We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“proper little Welsh gem”
Review of Cartws Cafe - CLOSED

Cartws Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Contemporary
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“proper little Welsh gem”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Found this little place on a lunchtime - had a lovely walk down to the beach through the woodland and then upon return to the car park café was delighted to find they catered for coeliacs! Enjoyed a delicious hummus and roasted veg sandwich on gluten free bread and a slice of the most amazing gluten free chocolate cake :-) Went back on Friday night for an evening meal and the staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was superb. Considering they aren't a vegetarian establishment, they offer a variety of veggie dishes and are happy to alter the advertised menu to suit. Will definitely go back again when in the area and would highly recommend it to everyone - especially veggies, vegans or coeliacs. Well done girls - and good luck!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 102Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    4
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
115 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We called before our coastal walk for a spot of lunch my husband fancied soup it wasn't on the menu but was offered a choice of two he chose the tomato and wasn't disappointed he said it was very tasty. I had the quiche it came with humous , salad, homemade coleslaw , and artichokes all of which was lovely, we had to wait a while but it was worth the wait, we would call again when we are next in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Stunning”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

I was very surprised to find this cafe under new management as I have been visiting this beach for my holidays for years. The change is a very good one I can tell u! My family really enjoyed toasties with some lovely local cheeses and organic side salads , and I tried a raw cake for the first time ( hopefully not the last) it was made of raw chocolate and nuts apparently but it tasted like chocolate cheese cake! My husband was also very pleased to be one the first customers to be able to enjoy a nice cold bottled beer at the cafe as they had just received there licence! I recommend a visit to anybody wanting good fresh food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daisyshift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Definitely not worth a visit for food !”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Considering its the only option for food within reach of the lovely Penbryn Beach, the plae is a huge disappointment if ordering cooked food .

went there for Lunch and there were about 3 more families around (so not packed at all). The service was horrendous and after no sign of food after 25 minutes went in to check, and was told its being made and should be out in next 10 minutes.... ok so far .... 15 minutes later .(and lot of agitation with other diners ... with 1 walking off without ordered food and other complaining about uncooked meats in burger)... was greeted with a look of horror /surprise and told they had no clue to what happened to our order and offered to cancel the order or start afresh (yes in that order !!). Needless to say walked off and drove 2 miles to an excellent place and food @ Beach hut at Llangranoch !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Himsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

After a rather uninspiring lunch, we decided to try dinner as the reviews were so glowing. We were not disappointed. The food was outstanding. We sampled locally sourced sewin (sea trout), roast chicken and home-made fries and chicken with beetroot masala. It was all delicious and wonderfully cooked. All the dishes on the menu sounded tempting so it was hard to choose between them. Locally sourced fresh produce beautifully cooked. Shame they are not licensed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chipmunkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karina-carr, Manager at Cartws Cafe, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Hello
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your evening meal. It is a shame you were not so impressed with the lunch. We have applied for our drinks liscence and it should be with us within the week! We hope you come back soon to experience a better lunch service and the chance to enjoy a nice drink with your meal.
Karina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cartws Cafe also viewed

Penbryn, Ceredigion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing