We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
LK Nokes

What a Holiday!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Jun 2019
What an amazing week!

We were greeted by Elaine and Jane and headed straight to the ranch shop for the all important cowboy hats and cowboy boots! We then went to a roping competition and began to get a feel for life on a ranch.

Unfortunately the weather on the second day was rainy but Elaine ensured that we did not miss out - we visited Custer’s Last Stand and learnt about the culture and history of Montana.

The rest the week was glorious sunshine and we rode for around 4-5 hours each day in different areas including several rides around the beautiful ranch (including riding up the mountain), a morning ride at Cottonwood and an all day ride around the Pryor Mountains! As keen riders we wanted to do as much varied riding as possible and Elaine, Lonnie and Jane made that happen!

Evenings were spent with a beer after riding, a lovely meal (including steak, burgers and lasagne and always a pudding!) and playing cards watching the sun set over the Beartooth Mountains.

The safety of both horse and rider is very important on the ranch and the horses are truly cared for. Time was taken to asses each riders ability and match each rider with the type of horse they were after.

Lonesome Spur ranch is a fantastic ranch with stunning surroundings and the horses are incredible!

The whole week was truly fantastic and a dream come true! Thank you so much to Elaine, Lonnie and Jane for an unforgettable experience!
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£149
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Choice Hotels
16.3 miles from Lonesome Spur Guest Ranch
Free Wifi
Free parking
£301
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £301
16.5 miles from Lonesome Spur Guest Ranch
Free Wifi
Free parking
£118
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £118
16.6 miles from Lonesome Spur Guest Ranch
Free parking
Pool
Room
£187
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £187
16.7 miles from Lonesome Spur Guest Ranch
Free Wifi
Free parking
£168
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
16.9 miles from Lonesome Spur Guest Ranch
Free Wifi
Free parking
£129
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • BestWestern.com
    £129
30.0 miles from Lonesome Spur Guest Ranch
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £134
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
30.0 miles from Lonesome Spur Guest Ranch
Free Wifi
Free parking
£141
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Fairfield Inn
    £141
30.1 miles from Lonesome Spur Guest Ranch
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
20.0 miles from Lonesome Spur Guest Ranch
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
16.3 miles from Lonesome Spur Guest Ranch
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Bridger
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
39
7
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
39
7
4
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2019

Elaine, Lonnie and Jane really made a dream come true - all three made the week thoroughly enjoyable. Safety for both the horse and rider was seen as a priority, and time was taken to match each rider’s ability and preference to the horse, as well as teaching us how to ride in a western style (as we had all only done traditional English riding). Unfortunately we had one rainy day where we were unable to ride, but we were able to visit Custer’s Last Stand which was very insightful – great thought had been undertaken to ensure the day was not wasted.

On the other days, a range of riding was provided, around the ranch itself and over the beautiful landscapes of Montana. Being keen riders, we were able to get involved around the ranch (including rounding the horses up each morning, a personal highlight, grooming, and saddling the horses) and were able to ride for around 4 hours a day which was perfect.

The cabins were comfortable and authentic which made the experience even better, and the food was tasty and in abundance - very American (which was greatly needed after a full day of riding).

Overall a fantastic week. I would highly recommend the Lonesome Spur Ranch and hope to be back in the near future.

Room tip: All rooms are authentic cabins - no wifi in the rooms which was great so you are able to switch off. WiFi available in the cook house.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alex_nokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Another great trip to the Lonesome Spur Ranch this time for the gathering. Great riding both in Cottonwood, pleasure, and up on he Priors bring the cattle and calves down to be sorted. Stayed in one of the cabins this time and really enjoyed it. Food was very good with the new chef and never went hungry. Horses as always great with new ones being brought on. Looking forward to going back in the spring and helping with branding, weather permitting.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skifiasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Since many years I go back with a group to Lonesome Spur Ranch. It is my second

home. I always enjoy to be with Lonnie and Elaine. It is like family! It is real Ranch life! We are riding up in the mountains to move cattle. We have overnight camps in Pryor Mountains. Just great and peacful! It is always a big adventure. Mirjam, Switzerland

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank lonesomespur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2018

very enjoyable riding, nice scenery some expenses incurred were not expected very homestyle atmosphere horses were great & in great shape trip to Yellowstone was nice, but was charged too much Jane & Mary were very entertaining

Date of stay: September 2017
4  Thank Lucia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Hands down, the best family trip we've ever taken was to the Lonesome Spur Ranch! Lonnie and Elaine were incredible hosts to my 9 and 10 year old boys, wife, and me, and the scenery while riding was amazing. There is barely a day that goes by that we don't talk about our experiences. I can't recommend it enough to those with at least moderate riding experience!

Thanks again Lonnie and Elaine!

Tom F.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Mick_1775
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews