We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be Back”
Review of Butte KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Butte
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butte KOA
California
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Won't be Back”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The exit to the park, #126 is closed till sometimes in the fall. If you are headed west and don't get off at the one before you have a ten mile drive out of your way. This construction has been going on for over a month. I can't believe they don't e mail or tell you when making reservations. When I asked why they did not do this, the staff got really rude like it was my fault. Also, the sites need lots more gravel. There is hardly any grass. The site was littered with cigar and cigarette butts. No cable, lousy Wifi. There are a few decent size holes as you pull in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KegMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    25
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
26
27
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Only negatives would be no cable TV and slightly small sites. However the staff made up for that. We had a repair need for our RV and the staff helped us and located a good who came on site and solved our problem. The whole facility is real nice with a good small carry out chicken place on site and convenient to the hwy. We'd come back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayWangen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I booked a 30 amp electric / water site at the KOA in Butte Montana the day prior to our planned stay.

On arrival, the check-in process was very slow. The KOA agent at the desk apologized repeatedly for the delay, which she said was caused by a trainee mixing up our reservation with that of another Gardner.

I smiled pleasantly and said “no problem”, while thinking “Quit blaming the trainee and wasting my time. Just get the paperwork done so we can get to our spot”.

The agent then mentioned that there was equipment working on the trail to the washroom across from our site and where the alternate washrooms are located.
We finally get the paperwork, and drive to the assigned site.

The equipment is working directly in front of site, blocking it to the extent that we can’t possibly pull our rig through to unhook the truck. The spot is about 40 feet long and our rig totals 50 feet, meaning we must pull all the way in to unhook and park the truck sideways in front of the RV.

Rather than ask the workers to move, I backed the rig out and drove around the campground again and selected from one of the MANY other spots available. I then immediately walked back to the front desk to advise them of our new site selection.

Now there is another agent at the desk. “You CAN’T do that“, the new woman says. “That’s a full hookup, 50 amp site and you only paid for 30 amps, electric and water”.

“OK, so how much more will that site cost?”, I ask.

“Five bucks.”

“OK, so, how about splitting the difference with me, considering the inconvenience caused by putting us in an inappropriate and unusable site?” I suggest.

“CAN’T do that“, KOA rep replies.

“Really? That’s interesting…” I say. “Not to mention the spot was too short”.

“I’ve had 40 foot motorhomes in THAT site”.

I bite my tongue and refrain from explaining that a 34 foot 5th wheel comes with a truck attached and is therefore longer than the site issued.

“OK, so what SUITABLE spots DO you have available?” I ask.

Much humming and hawing goes on between the two women at the desk.

“We could put you in a 30 amp full hookup site for no extra charge”.

“THANK you. That would work.”

Prolonged silence.

“And what site might THAT be?” I ask, prompting them to action.

“You booked online”, the crotchety one says.

By this point, I am feeling frustrated and starting to lose patience with the old biddy. “Uh, and how is THAT now a problem?” I ask.

“The sites are assigned” she said and then gave me the new site number.

I walked back to our rig to see that Ed had already hooked up the water and power. I told him that we had to move, so he unhooked everything. I drove the rig all the way around the campground for the THIRD time to move to the new site which is a mere 8 sites away, in the same row.


FUNNY how they must have ‘forgotten’ to send out the “Thank you, Please Rate Your Stay” email the next day.

UGH.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind_Gardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Butte hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Convenient basic and friendly. Off season so limited services. 2nd stay here and will stay again. Very good for snowbirds with r.v 's going south or returning home in the spring. Would be nice if a washroom was operational as there is no water or sewer in late fall early spring. Just electricity.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank precious1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We (2 adults, 2 teens) arrived late and tried to butte's KOA with our RV. The lady at the reception was very nice and welcoming. The campground is well maintained and has the whole facilities including WIFI, pool (closed for the season), showers, full hookups ...

Will sure come back

Room Tip: No tip. Everything was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brule, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I have stayed at this KOA many times and I love this place. The staff is more than friendly, and they helped me out with every question I had with a smile on their faces. The bathrooms were very clean. They had a nice dog walk and even a Kamp K9 for my dogs. The pool was warm and they kept it up nicely. I have stayed at this KOA before and they keep improving and doing renovations. Excellent!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

It's a KOA do I didn't expect to be amazed but it's definitely a noisy place. We tent camped and the spots for tents are right up front next to the road. The whole facility is right next to the interstate as well. But as KOAs go, it was fine

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AZDeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Butte hotels
1.5 mi away
Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 15 in Butte
331 reviews
1.4 mi away
Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Butte
2.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Copper King Convention Center
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Butte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butte KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butte KOA

Property: Butte KOA
Address: 1601 Kaw Ave, Butte, MT 59701-5267
Region: United States > Montana > Butte
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Butte
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between glorious Glacier and Yellowstone National Parks, Butte is a great place to camp! Don't hurry away until you've had a chance to explore the historic Uptown, though. Looking for things to do or ways to explore? Just hop onto "Old Number One," the trolley car that boards next door at the Chamber of Commerce. Visit Berkeley Pit, an engineering marvel and the largest truck-operated, open-pit copper mine in America. Visit the mansions of old-time mining barons that cluster in Butte neighborhoods. After sightseeing, lace up hiking boots or maybe golf shoes and head out to Maud S Trail for hiking or biking or to Anaconda's Old Works Golf Course. There is also great fishing in the streams running near your campsite, and our park is surrounded by trails for a nice evening stroll. Then, treat yourself to some delicious chicken or fish at The Chicken Shack! We hope you visit us soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butte KOA Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing