We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Breakfast on Bozeman” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cateye Cafe

Cateye Cafe
Ranked #27 of 234 Restaurants in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast on Bozeman”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Love this quaint little place for breakfast....great mimosas too. Everything from bacon and eggs to healthy yummy home made granola and yogurt. Have small outside eating area on nice days. The service is always with a smile and hustle. All around good experience the 4 times we ate there so far.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KASL1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    43
    9
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Have been to the Cateye a few times - their biscuits and gravy are really, really good! Like their coffee too. Have tried to go back but there is usually a wait on the weekends and usually don't feel like waiting. But when I'm feeling more patient, it's definitely worth the wait. Have always had friendly and quick service too, even when they're busy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JSLUMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Award winning ?????”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

The cat eye may have won an award for fantastic breakfast but I beg to differ. As a 5 year Bozeman resident I've been here a few times and the food is just not good. I always leave wishing I had gone elsewhere and didn't have a stomach ache

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MTBungalow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“My Favorite Breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Two Words: Gravy Love

I've lived in Bozeman for almost 2 years and have eaten at The Cateye more times than I can remember, and I've never ordered a different breakfast. Ever. It's too good to not get. But not to worry, I've tasted a lot of different menu items here as we always bring our visiting family and friends when they come to town.

Their scrambles? Great. Their breakfast sandwiches? Yummy. Their mimosas? Oh baby.

We've been going long enough now that we're rather friendly with the owners and many of the servers, so it's always a good time. Fear not, though - even if they've never seen you before they'll talk to you, tease you, and steer you in the right food direction.

Also! They do a monthly wine dinner where the menu is fixed and paired with wine. Everyone studies up beforehand and will give you the rundown on the wines as they serve them. Makes it fun, tasty, and educational! Definitely must-do if you're lucky enough to live here, or be in town while it's going on. Keep in mind it's RSVP only so keep an eye on their Facebook page.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
197 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“sassy service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

My wife and I enjoyed the Cateye and would definitely go back. It has a carefree atmosphere among the wait staff and a line on weekends that stretches out to the street. They are one block off Main Street and there is free parking one block away (west). My bacon was underdone but overall the food was good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank berkeley78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cateye Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cateye Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing