We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVERPRICED”
Review of North Forty Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
North Forty Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Columbia Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Had read all the excellent reviews and we were excited to stay at North Forty Resort but....
it was way overpriced. I have to give it a value rating of poor. The cabins were cute from the outside and okay inside. The bathroom was very small for a family of four. The sleeper sofa was horrible. It appeared to be clean. But smelled strongly (all three nights of our stay) of the previous occupants steak dinner. At least that is what I think it was! And I do not know how you can get to GNP entrance in 15 minutes...it always took us at least 25-30 minutes (red lights).
Took awhile for me to write this review. I have been very upset with myself for spending so much money. I do not mind a pricier stay but this just was not what we expected for the cost.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrequentTraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

We just completed a brief two day excursion to Glacier Nt'l Park and made the north Forty Resort our base. It's location is ideal if you want to be close to Glacier, and an equal distance to Whitefist and Kallispel, both about 15 minutes away. I'm always a little reluctant to stay at "cabins" as many times their not as clean as I would like to get you that "back to nature" or "roughing it" feel, but not here. Very clean with the beds being comfortable. There is no A/C, but that wasn't a problem as it was pretty warm for this area hitting the low 90s, the front desk offered extra fans should we need them, we did but the cabins are under a dense canopy of trees, windows open with screens if you want to open so it was quiet cool and comfortable. Good place, i'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We spent 4 nights in this little cabin and were not disappointed. It was stocked with everything we needed and if we did not have it, the office provided it. The office was very friendly and helpful. The cabin was clean and well taken care of. It was only 15 minutes from the west entrance to Glacier National Park. Although it did not have air conditioning, it was very cool at night and we left the windows open. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Lovely trip to Glacier over two days here in a 2 room cabin. We bbq'd outside and cabin had full kitchen which was fully stocked with utensils, pans etc. Both rooms had flat screens and satellite TV. WI-FI was strong and fast. Nice to sit on the deck and listen to the birds and wind in the trees. Service here at front desk was very good. Great attitudes. There is a hot tub and sauna area, both very clean and nice. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kings_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mterik, Owner at North Forty Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again. Just one minor correction, we actually have cable tv (with over 50 HD channels) not satellite tv. Thank you for the nice review, we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed two nights at the North Forty. We had the large 2 room cabin which nicely accommodated our family of 7. The cabin was clean, and convenient to the National Park and the town of Whitefish. The only issue we had was lack of hot water and when we returned for the evening the problem was fixed. I would recommend this for a family trip. It was great to be able to fix breakfast for kids before leaving for the day. They loved roasting marshmallows at night on the grill! A great family spot!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dillie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My husband and I stayed in the one bedroom cabin. Very nice, yet simple for the 4 nights/mid June stay. Didn't miss not having AC and didn't need to use the heat - windows open the entire visit as the highs were in the 70's, lows in the 50's. Sheets were really worn, so bring your own if you are picky - everything else was fine, just a little dated. Loved eating breakfast in the cabin, packing a picnic lunch for the daily outings, then eating supper back in the cabin 2 nights, ate at McGarry's in Whitefish one night ($$$), then the Back Room in Columbia Falls ($) the other. Loved both! Perfect location for day trips into Glacier Nat. Park, Big Fork, and Whitefish. Computer access in lobby to check-in flights was helpful. If you need anything - just ask - staff was great!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joani-FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The North Forty resort is wonderful. We stayed here with some friends last year, and my husband and I stayed here by ourselves this year. I can't say enough great things about this place. There is a kitchenette with a full stove and fridge, plus a grill outside, so you can just go to the store and fix yourself everything you need. What a relaxing way to spend the evening after hiking all day - a glass of wine, steaks on the grill, relaxing on the porch of your own little cabin. The cabins are large and clean, the management is friendly and helpful, and the cabins are in close proximity to both Whitefish and Columbia Falls. The entrance to West Glacier is about 20 minutes away. If you have pets, they also have pet-friendly cabins.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ecco815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia Falls
3.2 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
4.3 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodge & Conference Center
16.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
340 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
191 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#3 of 17 in Whitefish
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Forty Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Forty Resort

Address: 3765 Mt Highway 40 W, Columbia Falls, MT 59912-8900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Columbia Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Columbia Falls
Price Range: £75 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Forty Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Forty Resort is set on 40 forested acres 5 minutes outside of Whitefish, Montana. There are twenty-two individual log cabins, newly updated hot tubs, and a meeting area with a full commercial kitchen. The resort is open year-round and is a great spot for weddings and family reunions. The west entrance to Glacier National Park is only thirty minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your North Forty Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North 40 Resort
North Forty Hotel Whitefish
North Forty Whitefish
North Forty Resort Columbia Falls, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing