We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Working ranch at it's best ...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridger
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lonesome Spur Ranch
Thame, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Working ranch at it's best ...”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at 'The Lonespur' in June and thoroughly enjoyed it ... the atmosphere,surroundings and accomodation were great. We made several new friends and had the whole 'cow girl experience.The branding trips out were very hands on ... you are expected to get involved, but if for any reason you can't then it isn't a problem. The countryside and scenery are so spectacular that I could not begin to find enough words to describe it .. at times I was speechless at the views and terrain ... it really is breath taking. We also visited the Cody rodeo, this was organised by Elaine for us to do ..great night out. As for the staff ..the wranglers Ty, Brandon, Beau and Chase are so patient, kind, witty and infact just brilliant...it took me a week to learn how to do my tack properly ...but I got there and Wez my steak was one of the best ever. The horses are even more fantastic ... Wrangler and Remmington .. I love you xxxx .. Elaine and Lonnie thank you for welcoming us into you home and I certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
2
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I did actually have the time of my life here at the Lonesome Spur Ranch!!

From the moment the I was picked up in Billing to the moment I was dropped back at the airport I was made to feel welcome and part of the team!!

The location of the ranch is amazing - and the first thing I saw when leaving my room in the morning was the mountains!! Breathtaking!! I stayed in the ranch house and my room was lovely. there was also a lounge area and full kitchen - and a continuous supply of icecubes in the freezer!! Washing and tuble drying facilities were also available.

We spent 2 days out cattle branding for one of Lonnie and Elaines neighbours, a lovely couple called Bill and Shannon. Both locations were stunning - especially Fishtail - Up in the mountains!!
We were able to be as involved as we wanted to be - I was champion ear tagger. So no pressure for guests who were a bit squeamish about the castration and branding to be in the middle of it all, these guys were alble to help in other valuable ways. By the end of the day we were tired, sweaty and very smelly but hell I was ready to go do it all again!!

I was lucky enough to be able to take part in the Custer Realbird Indian Ride.... 22 miles....over 2 days!!!! The first day was about 7 hours and the second day about 4 hours - ouch!! We rode over some beautiful Indian land on the Crow Reservation and finshed off by crossing the Bighorn River. and were able to have a good old gallop across the plains when safe to do so!And we saw a Grizzly Bear!!! The indian scouts who took us out were great fun and kept us informed about what happened and where in reguards to the Battle of the Little Bighorn. We camped out in tipis on the banks of the Bighorn River - the ranch brought us inflatable beds and sleeping bags!
We also went to the Battle of the Little Bighorn Reenactment on the Crow Reservation

We spent some time in the arena doing barrel racing whcih was great fun and I had two rides around the ranch - one was just myself and Chase, one of the wranglers as it was guest change over day, and we went up high on the hill behind the lodge - stunning!! And got to see the ranches brood mares and foals and Lonnies few buffalo.

I got to help with some little bits of ranch work - but as to be expected with a working ranch not all the jobs need to be done all the time - so it was quite nice to have a little down time of the afternoon of waiting for the new guests.

The ranch horses were great!! From day one I felt I could trust them in any situation especially going up and down hill and these guys are so well trained and responsive to neck reining! My favourite was Oreo, but all the horses I rode were great! The wranglers and Lonnie would spend some time the evening before discussing which guest was to ride which horse to aim for the perfect match!! We were responsbile for our horse for the day - grooming, tacking up, feeding etc.

I had been a little worried about going on my own but there was absolutly no need whatso ever!! there were 9 other guests (3 groups) and they were so great and the wranglers, Ty, Brandon, Chase and Beau were lovely and really added to the experience!! We all got on really well - one big team by the end of the week!! Friends for life I think!!! :-)

Wez, the cook was great and had some lovely meals. the crispy bacon and pancakes for breakfast was an absolute favourite! We also had a buffalo cook out one night - cooked in the fire pit!! Yum!!

Lonnie and Elaine are lovely - Elaine very kindly showed me how to use my rental automatic car when she dropped me off to collect it!!!

I can honestly say I left a little part of me in Montana when I left and I was so sad to leave but I will absolutly be going back!! and the sooner the better!!! :-)

Room Tip: I stayed in the ranch house and it was lovely! I was in the Little Bear Room and it was lovely and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CowgirlCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Just returned home after the best 10 days ever! I wasn't sure what to expect when I went but it didn't disappoint. I was lucky to get involved in so many activities and not just riding. We drove cattle, got involved, hands on with branding, rode for miles around the amazing terrain, we helped with pole hauling and basically got a feel for a real working ranch. Lonnie and Elaine were very welcoming and the wranglers were lovely. I am quite a nervous rider and the horses I were given helped me every step of the way so I by the end I was loping and yeehaaing in a cowboy hat with the rest! Cannot wait to return! Jo

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I had an amazing experience at the Lonesome Spur Ranch which is a real definition of a working ranch, the accomodation was perfect and the owners and the wranglers and other staff were really friendly and made you feel very welcome.
We had a number of activities from riding and checking the cattle to moving the cattle, branding and pole hauling. Not all days are spent in the saddle but you get the full working ranch experience.
It was nice that all the ranches pull together and help each other out and there is a real sense of community so you were always meeting new people and getting different experiences.

I would recommend the Lonesome Spur to anyone and I really did not want to leave so I think I will be come another regular visitor.

Emma B

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

once again a great trip to the lonesome spur ranch. i was lucky to be able to push the cows up a mountain in the pryor range (twice) to the summer pasture, help with the branding and castration of a neighbours cattle, ride out to check lonnie and elaines own long horn cattle, visit the rodeo in cody, drive out to the little bighorn battle field, ride some fantastic cattle and trail horses, the list is too long to put here! the acomodation was clean and very comfortable, especialy after a days riding the range. this IS a working ranch but as with everything else the wet weather can cause havoc with work plans, guests safety aswel as the horses wellbeing is taken into account with the day to day conditions and so sometimes plans have to change as fast as the weather can in a mountain area. all the staff were fantastic and very helpful, and couldnt do enough for the guests. there are soft drinks provided with meals and any alcohol can be bought at the local town or the garage( usualy at the maverick on the way back to the ranch after riding) i will be returning again to be a "cow girl" and experiance a different pace of life.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cumbriancowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Spent a week at Lonesome in May/June, we have been to another ranch 2 years ago so had a good comparison, this ranch is not quite as it seems, they don't have their own cows and only 26 horses, the ranch is in a lovely location and the accommodation is good but not great, its comfy and basically all you need as you're out your room most the day! However the accommodation is split up, I was in the main house with 5 others, the rest of the guests were a 5-10min walk away down by the barn in the bunk house and cabins so you can feel slightly out of it as you can't always see what's going on and also can't see when the horses are brought down, however it did mean we were nearest the lodge where you eat so plus and minus on both sides. Only complaint about the accommodation is that there was nothing but tap water to drink, we had a large kitchen and fridge but it was empty.

The meals are served in the lodge, they had just employed a new cook who was great, again though drinks available to you were only water, lemon and orange squash, any other soft drinks you needed to buy from the town as well as alcohol. The meals however were fantastic, can't fault Wes who is the new cook.

This is advertised as a working ranch but I would place in a dude ranch category as no herd of their own however you travel to their neighbouring ranches to help out so on our stay we did take part in two brandings, their was also an opportunity to move a herd up the mountain, days when there was no work to carry out you simply took a ride around the ranch which is where I guess people see it as a dude ranch. Unfortunately they had a lot of rain previous to our arrival so the first couple of days it was simply to dangerous to ride, this did frustrate some people but you can't argue with the owners wanting to make sure we and their horses stayed safe, it also meant some of the work at the other ranches had to be put on hold until the roads were safe enough to travel the horses in the trailers down.

The horses are great, they start you on something steady to judge your ability and then will progress you if you want to and also if they believe you are capable. All shapes and sizes too.

Evenings were quiet, some mornings we had an 3.15am alarm call for the branding so obviously you went to bed shortly after dinner, other evenings it was just the guests gathering round the camp fire and most nights the wranglers would stay up with us too, they really made the holiday worth its money, Wes, Ty, Chase and Brandon are simply priceless.

Lonnie and Elaine are the owners, you may take a while to warm to them, depending what's going on they can be really busy and slightly distracted from the fact they have guests however when you get time alone with them to relax they are lovely people to be with.

When the weather is good their is plenty of work to be carried out, it can be quiet during the evening but when you've had a long day this is welcomed at times, there is room for improvement but taking all into account I would return in an instant as I had a lovely time.

The main thing for this ranch is that if you are not happy with anything just say, the owners/wranglers will do whatever they can to make you happy but they can't if you only speak to each other rather than them :0)

Room Tip: Ask for one of the log cabins or the bunk house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hayjcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Once again a great experience. Everyone so friendly and accommodating. Every day was a new adventue. Couldn't ask for a better holiday. I would recommend the Lonesome Spur to anyone wishing to live the cowboy dream.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridger
16.3 mi away
The Pollard
The Pollard
#4 of 9 in Red Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
16.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 9 in Red Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
16.5 mi away
Lupine Inn
Lupine Inn
#9 of 9 in Red Lodge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonesome Spur Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonesome Spur Ranch

Property: Lonesome Spur Ranch
Address: 151 Schwend Road, Bridger, MT 59014
Region: United States > Montana > Bridger
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Bridger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lonesome Spur Ranch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Lonesome Spur Ranch Montana/Bridger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing