We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gallatin River Lodge
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2012

To celebrate my wife's birthday, four of us had dinner at the GRL on a Monday night. The end of March is not the zenith of the tourist season but dinner did not suffer. While we had the dinner steak specials mentioned in a previous review, we experienced no problems with service or food. The wait staff (Rikki) was courteous and prompt, the drinks were fine, and the steaks and salmon passed muster. I especially liked the Gorgonzola Cream Sauce Scallops and my wife said the Huckleberry Panna Cotta was to die for. This is a place I would put on my itinerary when next in the Bozeman area. My compliments to the chef and staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank KBWestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Gallatin River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2012

When you're paying 5-star prices, you expect 5-star food and service. We were disappointed. Salads came dressed when we asked for dressing on the side; a "Rib Steak Special" came covered in pepper, though not mentioned by the waitress. When the steak covered in pepper was sent back for another item, they charged us for the steak anyway. Fortunately, we spotted it on the bill and had it removed. For a birthday cake we brought, they charged $2 each for "cake cutting fee." And they did not bring out the ice cream we provided, either. Stuff like this shouldn't happen in a place that promotes itself as the best restaurant in the Bozeman area. This is another case of a Bozeman area restaurant with 5-star prices and 3-star food and service. Oh, the scallops appetizer was very good. Only $12 instead of $26 they charge for a chicken breast.

Room Tip: N/A I am only reviewing the restaurant.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BozemanTrudeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fishflymt, General Manager at Gallatin River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

We are sorry that you were disappointed in your most recent experience here at the Gallatin River Lodge & Grill. Our team strives for first class quality service and your feedback has helped us improve and be more sensitive to our guest's requests.

Your comments suggest that you enjoyed the food quality. It is good that your server was able to quickly serve you another salad with dressing on the side. We typically season our fresh steaks before grilling. Our staff will be more sensitive to the amount of pepper used. We hope that you enjoyed your salmon dish.

The cake cutting fee is associated with a patron bringing in their own dessert and requesting our staff serve it to you and your guests. This is typical to a corkage fee for bringing your own wine into a restaurant.

The special ice cream was offered to the diabetic guests that needed a sugar-free option. Our service staff did not recall receiving any requests for this from guests.

It sounds like we were able to remedy most of your concerns that night. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The chef made the day thanks for the personal attention and the amazing meal

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was our third stay at the Gallatin River Lodge. First of all, the accommodations are beautiful. Each room in the main lodge (they are adding an adjacent building with more rooms) has a whirlpool tube, shower, fireplace and king bed. We have always stayed in the winter, the slow season, and it has always been very quite and relaxing.
The staff is outstanding, always willing to help. As I said the lodge and rooms are great, but the restaurant is even better. The restaurant is located on the first floor of the lodge, so you don’t even have to put your coat on to enjoy a wonderful dinner. They have an extensive wine list, including choices from the US, Europe, and other wines. The food is wonderful with a good selection of meat and a few vegetarian dishes. The atmosphere is pleasant and the service is outstanding and don’t forget to have a desert.
The other great part of the stay is the breakfast. There is no menu, just tell them what you would like. Again the food is always good and the staff is wonderful. One other good thing is that you are only 15 minutes away from the Bozeman airport.
I would highly recommend the lodge and the restaurant, whether for an overnight stay or just a good night out for dinner.

1  Thank jes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed our last night in MT largely because the lodge is only 10 minutes from the airport - also because after snowmobiling in Yellowstone we wanted to really relax and the tubs and fireplaces in each room sounded perfect. We wished we had longer. When we arrived, Rikki, who was a wonderful and witty hostess, showed us a path to the river. On the way back, about 20 horses ran over to the fence near us. They were docile enough to pet and so beautiful. After our walk we hung out in the cozy lobby with big couches and a wood burning fireplace. We ordered a bottle of wine and some apps and read our books and relaxed. The restaurant was delicious & the rooms were perfect. Our entire party would have been happy to stay permanently. If we are ever in Bozeman again, we will stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ritacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We took advantage of the Winter Romance Package and had a beautiful room, an outstanding dinner, a great breakfast and the very best time. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

a wonderful escape, beautiful, spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. Steve and Keith went out of their way to make our trip to Montana one of my best trips of the last 10 years. They seemed like friends more than hosts at a lodge. Delicious meals, a cozy fire and warmth of atmosphere....could not have asked for more. Thanks!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
8.9 mi away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#5 of 31 in Bozeman
231 reviews
8.8 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
629 reviews
7.0 mi away
MountainView Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bozeman
7.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bozeman
6.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Bozeman
Comfort Suites Bozeman
#4 of 31 in Bozeman
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallatin River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallatin River Lodge

Address: 9105 Thorpe Rd, Bozeman, MT 59718-7260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bozeman
#3 Family Hotel in Bozeman
Price Range: £132 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gallatin River Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury boutique hotel located just west of Bozeman, Montana offering Jacuzzi Suites and superb dining in a quiet secluded setting. Our restaurant "Gallatin River Grill" offers a top shelf bar, Award winning wine list and creative American cuisine. Small conference, wedding services and dinner parties are also a specialty. Many guests enjoy Yellowstone National Park while staying with us. A full service fly fishing guide and instruction program is offered seasonally. We offer free airport transportation to Bozeman's International airport, just ten minutes away. Our "Trout Lodge" with additional lodging rooms offers contemporary cutting edge design and service features. Traveler's Choice Award in 2013 as one of the top 25 small hotels in the world from TripAdvisor! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gallatin River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallatin River Hotel Bozeman
Gallatin River Lodge Bozeman, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing