We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two stars only because the food was amazing”
Review of Voss Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bozeman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Voss Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Bozeman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Two stars only because the food was amazing”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I stayed with my parents in early spring (Feb I think). I have never left a review before, but I strongly regret not leaving one for the Voss Inn sooner. I am leaving one now because I can't believe all the positive comments here and feel like I need to share an alternate opinion.

When we first got there, I predicted an enjoyable stay in a historic house. When we got to the front door, I thought we must have come to the wrong house, because the man who opened the door seemed put out that we were there and did not seem at all welcoming. We had the Sartain room on the first floor at the front of the house. The bathroom is okay, but the heavy, incomplete curtain that goes with the tub is strange and not at all luxurious (as they claim on the website). The beds were uncomfortable and I had a lot of trouble keeping the room warm enough. The plumbing is loud, especially other people's plumbing.

Because we were three, we had arranged in advance for a roll-away so we could all stay in the same room. Although the owners said this was okay when we made our booking, when we got there, they hadn't provided it and they seemed really frustrated and surprised when we asked about it. They did get it to us though.

The inn is no smoking (as expected), however smoking was allowed outside in a designated area. My father did smoke outside (ONLY), but the innkeeper called our room and accused him of smoking in the room because he had smelled smoke when he dropped off the roll-away. We suggested that the smell was likely from Dad's jacket, but the innkeeper continued to be rude about it. He called again later that evening to remind us that the room was non-smoking only and that he would ask us to leave if we continued smoking in the room.

Breakfast was really, really good and the girl who served it was very personable and chatted with us about Bozeman and the surrounding area.

When we were getting ready to leave about lunch time the next day, we started looking for the inkeeper so we could let them know we were leaving, and make sure that there was nothing else to take care of before we left town. Although we had previously discussed our time of departure with them, we couldn't find anyone and after waiting around a while, we finally had to leave (I was trying to avoid driving west across the mountains in the dark, as it tends to be icy).

Overall, our stay was unfortunate, but what happened after we got home really iced the cake. A woman called from the Voss Inn for the express purpose of harassing my mother about our night there. She didn't have any other reason. She again accused us of smoking in the room, which we ABSOLUTELY did NOT). She wasn't explaining additional charges to the credit card for cleaning, but was sure to emphasize that they had had to have the whole room cleaned (including shampooing the carpets!), weird, since I only remember one area rug over wood floors. She continued to criticize us for leaving without "checking out" and couldn't seem to understand that we did try to find someone for that, but were unable to. Additionally, we were apparently rude to the other guests (which we didn't see except over 1 breakfast).

Mom's final phone call from that woman made it clear that we were not welcome again (Wait, we were welcome the first time? I did not notice that). I wouldn't stay again even if it means staying at the Super 8 instead.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cateW30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    16
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
62
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed at the Voss Inn in late September. After arriving dusty and tired from driving up from Yellowstone, we found the Voss Inn to be welcoming and charming. Frankie greeted us with an afternoon tea and provided us with a wonderful recommendation for an afternoon walk and a place for dinner. The Inn is very well located -- just 2 blocks from the main street and walking distance to Montana State. Overall, this is the place we will stay for all of our future visits to the Bozeman area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellensburg, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Voss Inn was a great surprise. The house built in 1883 had that great ambiance that transported you back in time. Quiet, comfortable and close to the center of Bozeman it is a B & B which we would choose to return to.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarXBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights at The Voss Inn B & B. The rooms were large, very clean, comfortable and well appointed. We enjoyed a really delicious breakfast on both mornings. The B & B was in walking distance of the city and was on a local bus route. We also enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea with Frankie. The hosts are really friendly and helpful people. We had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are pleasant however there is a flight of stairs if you have heavy suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The house sits on a busy, but nice street that's an easy walk to everything. The house itself has seen better days, as are most Victorians of that age.The potted flowers in bloom did the place a solid in more ways than just add some color. If you look closely,you can see the place is falling apart. I hope the owners realize this and try to put some money into repairs and preventive maintenance. We felt like we were intruding when we rang at the front door, and were almost concerned we had stumbled into a scary situation, but upon entering our room, we were very much relieved, at least as far as the room itself. Lovely and open and well decorated and gigantic. The womb-like red curtains around the free standing tub was more than a little bit bizarre, and with the hissing from the plumbing I have to say, what with the strange greeting at the door, we were on the fence about the place for several hours. Everything turned out lovely though. We had a great dinner on main street and enjoyed drinks afterwards on the porch and slept like babies in the huge bed. In the morning, we were treated to a breakfast so good that it made up for all our other concerns. I think Voss could surely try harder in some respects, but they are definitely worth the benefit of doubt for a return visit should we ever find ourselves in Bozeman again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soleswornthin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I booked the Voss Inn for my group of Girlfriennd (8 in total) for our yearly trip to MT this August. The Guesthouse is a treat to stay in with unusual rooms and lovely home comforts. Breakfast is a delight - Frankie is a great host and Chef. Be sure to visit the hosts Cafe in town as well, I would go as far as to say these were the best Muffins I have ever had. Our visit from the UK was perfect when in Bozeman and much of this was due to the Voss Inn. Great location 5 minutes from town. Bozeman is an absolute must as a town!!! Love it ! The Voss Inn is well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Pick the Honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayneclive8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Very spacious room, Large sitting room. Man of the house is from Zimbabwe. Many great stores of hunting in the African Bush. Substantial breakfast. Centrally located. Go to Ted's restaurant for dinner. Short 3 block walk.

Room Tip: Two story house. Only one room on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobCatTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
0.2 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#6 of 31 in Bozeman
226 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Bozeman
Comfort Suites Bozeman
#4 of 31 in Bozeman
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
MountainView Lodge & Suites
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bozeman
0.5 mi away
Royal 7 Budget Inn
Royal 7 Budget Inn
#24 of 31 in Bozeman
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voss Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voss Inn

Property: Voss Inn
Address: 319 S Willson Ave, Bozeman, MT 59715-4632
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Voss Inn is Bozeman's ONLY Downtown bed and breakfast inn. Only 3 blocks from Main Street it is walking distance from all downtown shops and restaurants as well as the Museum of the Rockies. The Voss Inn is truly a Victorian home for people who enjoy fine lodging as well as personal service and hospitality. A lovingly restored circa 1883 Victorian mansion on a tree-lined street in Bozeman's most beautiful historic neighborhood, The Voss Inn offers six elegant guest rooms, with private baths. Each guest room remains true to the old-fashioned Victorian charm. Large comfortable beds, full bath facilities, plush terry bathrobes and plenty of space to make you feel at ease and pampered. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Voss Inn Bozeman, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing