We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

A classy place. Spacious room that was clean. Desk staff were very accommodating. In the historic uptown. However, there's mostly empty buildings with not much for shopping within walking distance. No breakfast at the hotel. I was happy with the hotel but not with the town, which seemed tired and depressing.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank zipperbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was well worth the drive in to Butte, historical hotel, beautiful architecture, well maintained. Priced reasonably, clean, we enjoyed it. Friendly staff. Better experience than chain hotels. Be sure to have barbecue at Sparky's just around the corner

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank BuckeyeProudOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you're looking for something more unique than a chain hotel (but still on the affordable side), I'd definitely recommend staying at Finlen Hotel in Butte. It's definitely more quirky since it's an old building--and the rooms have actual keys, not just the cards that you stick in the door.

We went on a road trip and didn't make reservations because we wanted to be able to take our time visiting various attractions on a whim. We arrived in Butte around 11pm on a Sunday night. We had read about the hotel so knew we wanted to check there first, so I walked in to the lobby and requested a room and thankfully they had space. The clerk was friendly and got me set up with my key. We had a single room with one queen bed and paid about $84. We stayed in the hotel, not the motor inn.

This was probably the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in, but it was all we needed. Some people might consider it to be too small, but it worked fine since we just stayed one night and rarely spend much time in hotel rooms anyway. It had a bed, a flat screen tv, free wifi, and a heater and a/c. No fridge or coffee pot or anything like that. The lack of coffee pot was the only thing I really missed. There's no free breakfast so we visited a nearby cafe.

At first we were a little unsure about the cleanliness of the room because we immediately found a hat that a previous occupant must have left in the room--but everything was clean. Plus, the neighborhood is nice with all the shops and old buildings around it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent a lovely rainy Friday night at the Finlen Hotel - Motor Inn. I was a little apprehensive about the shape of the room before we arrived as it was way less expensive than other motels in the area and it was an older hotel downtown. But to my pleasant surprise, the room was spotlessly clean and sparkly. Everything surface was clean and in perfect repair. (no cracks or dirty grout!) It was large and the parking space was right in front. It was very quiet. We took our dog and there were others there with polite dogs on leashes. The lobby was accommodating as was the lady who was on duty and extremely helpful to answer all my questions. Coffee in the lobby was great. She even made a fresh pot of coffee for me at night after our dinner. We had 2 large rooms and all amenities we could ask for. We were 1 block away from a market and from the Uptown Café where we had a lovely dinner. And about 3 blocks away from a dog walking park. Could not ask for more and we will return often.

Room Tip: If you want the Uptown Butte experience, stay at the Finlen !! We stayed at motor inn because of do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane3419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here to be close to the Butte historic area, and the hotel itself is part of that history.
It felt mostly empty, I could be wrong about this, and a bit spooky. We could not stand our standard room, and upgraded for a few bucks to a suite which was wonderful. Many windows with great views of the areas. Quiet fans to keep the room cool during warm weather, and other amenities. Another plus is it is less than a block away from a wonderful restaurant= the Uptown Cafe *****

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drelde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

If you're staying in Butte,you must stay at the Hotel Finlen. It's a classic,old-worldly hotel befitting a place lost in time. You feel like you're stepping back into the time when the likes of Truman,Kennedy and Nixon stayed there! Classy and elegant! And don't forget to eat at Sparky's Garage around the corner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annarosabaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very historic place located within walking distance of good food and fun. We stayed in a queen suite and for the price we had plenty of room. There are 2 flat screens, only one bathroom, but a second room with a sink - unique. Fridge, microwave, 2 desks and a pullout couch so plenty of room for up to 4. No coffee in the room but had it set up in the lobby. Very basic amenities and nothing plush about the towels, but overall clean and comfortable. Quiet except for the odd noises for an old historic building.

Room Tip: Corner suite on the third floor has a view of the city and lots of natural light, quiet as it is at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Butte hotels
4.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Copper King Convention Center
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Butte Plaza Inn
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Butte
Hampton Inn Butte
#2 of 15 in Butte
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 15 in Butte
341 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Butte
Comfort Inn Butte
#4 of 15 in Butte
551 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Butte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn

Address: 100 E Broadway St, Butte, MT 59701-9351
Region: United States > Montana > Butte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Butte
#4 Family Hotel in Butte
#5 Business Hotel in Butte
Price Range: £58 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Finlen is situated in the heart of uptown Butte near dozens of shopping and dining experiences, museums telling the tale of the city's rich and vibrant past, galleries expressing the local culture, and antique shops to own your piece of history. A truly unique and fun experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finlen Hotel And Motor Butte
Finlen Hotel Butte
Finlen Hotel And Motor Inn Butte, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing