We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Excuse for a Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Bozeman
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Bozeman
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst Excuse for a Hotel”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

There are so many things wrong about this hotel, I could go on forever. However, in the interest of fairness, let me start with the one thing that was good. The staff were very friendly and efficient. Now, the lobby of this hotel is currently being renovated, but did they disclose that when I booked it, NO! The construction made a mess of things, as if it wasn't bad enough already. The rooms are horribly dated (I've stayed in better Motel 6s), with extraordinarily loud air conditioners and windows that only open about six inches. Thus, you're really forced to use the air conditioners to get any ventilation. That's probably part of the plan since the highway noise is incessant and given the orientation of the hotel, there aren't noisy and quiet sides, they're all loud. We tolerated it for two nights and then moved.

If you have a choice, stay away!

Room Tip: I don't think there is one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DA445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori N, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Bozeman, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
As always, we appreciate any feedback from our guests as regards their stay. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy our newly renovated guest rooms which are the new Fairfield Inn design by Marriott. Windows only opening a few inches is a safety for all. Our proximity to I90 can both be a good thing and bad when it is such a busy time of year with all of the travelers and students returning to MSU. I would recommend in the future that you notify the desk staff at whatever hotel you stay at because I am sure you will find that they will happily do whatever is possible to make your stay more enjoyable. Hopefully, you will have another opportunity in the future to see all of our completed renovations with fresh eyes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    47
    40
    23
    8
See reviews for
60
48
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I've stayed at a lot of Marriott properties and specifically Fairfield Inns and this was by far my least favorite hotel. The entire hotel felt dated and lacked ammenities. As all Fairfields are classified the same by Marriott and cost roughly the same, I expected a much nicer stay. They are in the middle of renovating their entry way but the rooms will also need renovation to bring this hotel up to the Marriott standards. All the furniture in the room was old (dresser/tv etc..) and there were no ammenities in the room (fridge/microwave etc..). For the same price as other Fairfields I felt cheated.

I would like to point out though that the staff were very friendly and nice. This review is a reflection ont he dated hotel not the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spacemonkeys12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori N, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Bozeman, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to post on TripAdvisor. I was sorry to hear that you did not like the new Marriott designed package. The response to the renovations have been positive and we have many more changes happening for our guests. Hopefully, you will have an opportunity in the future to enjoy all of our renovations including the new lobby/breakfast area and Market.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bozeman hotels

Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The noise from the freeway is non-stop. Asked for a different room, but they were sold out, so no luck. If you must stay here, demand a room facing away from the freeway. Otherwise, it is a basic Fairfield for better or worse.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Manzanitabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori N, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Bozeman, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are sorry to hear that we could not accommodate you during your stay by moving yu further from I90. I is a good thing to have easy access from and to I90 but the noise can bother some. We hope to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Not a lot of Marriott properties to choose from in Bozeman but this one worked just worked just fine. Hotel is currently undergoing a breakfast-area renovation, so you'll be enjoying the ambience of an emptied-out couple of hotel rooms in which to dine!

Folks who checked us in offered an excellent dining recommendation in downtown. Quick, courteous and warm welcome upon arrival.

Hotel is about 7 miles away from the airport and located right next to a McDonald's, on Wheat Drive. Our side of the room was facing the highway and you could hear the traffic, but we were so tired that it didn't affect our sleep.

Wish we had more time to explore Bozeman. Looked like a nice place to visit.

Room Tip: You've got two choices: highway side or McDonald's/parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frqflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori N, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Bozeman, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the feedback. We hope you have another opportunity to stay with us when all of our renovations are completed including our new breakfast/lobby area and Market.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday night in mid July. There was a problem with our bill as I had presented a gift card when we checked in, but when we checked out our bill did not reflect the gift card payment. This was cleared up after about 2 days. Recommendation to all: If you use all of the remaining value on a gift card, let the person swipe the card and then get the valueless card back in case there is a discrepancy. The breakfast was good, I especially like the variety of fresh fruit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanograham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori N, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Bozeman, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We apologize for the confusion. Yes, you should always retrieve your gift cards with either the balance due amount or "void" written across the card. It was unfortunate that this happened but we are glad that we were able to correct the issue. Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is an excellent hotel. Each room is professionally decorated. I loved the updated flat screen t.v's and comfy beds. Linens were soft and new. Towels were fresh and fluffy. The breakfast area for the free breakfast was just renovated and looks brand new. The free breakfast had muffins, fresh apples and banana's eggs, sausage, yogurt etc. There was four different coffee varieties along with flavored creamers. The lobby staff were nice and knowledgeable. We asked several questions of the area and were rewarded with a staff member who knew the area and even printed out material for us. I felt the price was worth what you got. This is a budget minded hotel and you are paying a cheap price, I felt it we were MORE than rewarded.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calitripgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori N, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Bozeman, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
The staff and I appreciate you taking time to respond on TripAdvisor. Your review was shared with the staff and they are so happy that they gave you a stay to enjoy. We hope to have another opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Hotel was clean and neat. The property is well cared for. Staff was friendly and the breakfast was very good. Close to the interstate and convenient to Yellowstone. Tours to Yellowstone are available from the hotel.

Room Tip: Unless you're up early, get a room on the west side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCallahan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori N, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Bozeman, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about the Fairfield Inn Bozeman on TripAdvisor. We are very proud of our property and hope to meet and exceed all of our guest's expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
0.4 mi away
Springhill Suites Bozeman
Springhill Suites Bozeman
#16 of 31 in Bozeman
30 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Bozeman
Residence Inn Bozeman
#19 of 31 in Bozeman
313 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Bozeman
Comfort Suites Bozeman
#4 of 31 in Bozeman
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bozeman West
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bozeman
Hampton Inn Bozeman
#7 of 31 in Bozeman
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bozeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Bozeman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Bozeman

Property: Fairfield Inn Bozeman
Address: 828 Wheat Dr, Bozeman, MT 59715-2560
Region: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Bozeman 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn geared toward the business traveler but enjoyed by families and teams. Some rooms include a microwave and refrigerator but others are upon request only. 24-hour Corner Market, Business Center Connect & Print available 24/7. Indoor heated pool, FREE Wi-Fi throughout property and FREE Brand Hot Breakfast included in rate. Located off Exit 306 with easy access from and to I-90 and Bozeman Yellowstone International Airport. Closest Marriott to Yellowstone National Park. Local ski areas and year round outdoor activities. Located 2 miles from Montana State University campus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn Bozeman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Bozeman
Bozeman Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Bozeman Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing