We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing golf cart tour!”

Butte Urban Safari Tours (B.U.S.T.)
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Where else can you get a custom tour by a seasoned architect and historic preservationist? Join us as we take you through the past and into the future in historic Uptown Butte Montana! Travel in our energy-efficient electric transports during all seasons. We go where others can't, and tell you what others won't! We have 35 years of experience in this historic town and we can't wait to tell you all about it! This tour is one-of-a-kind, never the same, and one you'll never forget!
Ada, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing golf cart tour!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Absolutely the most informative and enjoyable tour we've taken! The tour guide was knee deep in info on all aspects of Butte. He was also a great personality! The golf cart was enclosed and had heated bricks for under your feet! We also stopped for "matchsticks"(hot cocoa and some sort of liquor) Amazing! The best decision we have made on our trip to Montana this winter! Enjoy!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shane210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Butte, Montana, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ghosts of a great mining town”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This group offers many different types of tours because Butte is just so incredibly rich in history and character. We took a ghost tour. First off, imagine an old mine yard where a shaft plummets hundreds of feet underground and the framework for hoisting cars of men and ore up and down it rises eerily a few hundred feet above you. There are several such mine yards with outbuildings, and at one in particular it wasn't the least bit hard to imagine hearing miners talking and laughing, opening and slamming shut their lockers as they end their long shifts down in the dark and heat. But then, there's just so much more: a spooky old hospital, turn-of the-century mansions, haphazard arrangements of shanties tucked into and on top of what's (quite correctly) deemed The Richest Hill On Earth. And, more again: an old, quite undeniable red-light district and remnants of an old China town. This tour had everything, including a knowledgeable and fun tour guide! Would we go on another tour? In a heartbeat!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola Valley, California
2 reviews
“A brilliant way to see Butte”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The B.U.S.T tour is an absolutely spectacular way to get an insider’s view of Butte and to learn about the city’s history in depth. The tour was recommended by a local who told us that whatever focus we would like, Mark would tailor the tour to it. He did just that, asking what we had already seen and what we were interested in when we first met him and then tailoring our route as he gauged our interests through the tour. Mark clearly has tremendous passion for Butte history and has so much knowledge and so many great stories that he shares in a most engaging and fun way. He helped us to understand connections between the history and people of Butte and their effect on other areas of Montana and the West. The stories that he told about the buildings and the people who lived here really come alive and just as compelling is his discussion about present-day preservation efforts in the town. I thought I wouldn’t like being driven around but the golf cart was a great way to cruise through the many alleys to hear stories and get the feel of the things that happened “out back”. And we saw so much more than one could see on foot. This tour was the icing on the cake of our visit to Butte. We left feeling much more connected to the town and looking forward to our next visit (and B.U.S.T. tour) so that we can learn even more. Brilliant!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pvmavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Butte unveiled”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Mark has history and connections in Butte, and his tour is, simply, excellent. An in-depth, personal, very fun, scan of bygone days, culture, and hot spots. If you want an introduction to a grand old mining town, narrated by a guy who knows where the bodies are buried, the Urban Safari is for you. It's obvious that Mark not only lives the past, but cares about Butte. As a result, city tours do not get any better than his. Don't miss this one.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rairmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Like Being Backstage at History Itself”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Two things made this tour stand out which added up to perhaps the best urban tour in the whole country.

First, the guide was the Historic Preservation Officer in Butte for over 20 years. In addition to being friendly and a good storyteller he is one on the top experts on Butte and has restored a home in the area. In places like New York or San Francisco, it's rare to get a customized tour from a real architectural historian instead of say a college student with a talent for memorization.

Second, the street legal golf carts with BUST are perfect for the up and down terrain of Butte. They can get into places that cars or larger vehicles can't access.

Butte is fascinating and unique. Overall the town is well-preserved. The history of Butte has everything, sin both high and low, some of the richest and most ruthless businessmen ever in America, lots of labor conflict, blood, sweat and tears. A tour with BUST brings the old town alive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hpark4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butte Urban Safari Tours (B.U.S.T.) also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing