We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great and generous breakfast”

Hanging Five Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 110 Restaurants in Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
La Canada, California
Level Contributor
724 reviews
424 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
“Great and generous breakfast”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

For breakfast I ordered one of their scrambles...it was not only delicious it was quite generous in size...no skimping here! The hash browns that accompanied it were also delicious. Service was extremely friendly. This is definitely a place that I would return to.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rogerdob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    51
    25
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Henrietta, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just What We Needed !!!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Like the other cities in Montana that we visited, we found a shortage of affordable restaurants serving family meals - meat and potatoes. Loved the porkchops and baked potato, but would've enjoyed about a dozen other selections. Terrific service!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Grreat find”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Referred by chamber of commerce when we were traveling through. Tried the biscuits and gravy and was thoroughly impressed. Everything was hot and well-made. It took no time for us to get our meals even though it was a busy Saturday morning. I would recommend the B&G anytime.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jawbone Flats, WA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Still good after all these years!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

This was my first time back to the Hanging 5 in 15 years. It still has the best biscuits and gravy I have ever had in a restaurant. On my next trip through Butte, I will have to stop in again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank forensicanthro10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good home cookin'”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The menu is straight forward, food like Mom made. There's a selection of daily specials on a chalk board upon entering. Consider them. Portions are ample. Prices very reasonable.

You won't find lobster thermador, but if you'd like to try Butte's signature dish (Pasty), this is the place.

Service is adequate, but the servers have big stations to care for so fast and frequent refills on beverages is sketchy. The food will make up for it.

The place is a little difficult to find but very near the Interstate highway.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hanging Five Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing