We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food cooked with love”
Review of Cartws Cafe - CLOSED

Cartws Cafe
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Today (16/05/14) i enjoyed sitting outside in the sun at this darling little cafe in Penbryn. The staff were really happy, helpful and welcoming as ever. The menu had a variety of options (all freshly made and organic wherever possible) and i decided to try out their poached duck egg, salmon and potato cakes - and it was divine! Cooked to perfection, served quickly and presented beautifully.
I have eaten at this establishment several times and have never been disappointed, in fact due to their inventive, seasonal and brilliantly ambitious menu i have acquired a taste for several things i'd never expected to like, Wanda's Mutton curry (last autumn) was a revelation! - Melt in the mouth and succulent - an epicure's delight!
If you are an individual like myself who likes to eat food that's been cooked with love, by people who care about food and where their ingredients are sourced from, that is prepared with attention to detail and in a timely fashion, this is the place for you!
I'll be visiting again for sure :)x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah83M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The hospitality us very good . Its a small family run business. Very very friendly. Nothing is too mych trouble. The food is all homemade using local produce. Also organic ingrediates. We had sandwiches,scones,coffee . Very satisfied with the price too. Its in the middle of no where with lovely views. You have a choice to sit indoors or outdoors with your dog. Overall a 5 star cafteria.

Thank wizzy786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Absolutely superb little cafe. The food is fresh and imaginative with a constantly changing specials board that screams EAT ME!

The cake offerings vary day by day, sometimes there are lots of yummy delights, other days just one or two, but they're always good and that's what matters.

Coffee is fantastic and we always comment on what good value it is - we're used to paying £2.80 ish for a decent cup in the city so around £2 seems excellent value, saying that I have no idea how the prices compare to other local places as we just holiday in the area.

It's a proper family business. Sometimes a bit chaotic, with children running in and out but that adds to the character and atmosphere.

We've been around 6 times now and it's one of the highlights of our visits to the area. Keep up the great work.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FoodieFiend79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Amazed by the wonderful family friendly atmosphere and charming staff in this little gem of a place. The food was fresh, tasty, and seasonal. The coffee (I'm a very fussy coffee drinker) was as good as anywhere I've ever been. Planning on returning soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Esmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Very disappointing after a good start last year, prices have gone up and staff charge different every time. Miserable atmosphere and beginning to look tatty, both coffee and cakes varying in price every visit. Called during work and was charged £10 for 3 coffees, won't be calling again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JimandJo1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raracarr, Manager at Cartws Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hi
I'm sorry if you are disappointed that our prices have gone up, but unfortunately we priced ourselves too low to begin with. Our prices now are no more than anywhere else and £2.00 for a coffee with cream is not too expensive. Our cakes vary in price because some are gluten free and others are not. Gluten free ingredients cost more. The cafe has had a new flower bed put in and maybe that is why you think it looks tatty but I can assure you that once the flowers grow it will be beautiful. We have given some people special prices in the last if we have felt they are unable to pay full price, but if they come back each day expecting things at less than cost price, then I am afraid it is not feasible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cartws Cafe also viewed

Penbryn, Ceredigion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing