when "personal" computing was popular. It was fun for my husband and I to revisit our younger years when we first discovered computers. Our young daughter thought it was interesting as well, and we hope she learned something about technology of the past.

This museum is free, though they have a donation box. The displays are well-maintained and there are some that you cannot see anywhere else. According to the receptionist, this is only 10% of the museum's holdings, and I could see where they'd need a larger building.

Allow yourself a couple of hours to read and explore each display. We also enjoyed the small gift shop on the way out. A great way to spend a few hours!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monkeybusiness23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed American Computer Museum also viewed

 

Been to American Computer Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing