We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gallatin River Lodge
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Quiet and relaxing”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Made a last minute reservation and went with some hesitation but could not have been more pleased. Maybe our good luck or the tone of the accommodations and staff, even with a large family staying 2 of our 4 nights it was like an immediate extended family. Others you saw only at dinner after their fishing and trail hike adventures, lots of great stories.
My wife and I were starting week 3 of our cross-country road trip vacation and Montana was our rest stop before heading back to South Carolina. We slept peacefully, walked around the property and just lounged around the lodge and enjoyed every minute. Meals were made to perfection, having breakfast made however you want in any combination made for a great start to each day and dinner almost made you want each day to hurry up and end so you could try something new on the menu.
Close enough to downtown Bozeman to get my Starbucks fix, minutes from dozens of hiking trailhead, but far enough away to forget about the rest of the world. Mentioned to the staff that we would be leaving at 4am and what do you know, the kitchen staff were already coming in to prepare breakfast for family at 5am and they wanted to make us breakfast also (we passed on the offer).

Only two things took away from my stay 1, no refrigerator in MY room may lavender different in the main lodge (I didn't inquire) and if only it had closer view of the beautiful mountains from the property.

Simply put, already recommended to all my friends and family and to anyone I may meet in the future. Thanks for all creating such a beautiful respite for weary travelers and stressed city dwellers (our neighbours).

Room Tip: Smaller downstairs Trout Cabins are great if you can live without the Jacuzzi. Be quiet coming out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadSuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    21
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
45
116
13
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Our experience here was incredible - the lodge is truly first class. Keith (the manager) is one of the nicest people we have ever met.

We had a large suite that comes with a jacuzzi, flat screen tv and a nice fireplace. From the moment we walked into the lodge, we knew it was going to be wonderful. We ate there a few times for dinner and the food is truly superb! The free (and absolutely delicious) breakfast was also a great addition to an already wonderful experience.

Highly recommend this lodge!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravel518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Great staff, super nice comfortable rooms, quiet, dog friendly can't say enough good things about this gem!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperDaveA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Gallatin River Lodge from May 3 to May 6 and had a fabulous stay. It is a world class lodge. The staff could not have been any more attentive, the room (105 as I recall) was perfect, the dining was great, and our fishing guide (Ryan) was outstanding. Steve Gamble (owner) and Keith Comiso (manager) have it all together. Harry & Mary Johsnton

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We celebrated my sister's 40th and she lives in Montana...we live in Florida. Gorgeous mountain views, perfect Montana hotel that felt more like a home. Clean, spacious, quiet and great location and close to Bozeman! We saw wild turkeys, horses,and other wildlife. Steve was a great host! We will be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

To celebrate my wife's birthday, four of us had dinner at the GRL on a Monday night. The end of March is not the zenith of the tourist season but dinner did not suffer. While we had the dinner steak specials mentioned in a previous review, we experienced no problems with service or food. The wait staff (Rikki) was courteous and prompt, the drinks were fine, and the steaks and salmon passed muster. I especially liked the Gorgonzola Cream Sauce Scallops and my wife said the Huckleberry Panna Cotta was to die for. This is a place I would put on my itinerary when next in the Bozeman area. My compliments to the chef and staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBWestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman
Level Contributor
138 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

When you're paying 5-star prices, you expect 5-star food and service. We were disappointed. Salads came dressed when we asked for dressing on the side; a "Rib Steak Special" came covered in pepper, though not mentioned by the waitress. When the steak covered in pepper was sent back for another item, they charged us for the steak anyway. Fortunately, we spotted it on the bill and had it removed. For a birthday cake we brought, they charged $2 each for "cake cutting fee." And they did not bring out the ice cream we provided, either. Stuff like this shouldn't happen in a place that promotes itself as the best restaurant in the Bozeman area. This is another case of a Bozeman area restaurant with 5-star prices and 3-star food and service. Oh, the scallops appetizer was very good. Only $12 instead of $26 they charge for a chicken breast.

Room Tip: N/A I am only reviewing the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BozemanTrudeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fishflymt, General Manager at Gallatin River Lodge, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
We are sorry that you were disappointed in your most recent experience here at the Gallatin River Lodge & Grill. Our team strives for first class quality service and your feedback has helped us improve and be more sensitive to our guest's requests.

Your comments suggest that you enjoyed the food quality. It is good that your server was able to quickly serve you another salad with dressing on the side. We typically season our fresh steaks before grilling. Our staff will be more sensitive to the amount of pepper used. We hope that you enjoyed your salmon dish.

The cake cutting fee is associated with a patron bringing in their own dessert and requesting our staff serve it to you and your guests. This is typical to a corkage fee for bringing your own wine into a restaurant.

The special ice cream was offered to the diabetic guests that needed a sugar-free option. Our service staff did not recall receiving any requests for this from guests.

It sounds like we were able to remedy most of your concerns that night. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
8.8 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
8.9 mi away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#5 of 31 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
7.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bozeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bozeman
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bozeman
6.7 mi away
My Place Hotel-Bozeman, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallatin River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallatin River Lodge

Property: Gallatin River Lodge
Address: 9105 Thorpe Rd, Bozeman, MT 59718-7260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bozeman
#3 Family Hotel in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gallatin River Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury boutique hotel located just west of Bozeman, Montana offering Jacuzzi Suites and superb dining in a quiet secluded setting. Our restaurant "Gallatin River Grill" offers a top shelf bar, Award winning wine list and creative American cuisine. Small conference, wedding services and dinner parties are also a specialty. Many guests enjoy Yellowstone National Park while staying with us. A full service fly fishing guide and instruction program is offered seasonally. We offer free airport transportation to Bozeman's International airport, just ten minutes away. Our "Trout Lodge" with additional lodging rooms offers contemporary cutting edge design and service features. Traveler's Choice Award in 2013 as one of the top 25 small hotels in the world from TripAdvisor! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Gallatin River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallatin River Hotel Bozeman
Gallatin River Lodge Bozeman, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing