We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pork Chop Sandwich & Jo-Jo's”
Review of Freeway Tavern

Freeway Tavern
Ranked #14 of 110 Restaurants in Butte
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Idaho Falls
Level Contributor
146 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Pork Chop Sandwich & Jo-Jo's”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We went here during Evel Knievel Days and had great pork chop sandwiches and Jo-Jo's (potato slices to dip in sour cream). The pork chops come with mustard and pickle but I wish they had lettuce and tomatoes on them too You have your choice of sides.

They have Evel memorabilia all around the bar and it's interesting to look at. Six tables against the wall or bar seating. When we arrived we started at the bar and then moved to a table when one became available. They were busy and we ended up wiping it down our self but no big deal. Bar atmosphere with the standard colorful characters. Food was great but don't expect anything fancy for dining.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IdahoGems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    23
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
139 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“The "Wop chop" sandwich is a must have...”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

... when visiting this tavern in Butte. Muzz & Stan's Freeway tavern is one of the places at which we always make it a point to stop and have lunch when passing through this area. We always purchase the pork chop sandwich (called the Wop chop), and take it to go.

The fries, while tasty, are consistently greasy so don't set the take out bag on your carpet!

The staff are friendly and more than willing to tell the story. The pork chop sandwich is called "Wop chop" because Muzz is Italian. He was actually pressured to change the name, but because he himself is Italian, he decided to keep the name (this story from one of the waitresses)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieCdA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Huron
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Wop chop”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Went here because the hotel staff suggested it. We like to dine where the locals go. It was a typical small town bar.
No frills, small, but the wop chop was delish it's a deep fried boneless pork chop, try it you'll love it. Best of all, only 5.75 with one side Yum!!!!

Helpful?
Thank TrippyTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butte, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The great Pork Chop Sandwich”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Great food, known for their Pork chop sandwich, but have lots of other items on menu. Will always go back for fried chicken or pork chop sandwich. Old bar in Butte for a long time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wop Chop and some joe-joes”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Nice pork chop sandwich.. the wop chop!! Good place and fast eats. Came in around 11:30 and there was no line, must have beat the rush.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WheatRidgeWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freeway Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Freeway Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing