We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appealing rustic B&B near Glacier National Park”
Review of Aspenwood Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Browning
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aspenwood Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Browning B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Appealing rustic B&B near Glacier National Park”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

After an evening visit to Glacier National Park, our lack of planning left us without a hotel room on a busy summer weekend. After leaving East Glacier, travelers have limited options - there are a few places near the park entrance, as well a Holiday Inn and a local motel in Browning. The Aspenwood is a small B&B and campground a few miles outside of Browning, and offers quiet, seclusion, and beautiful views from the grounds.

If you are a fan of chain motels and frilly B&Bs in historic inns, the Aspenwood may not be for you. The B&B is a basic modern house with a handful of rooms, as well as a small restaurant. We stayed in room 1, on the ground floor, and really had the feeling we were guests in a private home. The cozy room had a "log cabin" style, with odds and ends of comfortable, slightly worn modern furniture. The bathroom was small, with a shower (no tub) and fixtures that have seen at least a few years of use. Despite the age and handmade feel, however, everything was clean and in good working order. My cell phone worked here, but the WiFi signal was spotty.

Terry, the owner, really makes the place. We stopped to look at the property after the normal check-in time, left to see options in Browning, and then phoned Terry and returned to check in at nearly 11 PM. She was gracious and accommodating throughout that process and the rest of our stay, and prepares an especially hearty breakfast (options include flapjacks, French toast, eggs prepared to order, etc.) for guests.

The Aspenwood offers a memorable stay at a homespun little place with loads of character.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShiMoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    24
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
39
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Camped in a tent space here (17Jul2014) after going thru Glacier Nat'l. Enjoyed a wonderful dinner, purchased some firewood, had a evening campfire on the Plains, and enjoyed a great breakfast for myself and my two children before setting off to explore more of Montana. The entire bill was less than $100 for everything. The owners and staff worked very hard to ensure that our visit was perfect. Thank you so much. Would recommend this in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Although this place may be OK if you have a camper, the hotel rooms are terrible. The bathroom in the room we had was very small, had a slanted ceiling and had a crude poster hanging on the wall (not appropriate for kids). The room and bathroom had extension chords all over the place, some coming out of the wall and some even hot to the touch. Probably a fire hazard. In addition, there is no air conditioning and the small fan in the room is quite useless. For unknown reasons, the window blinds have holes cut in them, allowing early morning light to shine in the room. The owner is friendly and knowledgeable of the area. The bathroom sink is in the bedroom and has no plug near it, so it's hard to use a hair dryer or any other electrical item where you also need a mirror.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The owner Terry is great. Makes great food in her restaurant. Beautiful setting including a beaver pond. If you like KOA you won't like this place. But if you love the outdoors and all God's Country you will love this place!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gr8go123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Were looking for a place to eat and noticed a small cafe with a horse in the yard! Stopped by to eat and were so impressed with Teri, the owner, and the homey decor that we booked into the B & B on our way back in 3 days.
Arriving back, we had (our) wine on the porch before dinner, and then a good steak and a stir fry for dinner. Then at the owner's urging we walked down to the beaver pond for the sunset. Met some of the campers and RVers there who were also watching.
The room was clean and comfortable - which was why we came back. Teri got up a little early for our breakfast so we could get on the road. Overall, a great place to stop over - very well placed to jump into all of Eastern Glacier National Park. We'll be back.

Room Tip: 3 choices; all good, but some have more beds available for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goforit58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
175 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Trip Advisor reviews prompted me to call Teri (owner) and ask questions for our trip. She could not have been nicer. We made reservations, had to call for a late arrival and found a true "hidden gem" as the reviews promised. You will be treated like family, eat like royalty and feel ready to tackle the energized to give

We stayed in the "Wildhorse Suite". It is a huge and comfortable room with an adjoining bathroom and shower, as well as having a small 2 bed room attached. The view, peaceful silence and comfort is better than ANYPLACE I've stayed (and I have to stay in hotels way too much).

We tried out other places in the area to eat, but trust me - you will not find better quality food anywhere ... Dubbed "The Outlaw Grill" that is part of the main lodging you will find superb breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, fresh fruit/veggies and homemade desserts.

The pond, spectacular views, horses, wildlife and folks who work with Teri and some who just stop by - will make your stay memorable. I give Aspenwood my highest recommendation.

We WILL be back : )

Room Tip: Look at ALL the tabs on the Aspenwood website to see amazing pics that are only surpassed by your ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomSahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I found this affordable B&B on the visit Montana website and booked room number one, which is their smallest room but still comfy. We have never stayed at a B&B before and were pleasantly surprised by this experience. Our room had a mountain view and was warm and cozy. The owner, Terri, made sure we had everything we could possibly need for a great stay. We ate dinner at the restaurant there and it was delicious, which was nice since we had been traveling all day and were weary. The next morning we had our breakfast, which was again, delicious. We will be back for sure! Next time we will come later in summer when there will be more activities offered, but it was still a fantastic experience. If you're going to Glacier, base yourself out of here as it's only about 15 miles from the Two Medicine entrance and 30 miles or so from Saint Mary's entrance and Going-to-the-Sun Road.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinotGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Browning
12.3 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
229 reviews
10.9 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
565 reviews
12.2 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#3 of 6 in East Glacier Park
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Lodgepole Gallery & Tipi Village
11.8 mi away
Mountain Pine Motel
Mountain Pine Motel
#1 of 6 in East Glacier Park
335 reviews
13.9 mi away
Going-To-The-Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspenwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspenwood Resort

Property: Aspenwood Resort
Address: HC-72, Box 5150, Highway 89, Browning, MT 59417
Region: United States > Montana > Browning
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Browning
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Aspenwood Hotel Browning
Aspenwood Resort Browning, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing