We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rodeway Downtown Butte”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Butte
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
516 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“Rodeway Downtown Butte”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Was in Butte on a cross country roadtrip and needed a hotel. We found the Rodeway online and gave it a try. We didn't get in until midnight and check-in was easy and quick. We had a room with two queen beds and they were comfortable. The Montana folk Festival set-up is just starting and their were still a few people up and in the parking lot. Also some of the the roads around the complex are shut down for the festival at this time. This is only temporary though. Everything worked. The shower was hot. The stay was good. They have a small laundry on the premise too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Robert,
Thank you for your review on Rodeway Inn & Suites, Capri - Butte, Montana last year!
As we return to our roots in Uptown Butte in 2015 and our "vintage heritage" we would be delighted to welcome you again!
If you want "retro" in Uptown Butte we're it!
Best Regards,
The owner and staff Rodeway Inn & Suites, Butte , Montana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    26
    25
    9
    15
See reviews for
18
30
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pahrump, Nevada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Because of the exorbitant summer rates of the other hotels by the freeway in Butte, MT, the Rodeway Inn and Suites Capri is a less expensive alternative. It's in the middle of the old historical district with places to eat nearby. It's nothing fancy, but the bed was good and it was clean. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet in this part of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selway M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Thank you for your review on Rodeway Inn & Suites, Capri - Butte, Montana last year!

As we return to our roots in Uptown Butte in 2015 and our "vintage heritage" we would be delighted to welcome you again!

If you want "retro" in Uptown Butte we're it!
Best Regards,
The owner and staff Rodeway Inn & Suites, Butte , Montana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehall, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here in December for a Manager's Training Class. The staff was very friendly, rooms and staff were very accommodating. The hotel had a nice retro look and feel.

The best part of the hotel was location. It is in Uptown Butte, with a grocery store close by, as well as a number of different types of dining choices.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Suite, the bedroom and living room areas are two separate rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Thank you for your review on Rodeway Inn & Suites, Capri - Butte, Montana last year!
As we return to our roots in Uptown Butte in 2015 and our "vintage heritage" we would be delighted to welcome you again!
If you want "retro" in Uptown Butte we're it!
Best Regards,
The owner and staff Rodeway Inn & Suites, Butte , Montana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butte, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Had to stay a few times due to budget,and its very sad that this establishment cannot provide decent service....the room was not that clean there was blood and bugs in the bath tub.the guest service is awful i told them about the blood and they had me clean it instead of apologizing or offering to clean it.i guess you get what you pay for....good luck getting any sleep if someone decides to rent a room for a night to party and do adult activities...paper thin walls.terrible experience I will pay the extra next time and stay at the Holiday Inn Express.very clean welcoming comfortable hotel with amazing breakfast and Pool.definatley worth the extra money!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tll_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Thank you for your review on Rodeway Inn & Suites, Capri - Butte, Montana last year!
You will never experience that lack of service in the future, promise!
As we return to our roots in Uptown Butte in 2015(many things beside customer care have changed) and our "vintage heritage" we would be delighted to welcome you again! !
If you want "retro" in Uptown Butte we're it!
Best Regards,
The owner and staff Rodeway Inn & Suites, Butte , Montana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Butte hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Carpets should be replaced, as the room smelled a bit even though the hotel is non smoking. Nice that the hotel has a fridge and microwave. A little hard to find but nice to be away from traffic. However, the price also attracts less desirable guests, it was fairly noisy. WiFi was also pretty slow.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StacetheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Stace,
Thank you for your review on Rodeway Inn & Suites, Capri - Butte, Montana last year!
As we return to our roots in Uptown Butte in 2015(the carpets have been changed) and our "vintage heritage" we would be delighted to welcome you again! !
If you want "retro" in Uptown Butte we're it!
Best Regards,
The owner and staff Rodeway Inn & Suites, Butte , Montana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldwide
Level Contributor
648 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 714 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We were looking for a good-value place to spend half a day, plus an overnight, in Butte. Near uptown Butte, to facilitate an ad-hoc walking tour, would be a plus.

We would have preferred to stay in a vintage hotel or b&b, but the reviews of such places suggested a mismatch for us for this particular day (with respect to overall value). It didn't hurt that the Travelodge Website offered us a rather lower price for our overnight than is now showing in booking engines. It also didn't hurt when we were given a 1BR suite on the ground floor, where apparently they are creating more suites by connecting two rooms, re-doing at least some of the furniture, and converting the second bathroom to a kitchen. As we had a juicer (and some produce from a previous stop) with us, we decided to see if we could do dinner and breakfast in the unit from supermarket take-away foods.

We walked around the corner to Hennessy Market. This is located in a historic Butte building, in nicely and sensitively renovated space. The selection of fresh produce, and of other fixin's for our dinner and breakfast did the job very nicely. And the walk around the neighborhood was pleasant and visually stimulating. (The bracingly cold air was a plus for me, not such a plus for my spouse.)

The kitchen in our unit was not lavishly furnished. But the addition of our own utensils and juicer, plus the food from Hennessy Market and our own supply, made for delicious and relaxing dinner and breakfast. The location let me take an early morning photo tour of uptown Butte, while my spouse let me be the only stupid one out in the cold of that morning.

Pros of this place:
1. Location on the edge of uptown Butte. Walking distance to shops, eating, pubs, etc. Convenient for making walking tours of historic uptown Butte and environs.
2. Price/value.
3. Rooms in good condition for this price point.
4. Service was fine (though we didn't need much anything beyond check-in and check-out - and an adequately made up room to stay in).
Cons:
1. Breakfast not included. But prepared in advance for this, it's easy to make appropriate arrangements. Ours included walking nearby for stuff to eat in the room.
2. The mid-20th century chain budget hotel styling is not quite kitchy enough to be "charming." Will this ever happen for such places - at least the ones that will be able to survive the business battleground?

For those not expecting a gratis night in the Ritz (e.g. on the ""National Register of Historic Architectural and Cultural Ikons"" and designed by H H Richardson), this may do the job.

BTW, uphill from the hotel are headframes for old mines, not oil wells.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarthlingOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Thank you for your review on Rodeway Inn & Suites, Capri - Butte, Montana last year! And thank you very much for the detail of your review, the suite and especially the surrounding area, especially The Hennessey Market!
As we return to our roots in Uptown Butte in 2015 and our " vintage heritage" we would be delighted to welcome you again!
If you want "retro" in Uptown Butte we're it!
Best Regards,
The owner and staff Rodeway Inn & Suites, Butte , Montana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here one night as a stopover on a road trip and chose it as what we felt was one of the better of the not many affordable options in Butte according to the reviews. This is a bare-bones motel with not many amenities, but it served our purpose of a place to sleep for the night. The queen bed room was clean and the bed was pretty comfortable, although the room furnishings were all dated and well-worn. The non-smoking room smelled fine. There were stains in the carpet in one area of the room, but other than that, the room was very clean. The staff members were all friendly.

It may not seem convenient to get to this motel because it's not on the Interstate, but the drive through town into the historic district of Butte is well worth it. Check out the beautiful Hennessy building. The historic district of Butte is apparently the second-largest in the country next to the French Quarter in New Orleans, so allowing some time to look around more is a good idea.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmesIA_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Thank you for your review of Rodeway Inn & Suites, Capri - Butte, Montana a couple of years back ! I really appreciate the comments about the historic beauty of this area! And we continue to update those furnishings without losing too much of the 60's feel.
As we return to our roots in Uptown Butte in 2015 and our " vintage heritage" we would be delighted to welcome you again!
If you want to "retro" in Uptown we are!
Best Regards,
The owner and staff Rodeway Inn & Suites, Butte , Montana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Butte hotels
0.1 mi away
Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 15 in Butte
324 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Butte Plaza Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Butte
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Butte
Comfort Inn Butte
#5 of 15 in Butte
471 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Butte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center

Property: Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center
Address: 220 N Wyoming St, Butte, MT 59701-9338 (Formerly Rodeway Inn & Suites Capri)
Region: United States > Montana > Butte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Inn And Suites
Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing