We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your on your own.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Butte
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Copper King Mansion
Ranked #2 of 5 Butte B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 September 2010

If you like good conversation, tour and a decent breakfast this is the place.
If you like to write your name in the dust, have people going through a tour and looking at you as you eat your breakfast and having your bags packed, room cleaned before you are ready to leave-this is the place to stay. Oh and I forgot-the melodic pounding of hammers as they work on the outside of the house at 7:00 am was exciting.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bass218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thecopper K, Owner at Copper King Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

We are open for tours from 9am to 4pm during the summer, so guests do have to get up early unless they want to be part of the tour. The city of Butte was replacing the water lines in the street in front of the house, and it was quite loud, but out of our control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2010

Was a mini-debate about whether to stay here or at a more typical hotel. Pulled the trigger on this based on other tripadvisor reviews and couldn't have been happier.

Copper King Mansion takes the "tour" of lifestyles of the rich and famous to a new level. I personally have been to many well preserved homes of the historically rich and important, but this experience was the only one to bring things to vivid life. The feeling of being wrapped in a living history has never been more tangible.

The shower.... definitely use the shower, which is in the shared bathroom between Andrea's and Huguette's (who has recently seen a large amount of news coverage as the last surviving daughter of Mr. Clark) room. Whether you love it (it was the best shower of my life) or not as much (my girlfriend felt like she couldn't escape the water shooting from all directions), it is something that must be experienced.

And of course the hosts are a joy. Make time to take the tour. We hadn't originally intended to do so, but it is well worth it. Our tour guide was Kevin, who accompanies his wealth of knowledge about the house, and Butte (both historical and contemporary) with good natured humor.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

After having a marvelous experience at Toad Hollow Manor, we elected to spend out last night in MT at the historically revelant Copper King Mansion. I loved the history and the story, but the accommdations were lacking in all respects. In the future, I will ask more questions ~ is cigarette smoking allowed, is there a shower available in the room, is there a hair dryer, how big is the bed, etc. The owner smokes and the smell permeated the entire home from years of smoking. The master bedroom and bath were just flat dirty from lack of attention. The floors in the master bathroom and the tub were caked in grim. Both rooms appear to have not been dusted in many years or really cleaned in years. It was unpleasant to bathe in a tub so grimmy you could feel how thick the grim is. The breakfast was sliced strawberries, toaster oven-tasting waffles and bacon. Certainly not a good trade off for the price of the accommodation and the lack of quality in the room and the breakfast. As a historian, would recommend to tour the Mansion. As a person wanting a clean room and bath, I recommend passing on an overnight stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelengolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Step into this Victorian mansion built by William Clark, one of the “Copper Kings”, and enjoy tales told by the current owners, who are in love with the man and the period. They thoroughly enjoy giving tours of the huge house, furnished throughout with exceptional pieces of the era collected by
the owners' mother and grandmother. We stayed in one of Clark’s daughters rooms, which is elegant and spacious. The bathroom down the hall features a “needle shower” which is a unique experience
in itself. Restaurants are within easy walking distance. We enjoyed a meal at the Metals Bank Sports Bar & Grill.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

This one-of-a-kind bed and breakfast is a MUST for anyone traveling to Butte. Living in historic splendor was a wonderful experience. We stay here almost every year and each visit tops the last. Staff and owners are very friendly and warm.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mashugah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

I have traveled a lot in my life and have stayed in some of the best places and some of the worst. This Mansion is truly one of the best. Not only for its sheer elegance but for the family that loving cares for it. This Bed and Breakfast is a true gem as are the owners. The decor is of the mansions Victorian time period and there is not a nook or a cranny that does not offer a feast for your eyes. And the breakfast is a feast for your body. It takes you back in time. You also get a historical tour of the mansion with your stay, which they will fit into your schedule. The owners also referred me to a wonderful restaurant called the Uptown Cafe; they had exceptional French and Italian food. Is a must see when in Butte, Montana.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenbean_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We stayed two nights at this interesting B&B. Although the breakfast was ok, I really enjoyed the unique character of the mansion. The house itself, has not been remodeled/painted or updated in any way, so you are using the same bathroom(s), sleeping the same rooms and walking on the original flooring that the original owner and his family used. Speaking of bathrooms- the large bathroom upstairs has bidets ( not used anymore) and also an 1880 "surround" shower. Apparently the shower was used for "medicinal" purposes. Take a shower in this unique apparatus - it is quite an experience.
The odd thing about the stay is that your room is open during the day as the current owners give tours. During the day, we put our belongings in the closet, shut the door and did some sight seeing.
Part of your stay includes a tour of the house. Our guide was a young girl and did not have a sense of history. When asked about the original owners wife and how she died, the guide said something about "alot of people died back then." hmm really? I had no idea...
The city of Butte is small and has the possibility of being quaint, except for the rather large number of houses in various states of disrepair. But I know that changing the mining operations has taken an economic toll on the town.
Stay in this place, it is unique and there is not another house on the planet like it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweeter10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Butte hotels
4.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Copper King Convention Center
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Butte Plaza Inn
0.3 mi away
Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Toad Hall Manor Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Miner's Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 15 in Butte
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper King Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper King Mansion

Address: 219 W Granite St, Butte, MT 59701
Region: United States > Montana > Butte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Butte
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mansion is a 32-room Victorian mansion built in 1884 by William Andrews Clark, one of Montana's territorial pioneers. We are located one block west of the Butte Silver Bow County Courthouse.The Copper King Mansion is one of Butte's most elegant Victorian period architectural achievements. The moment you enter the building you are overwhelmed by the elegance of craftsmanship; the stained glass windows, hand painted ceilings, and hand carved woodwork are just the beginning.We boast 5 Bed and Breakfast rooms for rent, either individually or together. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Copper King Mansion Butte, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing