We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn of Butte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn of Butte
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Butte
New Harmony, Utah
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

FYI - I did formally complain to the front desk after all of these events happened - I got a $20 rebate which was something but definitely not worth the hassle of staying here.
It took me 30 minute s to check in - a long line was in front of the check in desk - one person was working the check ins and the phone line. There are probably 300 to 400 rooms in this hotel - they were sold out at $129 + taxes, etc. Let's see - 300x$150 = $45,000 per night. They can't get more people to handle the desk?
After I finally checked in I grabbed all the luggage that I could carry and went to my room. Couldn't get in. Door lock was red, red, red. Took all my luggage back to the car ...and went back to the front desk. "Oh, the door locks are really very finicky and it may take a couple of times to get it open" Sigh - why couldn't you of told me that before I went to my room with all my luggage? As I was trying to get into my room a "clerk" walked by and said "oh these doors are so hard to open don't think its your fault. These cards are all worn out and we are getting new cards and locks next month" ?
I finally got into my room - it took between 5 and 10 trys to get the door open. - and it smelled of smoke. I reserved a non-smoking room! At that point I just gave up and was glad to have a place to stay I guess.
The hotel was generally dirty and unkempt - not totally sure my room had been cleaned that day but the bed was made.
Bad job by Comfort Inn
BTW - the security door lock to enter the hotel from a side entrance was open...

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
Green Features: They don't have any that I can tell - the hotel seemed dingy and dirty
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jccgtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina_Peterson, Manager at Comfort Inn of Butte, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
First I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and second to express my apologizes for the inconveniences that you had encountered during your stay with us. This is not of normal procedures from any of our staff members and I assure you that all of your concerns of your experience will be addressed "today". I can not explain to you why you had encountered any of these issues but please know this will never happen again as I hope you will give us another try in the future.

Again I apologize as I am deeply disappointed to hear of your dissatisfaction.

Kind Regards,

Trina Peterson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    169
    56
    16
    16
See reviews for
135
149
29
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Our room stunk but was otherwise clean. Odor was overpowering upon entering. Breakfast was good but remainder of hotel was dingy and service was poor. Walls were thin, we could hear every door on our floor. Will not be staying here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina_Peterson, Manager at Comfort Inn of Butte, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I do apologize for any issues or concerns that you had during your visit with us, I will be sure to get these handled immediately. Without hearing from our guests we would never know how we're doing good or bad, with that I would like to thank you for bringing these to our attention and again apologize for the inconveniences we may have caused.

We would like to welcome you back if your future travels bring you through our area again, give us another try.

We hope you have safe travels and an enjoyable remaining of your summer.

Thank you again,

Trina Peterson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Comfortable & Clean Room. Great Location. Easy Access from Interstate 90. Great Breakfast. Room was very quiet until morning when housekeeping staff began washing linens - Laundry was located aross hall from room. Still was a good sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina_Peterson, Manager at Comfort Inn of Butte, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. I apologize for the staff being a little loud outside of your room at such an early time in the morning as I will address this with them. I as I am sure everyone does not realize how loud we can be until someone is interrupted by the lack of awareness on how far and loud our voices are and carry. Again I apologize for this and am glad to hear the rest of your time here was great.

We look forward to seeing you again if your future travels bring you though our area.

Have a fantastic day.

Trina Peterson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butte, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We've traveled to this location several times a year for several years now. We can count on always being treated right - because we are always treated right. We've come to know some of their names, and they know our's. They are family friendly on our vacation trips, but I've also stayed there on business. Excellent experience everytime!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina_Peterson, Manager at Comfort Inn of Butte, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and for choosing to stay here each time that you come through our area. I was happy as will our entire staff to read your review.

Again thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and thank you for being so loyal to the Comfort Inn of Butte.

Hope to see you again soon,

Trina Peterson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Room was reasonably clean. Been some time since the floor behind the bathroom door has been wiped up and edges long the walls could use a vacuum.
Bed was very comfy, and great concept to have 2 sets of pillows on the bed. 1 firm and 1 softer.
Check in/out staff was very friendly. when ask if there was a restaurant within walking distance of the Inn, was told no. Perkins was two blocks away. Other than fast food, only formal restaurant within walking- Inn breakfast was very good. Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms on freeway side are quiet, unless you need a window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina_Peterson, Manager at Comfort Inn of Butte, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our property and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay as we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Travel safe,

Trina Peterson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Breakfast room becomes a little crowded when hotel is full. Breakfast options are good. During summer a picnic table outside my help to accommodate the crowd. Front desk asked if we were there for Folk Festival and gave advise on parking, eating, etc

Room Tip: Rooms on third floor are my preference -
See more room tips
Green Features: Staff is very pleasant. Staff is wlling to answer questions. It is a great improvement since no smoking has been put into force
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Norma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina_Peterson, Manager at Comfort Inn of Butte, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Butte for the Montana Folk Festival and also for taking the time to share your experience. What a great idea and would make sense, to accommodate all of our hungry guests at once, to offer extra seating and outside on a beautiful summer morning. WOW how brilliant. It takes comments such as yours that helps us look outside the box and do something new and fun all in one, thank you.

Also a great event/festival that Butte puts on every year and you had the chance to experience it. We hope it was enjoyable enough that you return in the future years to come. Butte welcomes you back as we do at the Comfort Inn.

Have a delightful rest of your summer and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you,

Trina Peterson
Assistant General Manager
Butte Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This Comfort Inn has seen better days, but the rooms are renovated, have a big screen with lots of channels. The beds were too soft, the noise between floors is quite loud, and the sink is outside the bathroom. On the upside, the noise between rooms on the same floor is basically non-existent. The breakfast was OK, the staff were friendly, and the breakfast room was big and clean. We could not hear any noise from the road, but the noise from the hallway was pretty bad. It seems a lot of people from tournaments stay here, so there must be some redeeming value, but not for $116 + tax. Overall, if you want a quiet stay, perhaps go somewhere else, I didn't get to sleep until 11:30 pm because a child was running up and down the hall on the third floor from 9-11 pm.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmama68986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina_Peterson, Manager at Comfort Inn of Butte, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we want you to know that the reviews and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we’re doing right, what we’re doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Thank you for staying with us, please travel safe, and we hope to see you again in your future travels.

Kind Regards,

Trina Peterson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Butte hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Butte Plaza Inn
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 14 in Butte
3.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Butte
Hampton Inn Butte
#1 of 14 in Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Butte
2.3 mi away
Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Butte
Days Inn Butte
#14 of 14 in Butte
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn of Butte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn of Butte

Property: Comfort Inn of Butte
Address: 2777 Harrison Avenue, Butte, MT 59701-3713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn of Butte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the crossroads of Glacier and Yellowstone National Parks, the Comfort Inn of Butte is Your Key to Comfort in the historic and scenic Butte area. Experience our friendly hospitality and relaxing, well-appointed guest rooms. The Comfort Inn of Butte makes an excellent home base while exploring Butte's vibrant historic district, festivals & celebrations, or the surrounding natural wilderness-or all of the above! Your accommodations include thoughtful amenities like complimentary shuttle service in city limits, free hot breakfast buffet with a wide array of delicious items, indoor pool, sauna, 2 hot tubs, fitness center, business center and free high speed internet access. Each room or suite also features a 32" HDTV and plush pillow top bed to envelop you in comfort. Guests of the Comfort Inn of Butte enjoy being nearby to shopping, dining, nightlife and history and just minutes from hiking, biking, fishing, hunting, boating and much more! With quick, convenient access to and from Interstate 90, Interstate 15 and Butte's main commercial corridor, Harrison Avenue-you'll want to stay an extra day or two experiencing the finest of Mining City accommodations while enjoying Butte's rich culture and community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn of Butte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Butte
Butte Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Of Butte Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing