We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun roadside burger joint”
Review of Bonanza Freeze

Bonanza Freeze
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Butte
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun roadside burger joint”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

On road trips I like to avoid chains and visit local restaurants. We tried to go to Matt's for lunch but they were closed on Sunday. Then we tried Gamers Cafe but the street was closed due to Evel Kenevil Days and hubby wasn't interested in parking and walking to see if they were open. So we tried Bonanza. It was good. Only outside seating which worked fine for us. Burgers were small but filling and tasty. Fries were very salty but hot and fresh. Milk shakes were very yummy. We will try to hit Matt's next time but this was a good substitute.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank firechick89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
212 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Try it.”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Looking for a quick little local joint on vacation. Found this one and was very surprised on how good it was. Great food great price great shakes. Outside seating only or drive thru. Also bathroom is a porta John. I suggest not using the bathroom. But other then that minor issue it's a great place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Engine40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really good roadside burger stand!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Stopped briefly on a cross country trip. We wanted to try Matt's Place, as we'd heard a lot about it, but it's hours are irregular and that evening they were closing fairly early, 7pm, I think. But Bonanza Freeze was an excellent 2nd choice. Delicious burgers and fries and good thick shakes. It was cheap, quick, and close to the highway. It is a tricky parking lot however, especially if you're hauling a trailer of any kind, but there's a vacant lot across the street, worth the run across the street.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CassieJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glacier National Park, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a memorable experience!”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This place is truly a blast from the past and an excellent venue to indulge your nostalgic cravings.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Montana_Traveling_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good, fresh and fast food with pleasant service”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Burgers, hot dogs chicken sandwiches, fries, ice cream, etc. Fast cooked to order food but much better than a Dairy Queen. friendly counter service. Plan on eating outside at 1 of 4 tables or in your car or just take it to go. A lot of locals eating there while we were there and they were also running 2 delivery people. Always nice to see locals eating at a place, I believe that says a lot

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MDYuhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bonanza Freeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing