We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad we found it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toad Hall Manor Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Toad Hall Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Butte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Glad we found it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We are not really B&B people, but the reviews were so good we decided to try it, and it was very good. It is a large and elegant modern home with traditional decor and lovely landscaping in a nice residential neighborhood on a golf course. There are a couple of good restaurants, plus convenience stores, etc. within less than a mile. Captain Ratty's Retreat was a comfortable bedroom and bath, with access to a large shared lounge. They offered all sorts of amenities for snacks, entertainment, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
153
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Howell, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife found Toad Hall Manor whilst planning our trip from Michigan to Glacier National Park and then back. We reserved a room for August 27, 2013. Finding it was a little challenging but our GPS helped. We arrived early and were greeted warmly by our host (he greeted me in Gaelic.. but since I don't speak Gaelic he reverted to English. I understand he is fluent in many languages.) The Manor was spotlessly clean. After unpacking we had a glass of wine on the beautiful deck overlooking a golf course. Our host also was very entertaining and showed us his classic automobiles.
It appears that late August is the end of the season because there were only two other guests that evening. After our repast we asked for recommendations for dinner. Our host recommended a steak house and we were not disappointed.
Our room was large and opened to an outside patio with a water feature. The Manor was very quiet, Coffee was delivered to our room in the morning and at the agreed upon time breakfast was served. It was prepared by our host and was exquisite.
I would not have minded spending a few days there but we had reservations elsewhere and traveled on. Before our departure I asked about the wine cellar that was referenced in the elevator. Our host gave us a tour of the work in progress. I think we will return just to see the finished wine cellar!
This was a very fine establishment that I highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

The great hospitality is etched in our memory. Staying at Toad Hall Manor was better than I could have ever imagined. The hosts, Glen and Jane are amazing and instantly just feel like friends. Their place is absolutely not what I expected - much more. The hospitality is unforgettable and the experience like I said ~ is a special memory for this vacation. One of those places that go above and beyond. We would easily to go back -

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank youngthearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Toad Hall Manor offers the perfect stay in Butte, Montana. I was fortunate to spend 4 nights and really get to know the area. Glen and Jane sent me off every morning with a scrumptious breakfast and directions and were always willing to share their company in the evening. My wonderful 4 days started by choosing the perfect place to stay. T. C.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terri c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Just finished a 2 night stay at this B&B. Accomodations were excellent and afforded just the right amount of privacy. Hosts Glenn and Lily were congenial and well versed in both things to do and places to eat. Coffee and scones in the room before a perfect breakfast setting on the porch overlooking the mountains. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Might try the courtyard view next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raleigh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham,england
Level Contributor
170 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Anybody that can find fault with Glen & Jane's B&B must have a really nice house themselves or be the most picky people going.Janice my wife and I had 2 fabulous (not a word I use often) nights with Toad & Lily.We had Mr Mole's Hideaway which although the cheapist room it was still very special to us and dare I say nicer then the room next door.We got told off both mornings for taking the breakfast tray back upstairs but it was the least we could do to help out,the scones on the tray were to nice too only sadly have 1 a piece.The breakfast food and company at the table was welcome as normally when you stay in hotel/motels people are to busy to chat but not here as Glen gets everybody talking round the table,which is set out like 1 of our stately homes here in England.If you are ever going to the Butte area try and stay with Glen & Jane,you will be glad you did.Once again thankyou,Toad & Lily.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank royj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

When planning our Montana road trip I read all the reviews & kept this B&B in mind for if we made it as far as Butte after exploring Yellowstone earlier in the day. Consequently, we just knocked on the door in the early evening & despite his initial surprise, Glenn welcomed us graciously. We checked into Papa Otter's room & joined Glenn & Jane on the balcony overlooking the golf course for wine & beer. Conversation & jokes flowed easily - it was like chatting with old friends! When we tore ourselves away to go to dinner, Glenn not only recommended a place nearby for us, he drove us to it in his beautiful jaguar & insisted on being called to collect us again. We sat in our private courtyard until long after the sun had set - so relaxing. And then, fresh scones & tea delivered to our door in the morning. Jane's delicious breakfast which was served on the balcony & again we swopped stories until it was time for us to leave as we had unfortunately made reservations further along the road for that night. We would have loved to stay longer & cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. Is it the best B&B in the world? We don't know, but it is certainly a contender!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Butte hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Butte Plaza Inn
3.6 mi away
Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Butte
Hampton Inn Butte
#1 of 14 in Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Butte
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Butte
3.7 mi away
The Miner's Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toad Hall Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toad Hall Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Toad Hall Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 Green Ln, Butte, MT 59701-3983
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Butte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Toad Hall Manor Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Toad Hall Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toad Hall Manor Bed And Breakfast Butte, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing