We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place to stay on the west side of Glacier” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moss Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moss Mountain Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glen Haven, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay on the west side of Glacier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

My girlfriend and I just returned from wonderful trip to Glacier National Park and northwest Montana and stayed here for 3 nights late August. After two adventurous nights at the rustic backcountry Granite Park Chalet, we were thrilled to settle into Moss Mountain Inn to relax in comfort a bit. Debi and Hunter provide the most comfortable and immaculate B&B in an ideal location. Situated just outside West Glacier, we were able to explore more of the park, spend a day floating the North Fork of the Flathead River and get in some rest and shopping in Whitefish. The Inn is nestled among the trees and just off the North Fork Road.
We stayed in the Virgin Territory room on the 3rd floor and were extremely happy with the accommodations. The room was smallish, but cozy. I slept so well with the comfortable bed and the window open just a bit. The bathroom was extremely spacious. We even had a private balcony which was perfect for relaxing after a day of hiking/paddling. There are plenty of comfortable spaces beyond the rooms to relax including the “Going to the Sun” room, the beautiful backyard, a library, and other very well kept and welcoming common areas. We were busy all day long and really looked forward to the relaxing evenings at MMI. Hunter and Debi never hovered over the guests and provided everything we needed including wine glasses, a corkscrew, and a full-size refrigerator for guest use. We spent the first evening relaxing in the backyard watching the birds and playing with their two delightful pups.
The breakfasts at MMI are amazing. Not only is the food all organic, but they work really hard to create healthful balanced meals that will keep you going all morning long. In fact we didn’t each lunch any of the days we were there. I really appreciate the way they alternate sweet and savory breakfasts. We had a gluten intolerance request that they were able to meet with ease, preparing separate but otherwise identical meals. The second morning we requested a to-go breakfast as we wanted to get started early. A wonderful box breakfast was waiting for us in the fridge and included enough food to share throughout the day (they ask a reasonable 24 hour notice for this).
Hunter and Debi are well traveled and obviously have a great love of nature and outdoor activities. When asked they offered great advice and suggestions for area activities and restaurants. We had dinners at The Belton Chalet in West Glacier, The Northern Lights Saloon in Polebridge, and The Tupelo Grill in Whitefish. We ate very well on this trip.
It’s obvious that Debi and Hunter take great pride in their home and business and their success is well earned. We’ll recommend this Inn to all we know and definitely plan a return trip. We were extremely pleased with Moss Mountain Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
80
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
229 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We had a lovely experience, the hosts Hunter and Debbie are just great. They're so welcoming and helpful, long before you arrive to after you leave. They truly are experts in the area and are a great resource for tips on anything from hiking to rafting to dining.

We didn't spend much time at the house, we're really not big B&B people as we're more private, but for the most part, the arrangement worked for us and the location was very convenient to getting into the park. The room was quite small, but again, we weren't spending much time there so it was fine. As others have said, the ceiling slopes down. i liked the shelf in the closet to put our bags on. They do have wifi which was a big plus for us. We spent a bit of time downstairs watching TV on the second night and chatted with some of the other couples. The bathroom was great, very large, 2 sinks, plenty of space. It's separate from the bedroom though.

It's funny to read complaints about breakfast being served too late -- 8:30am was too early for us as we were coming from west where it felt even earlier and after a long day of travel the day before, could really have slept in. But that's not possible to do here as you hear a lot from the second floor kitchen as people are down there having coffee and socializing. Doesn't sound like that would be a problem for most though, since they're up so early anyway! Just like at a hotel, you're never going to please everyone and at a B&B, I think that just magnified. The breakfast was great though, very healthy, enough food to get you through a morning of hiking, it changed each day and was always tasty.

I'm a rather light sleeper and could hear the road noise (which is not constant by any means) as well as the dogs barking (wasn't for long though), but I always travel with earplugs so didn't have any trouble once I put them in. My husband, as usual, had no problems sleeping :)

We'd highly recommend this place though, the other couples who were there at the same time seemed to become friends at least for the duration of the stay, so I definitely recommend if you're more of a social B&B person.

We didn't find much restaurant-wise in Columbia Falls, but loved Tupelo in Whitefish. Oh and I've been told that Columbia Falls is a speedtrap but we didn't have any problems.

Watch out for the mosquitos! Even getting from your car to house you should have bug spray on.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have the sloping roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurengucsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Kansas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

My wife & I enjoyed our stay at Moss Mountain Inn. The hummingbirds were entertaining, the garden area & breakfast was amazing, & Hunter & Debbie were great to talk to, & get advice on Glacier Park. This is a great place to stay, that is quiet, & is very close to the most beautiful park in the country, with endless hiking opportunities!

Eddy & Tracy R.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EddyReimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed at the Mosses recently and experienced many of the good things others have described well. However we found that, for the price, there were a number of elements that were sub-standard. This includes the very cramped bedroom(s) on the third floor, the lack of water pressure in the bathroom, and the lack of a view from the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waterbee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mossmtn, Owner at Moss Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
We would like to address the water pressure complaint first because this is an important issue. We have an excellent water well and we always water all our gardens before check-in time. This guest checked in two hours before our stated check-in time of 4:00 p.m. Had we known they were going to shower we would have gladly turned off our gardens but they did not tell us about the pressure issue at the time so we had no idea.

Overpriced: We are the only venue in the entire Glacier region where you can get a fully organic gourmet meal, yet we manage to remain competitively priced with other B&B's and inns.

Room size: It is important for everyone who books with us to understand we are a green eco-lodging facility located in the wilderness. Green does not mean luxury, it means smaller rooms that are easy to heat in the winter and cool in the summer.

And as to overrated... well, 99% of our guests love us but there is always that 1% out there...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

I've no doubt that this is the best B&B in the West Glacier area. It is a great place! Hunter and Debbie were absolutely wonderful hosts. Very warm and friendly, and Hunter's advice on where to go in Glacier Park was welcome and very helpful. We had a great time chatting with them, and the other couples in the B&B.

Breakfasts were very delicious. This, though, is where we get into one of the reasons why this wasn't perfect for us - breakfast is served at 8:30 AM. That is too late, when you are on the edge of the best hiking park in the US. We would have liked to have to gotten off to an earlier start on most days. The food was gourmet quality, though, so we didn't skip breakfast to get off to the park early. And on weekends, you really need to get off early to be able to get a parking space near the top of the pass, and to avoid the crowds on the shorter trails.

The rooms were very clean and having our own bathroom was great. We were on the third floor, and this was the second reason why this wasn't perfect for us. The room we were in was partly under the eves. Since I'm tall, this made half of the room unusable for me (and the room was small to begin with). Even my wife had to be careful getting up at night to avoid hitting her head on the ceiling. Fortunately, there are some very nice "public" areas downstairs so we didn't feel that we hda to spend time in the room other than sleeping.

The gardens were wonderful, the dogs were fun. Compared to anything else I saw in the area, this was by far the best option. The food was delicious, the people were wonderful. Other than the headroom in the room, and the lateness of the breakfast, this was an excellent place.

Room Tip: Don't be on the third floor if you are tall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mossmtn, Owner at Moss Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
We are aware that some guests would prefer eating earlier, which is why we offer a box breakfast for those wishing to leave early. We post detailed information about our breakfast serving time on a Guest Information Sheet posted in every room, on our website, and in an email when someone makes a reservation, and we make the box breakfasts available to anyone who wants them. Some guests wish to eat early and some wish to sleep in because they are on vacation and over the eight years we have been in business, we have found that 8:30 a.m. is a happy medium that seems to suit most guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

If you read all the reviews,you will see that this B&B is fabulous. The grounds are lovely and filled with flowers, their organic vegetable garden, and many birds (too many hummingbirds to count!) The "Inn" is very comfortable, nicely decorated, and the hosts Hunter and Debi make the best breakfasts ever and were happy to accommodate my vegetarian lifestyle. My husband and I barely needed an apple and some cheese on the trail because breakfast was so filling, nutritious and delicious. AS hosts, they were happy to share their knowledge of the trails (both in the Park and out), and restaurants, etc. in the area. If we felt chatty, they were happy to talk with us, and if guests seemed to want quiet, they were happy to oblige. I hope to stay there again, and jokingly said i would work there for room and board, I loved it that much! I would give this Inn 11 stars if i could. Thanks Debi and Hunter (and "puppies" Bodi and Reggae)!!

Room Tip: Top floor is the best for a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlacierParkLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay . The house is very comfortable, breakfasts ate wonderful and owners very friendly. It is a very quiet and peacefully setting. The only minor issue was that the rooms upstairs have prvate baths but access is from the hallways (not the room). Despite this, its a lovely place to stay near West Glacier. We'd highly recommend the restaurant at the Belton Chalet.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia Falls
6.5 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
6.5 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
7.8 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Great Bear Inn
The Great Bear Inn
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
4.8 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moss Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moss Mountain Inn

Property: Moss Mountain Inn
Address: 4655 North Fork Road, Glacier National Park, Columbia Falls, MT 59912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Columbia Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moss Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moss Mountain Inn is an awarding-winning eco-smart bed and breakfast located on the western border of Glacier National Park, Montana, seven miles from the park entrance at West Glacier and a half mile from the North Fork of the National Wild and Scenic Flathead River. Our three-story cedar inn sits high on six forested acres in the Flathead National Forest with views of Glacier Park. Quite and away from traffic and park crowds, our B&B is the perfect base camp for all your Glacier expeditions. A scenic short cut to the West Glacier entrance finds you in the park in 10 - 15 minutes. You will feel both secluded from and surrounded by the majesty of Glacier. The outpost village of Polebridge, Glacier Park International Airport, and the quaint resort town of Whitefish are all within a short and picturesque 20 minute drive. We offer up-to-date, charming amenities, and personal attention to detail to ensure your stay with us is distinctive. When our guests arrive they often feel an immediate connection to their "Glacier Base Camp" and refer to it as "home". We are located 2 miles from the confluence of the Middle and North Fork of the Flathead River (Fly Fishing Paradise!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Moss Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moss Mountain Inn Columbia Falls, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing