We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Butte
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Copper King Mansion
Ranked #2 of 5 Butte B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The Copper King Mansion B&B was simply amazing! We stayed here for a night as we were passing through Butte. The pictures and description on the website does not do this B & B justice. The rooms were a step back in time, very clean and comfortable. You go here for an 'experience', not expecting a 5 star accommodation. The owners have done a wonderful job of preserving this historical landmark. After a very comfortable nights sleep, we were served a hot breakfast of waffles, scrambled eggs, bacon, tea, coffee or juice. We were treated to a free tour of the property as part of our accommodation. The tour guide did a fantastic job I only wish I could remember her name so she could get proper credit. Our host for the night was John who was a very kind man with some great stories. Upon arrival we were checked in and he immediately assisted us with making our dinner arrangements in town. We will definitely go back not only to stay at the Copper King but to check out more of Butte's rich history, which I had known nothing about prior to our visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RocketGurl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

This inn is just amazing!!!! It is like staying with the Wild West Cousins from Downton Abbey!!
The furniture, the decor and the collections should be preserved at the Smithsonian! We stayed in the Family Room. It is huge, has very high ceilings and the original hand-painted fresco on the ceiling. It was a very comfortable room. The tour that is given is extremely interesting -- and I am not usually interested in old, historic stuff. This inn really brings it to life!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkriehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We didn't stay here but rather toured the house. We have toured many historical houses and felt this one was average. Interesting architecture and history. Worth a visit if you are in the area but I wouldn't go out of the way.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Diane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a wonderful stop. We were searching off cell phone traveling the interstate. We were looking for two rooms and first calls were fruitless. The Mansion had two rooms. The first mention was t three room suite. I almost hung up figuring the budget would not fit. Price was very reasonable. Rooms are all furnished/decorated with period antiques. Some pieces were even originals. Bed was comfy. Hostess was delightful. She knows her history of property and loves to share. A mansion tour comes with the room. Breakfast was excellent but not extravagant. It is located close to old downtown area. Lots of options for dinner out. Worth the stop. Lots to see in the area. We hope to get back this way.

Room Tip: Take the Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HiltonHeadFisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We weren't sure what to expect since we rarely opt for b & b's. We were greeted by one of the owners when we arrived and filled in on the important bits, how to get in and out, when breakfast is served, and then a tour of our rooms.

Our suite was large and ornately decorated. It's really a glimpse into a whole different way of life. The bed was comfortable, the plumbing was a puzzle (we figured it out) and although there were other guests and construction outside, it was nice and quiet. The rooms are luxurious for the 19th century, but not necessarily five star by 21st century standards.

Breakfast is served in an impressive dining room. We had a selection of juice, coffee, melon, and home made waffles with sausage. While we enjoyed chatting with the other guests it was especially nice that one of the owners sat and talked with us about the house and its history. Guests also have a house tour included with their stay. It takes about an hour.

Parking is on the street. This is a very walkable location and it's surrounded by other historic structures. Several restaurants are within a few minutes walk, just remember, it's probably going to be an uphill trek when you return.

It's a one-of-a-kind experience and for less than a the cost of chain motel in Billings or Bozeman.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quindaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We found the Copper King Mansion on line, and rather than give a lengthy description I would recommend anyone interested to look at their website. In summary, this is a historic building, originally the home of a mining magnate who spared no expense to create an impressive house which is still clearly a home, even though it is effectively a museum.

The owners, Pat and Erin, were incredibly welcoming and spent time chatting to us, before we settled into the Master Suite. This has a beautiful bedroom, aa octagonal sitting room and a large bathroom with original fixtures. In fact, the house retains many of its original features.

It was a truly unique experience and we felt privileged to be able to share this home for a night. If I was going to be absolutely factual, rather than describing the experience from the emotional part of my brain, I would have to admit that having only a bath rather than a shower was a little inconvenient, but one of the other rooms has a duly amazing shower which goes by the nickname of the plumber's nightmare, which shoots water at you from all sides and looks rather like an instrument of torture. Anyway, it was a small price to pay, and you could hold a dance in that bathroom...

After the breakfast, which again was perhaps not entirely to my taste - French toast not being my thing but as often seems the case with US B&Bs, you don't get a choice - we were treated to a tour of the 37 room mansion with many original and entertaining artefacts, such as. A player piano, an original Edison phonograph etc. We were again treated like special guests and came away with a wealth of photos which I can't share, and some precious memories. Thanks, Erin and Pat!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but each one offers something special. If you can, go for the Master Sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1nv1ctaH0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We recently stayed at the Copper King Mansion for a small family get together. So glad that we did, we keep telling everyone we know about how cool it is! We loved the old building. It is still hard to believe that after 100+ years no one has painted over the gorgeous wood moldings etc. It is wonderful to think of the time and expertise that went into creating such a masterpiece. We loved the tour, breakfast was great and the hosts were awesome! It is fun to say that we slept in a museum! We also had 2 children with us, no problems at all! Hopefully we can stay again! It was REALLY hot in our room, wish we would have opened a window before we turned in. Make sure get the window ready to be opened! Also, it would have been nice if there was a little less knickknack antiques on the tables in the rooms--hard to find a space to set anything. I wish the owners would clean out the ballroom and rent it out for parties--I would so have a party up there!
Thanks so much to the CKM! We loved it! Keep it up!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Butte hotels
0.3 mi away
Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
4.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Copper King Convention Center
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Butte
Comfort Inn Butte
#4 of 15 in Butte
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Butte Plaza Inn
3.8 mi away
Toad Hall Manor Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Miner's Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper King Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper King Mansion

Address: 219 W Granite St, Butte, MT 59701
Region: United States > Montana > Butte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Butte
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mansion is a 32-room Victorian mansion built in 1884 by William Andrews Clark, one of Montana's territorial pioneers. We are located one block west of the Butte Silver Bow County Courthouse.The Copper King Mansion is one of Butte's most elegant Victorian period architectural achievements. The moment you enter the building you are overwhelmed by the elegance of craftsmanship; the stained glass windows, hand painted ceilings, and hand carved woodwork are just the beginning.We boast 5 Bed and Breakfast rooms for rent, either individually or together. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Copper King Mansion Butte, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing