We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“secret hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gallatin River Lodge
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“secret hideaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

This is a beatiful little lodge tucked away in Montanna! We came across it on a road teip and I'm really glad we found it! Its a gorgeus setting with a great view of the mountains! The lodge itself is really nice and quaint! The food was also great! It was a really nice place but not much to do in Bozeman, but im sure it wouldnt be to hard to find something. I would really suggest staying here!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biancia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    21
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
115
13
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed at GRL for the first time, last wekend.
It was wonderful. From the setting of the lodge, to the room and the food.
Keith does an exelent job. He knows how to lay out everything a guest could imagine.

Room Tip: The new Trout Cabin is sparkling! Great rooms for a couple, or a group of friends/family
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Montana
Level Contributor
726 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

We actually stayed here many years ago and loved it. A romantic weekend, and that it was~
We did not live in the Bozeman area at the time.

We moved into the Bozeman area about 3 years ago. Unknowingly at the time, we ended up buying our home about 2 miles down the road from the Galatian River Lodge. Lucky us!

Our early Valentine's dinner last night was as usual, lovely. The service welcoming and friendly.
The menu selection so much better then what is listed on the web site. Our food simply delicious!

Another great experience, we will return again and again.

Room Tip: If you want to experience an off the beaten path beautiful surrounded lodge with BIG SKY views and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffreyshapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

Very well-designed rooms, at least in the main lodge. Nice TV/sound system, fire place, comfortable bed. Not much privacy in the bathroom area (although toilet is in separate room). Views vary depending on the side - I would ask for a non parking lot view, although the lot is small and if on that side, you do see the sunrise over mountains.

Would not recommend room 106 - above kitchen and noisy. Although they did stop the noise by 10 p.m.

Very good food and bar with friendly and informed servers (able to handle vegetarian, gluten free).

Note - despite the name, it is NOT on the river. The river is about 3/4 miles away; you can walk there. It's set in a pasture type area with a small casting pond next to it.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ATLhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We recently had our small, intimate wedding at the Gallatin River Lodge, and it was perfect! The staff was amazing, and the lodge, scenery, and ambiance was exactly what we were looking for for our wedding day. We would highly recommend this place for anyone who is visiting Montana, as it has so much to offer, and is well worth the cost! A big thank you to the staff and managers at the Gallatin River- we'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCP78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fishflymt, Manager at Gallatin River Lodge, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this wonderful message. We are so happy for the two of you, and wish you the best in your future together. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Montana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

I stayed at the Gallatin River Lodge in December 2012 for an anniversary getaway and was very impressed. We were looking for a relaxing, quiet place where we could have some drinks, dinner, and enjoy a nice room. We were the only ones there for several hours (it was a Sunday night) and it couldn't have been better. We enjoyed a couple drinks in front of their open fire in their great room/lobby. Dinner was amazing...most tender steak I've ever had, best potatoes too. My husband who never eats dessert even gobbled up one of their amazing creations. We stayed in room 105 in the upstairs of the main lodge. The room was up-to-date and clean. The gas fireplace was a nice romantic touch. The bed and sheets were to die for! Next time I'd be interested to see what the new cabin rooms look like. The only disappointment in our entire stay was taking a shower...I had cool to very cold water in the morning. In the morning we enjoyed a made to order breakfast, many options available. They didn't have salsa for my eggs, so the chef made me some that was delish. All the staff were nice and very easy to talk to. Couldn't have been happier with the money we spent and will be going back for sure!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room in the main lodge, but a room in the new cabin might be quieter since it's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjm2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fishflymt, Owner at Gallatin River Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for your comments! In regards to cool water issue: We recently installed a new high efficiency boiler, just prior to your stay, and our plumber had left a valve partially closed which caused the water problem. It has been fixed! Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

The suites are great, beds are so comfy, the lodge is cozy, and the staff is outstanding. My friend got married in front of the fire place. We had dinner in the sun room and drinks in the bar. Like I said, the rooms are updated and so relaxing. Ask for 205, it is romantic. Thanks to all the staff for being so accommodating! We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
8.8 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
8.9 mi away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#5 of 31 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
7.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bozeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bozeman
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bozeman
6.7 mi away
My Place Hotel-Bozeman, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallatin River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallatin River Lodge

Property: Gallatin River Lodge
Address: 9105 Thorpe Rd, Bozeman, MT 59718-7260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bozeman
#3 Family Hotel in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gallatin River Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury boutique hotel located just west of Bozeman, Montana offering Jacuzzi Suites and superb dining in a quiet secluded setting. Our restaurant "Gallatin River Grill" offers a top shelf bar, Award winning wine list and creative American cuisine. Small conference, wedding services and dinner parties are also a specialty. Many guests enjoy Yellowstone National Park while staying with us. A full service fly fishing guide and instruction program is offered seasonally. We offer free airport transportation to Bozeman's International airport, just ten minutes away. Our "Trout Lodge" with additional lodging rooms offers contemporary cutting edge design and service features. Traveler's Choice Award in 2013 as one of the top 25 small hotels in the world from TripAdvisor! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Gallatin River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallatin River Hotel Bozeman
Gallatin River Lodge Bozeman, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing