We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A motel from "back in the day"”
Review of Royal 7 Budget Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal 7 Budget Inn
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A motel from "back in the day"”
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We booked this motel after having read great reviews from this site, and the decent room rate.

The room we had was pretty basic and had the look of a motel from the 60's. Nothing special...but it was clean and fairly roomy.

The continental breakfast was decent, with bagels, doughnuts, juice, and coffee. Not a huge variety, but fresh.

If you are looking for a pool for the kids, this is not the place for you.

The staff were friendly and helpful. For the price, not a bad deal.

  • Liked — Good price vs. other hotels in the area
  • Disliked — No pool.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    64
    35
    15
    4
See reviews for
42
51
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2008

Based on glowing reviews and quite a price differential, we stayed here both going and coming on a recent trip, rather than a chain motel.
Staff was friendly, room and bathroom were large. It was very nice to have a fridge and microwave. We had the same room both times, separated by several days. It was spotlessly clean the first time but not so the second time--crumbs of chips along base of bed platform, a hair in sink, coffee splatters on walls in several places that would wash off if attempted.
Place hasn't been updated in decades, no outlet at all in bathroom, shabby carpet.
Definitely NOT soundproofed. We very clearly heard the people in the next room. The first time it was a family with little kids and the noise was only during normal waking hours. The second time it was a riotous gathering and it kept us from getting to sleep easily but thankfully did not last into the wee hours. It was like trying to sleep on a couch in the living room when 8 people are laughing and joking in the dining room. We could almost follow the conversation.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank alooknac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bozeman hotels

hansville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2008

I took the advice from the reveiws of Trip Advisor and booked directly with the Motel. I informed them that we have a small dog, but wanted a clean, N/S room. The front desk assured me that Rm. # 40 was one of their best rooms. The room was not only dirty, but smelled like wet dog and urine! What a dump! The room was in the back corner of the building, by a smelly dumpster and the pet walk area was disgusting. Spend the extra $20.00 and continue down the road. If I hadn't already given them my credit card number and had been traveling 10+ hours, we would have gladly left.

  • Disliked — Dirty, Smelly and Rundown
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2larue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2008

We found this motel on line and after staying there for approx two weeks we made the right choice. Large,clean and very quiet rooms will bring us back again this year. The staff were also very helpful and friendly. A great number of eating choices are near by and easy to find. We will be back this fall.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank sligonurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2008

A great deal on a clean room, with a good continental breakfast and friendly staff. If you're looking for a luxury hotel, this is not it. But if you're looking for a place to spend the night that's clean and cheap, this place is perfect!

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank canders1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2007

I think you will be really pleased. I have stayed at this particular Royal 7 Motor Inn while in Bozeman 4-5 times. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable and as nice or better value than more expensive and premium chain rooms. I remember having coffee and continental breakfast, too. The staff were great and were eager to assist and there was plenty of free brochures and travel info available. I have had great experiences staying here and book my lodging while visiting
each time I come to Bozeman.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank Bozevisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2007

Large rooms, comfortable, quiet, and they allowed us to have our dog with us. We will be staying there again on our way back through because we appreciated the service.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank kaaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
0.7 mi away
Bozeman Inn
Bozeman Inn
#29 of 31 in Bozeman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Bozeman
Ramada Bozeman
#15 of 31 in Bozeman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.2 mi away
Motel 6 Bozeman
Motel 6 Bozeman
#27 of 31 in Bozeman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman
0.4 mi away
Treasure State Hostel
Treasure State Hostel
#2 of 16 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
1.2 mi away
Western Heritage Inn
Western Heritage Inn
#20 of 31 in Bozeman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal 7 Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal 7 Budget Inn

Property: Royal 7 Budget Inn
Address: 310 N 7th Ave, Bozeman, MT 59715-3308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal 7 Budget Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal & Budget Inn Motel has 47 non smoking ground floor units. You can park directly in front of your room with our free parking. The rooms range in size from 1 queen bed to a suite that has 3 queen beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Royal 7 Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Bozeman
Budget Inn Royal 7
Royal 7 Budget Inn Bozeman, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing