We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury cabins”
Review of North Forty Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
North Forty Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Columbia Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Luxury cabins”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely cabin, a stones throw from Whitefish.its like camping in luxury. I could live here very easy!!!. :). I have nothing negative to say about it. Ok, the best tv and dvd player is in the kitchen, but just pull out the sofa bed and its perfect. in fact i found it the most comfortable bed to watch tv in. I would recommend this place to anyone. Would love to come back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    33
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
64
64
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thompson Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This pet friendly resort is located near Whitefish, Columbia Falls and Kalispell and is within an easy drive to Glacier National Park. My husband and, along with our dog, stayed in Cabin 14 which was snug and warm and very clean. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed with a note that more items were available just for the asking. There was a flat screen TV in the living room and another TV mounted on the wall in the bedroom. In addition to the bathroom there was an additional sink and counter top in the bedroom which I found very helpful when we were both getting ready to go out. The bed was very comfortable which I always appreciate. The cabin was spotlessly clean and maintained. There was a gas stove which was the main source of heat and there was also baseboard heating in the bedroom and bathroom so even though it was cold outside it was very comfortable in the cabin. The one thing that irritates me with many cabin rentals is the "do not..." signs posted everywhere, but this was not the case at the North Forty. They had a sheet explaining their guest policies and very little else. While there my husband and I enjoyed cross country skiing at Glacier National Park. They close the road at McDonald Lodge and you can ski from there. Needless to say the park was stunningly beautiful draped in its winter white. My husband also skied Whitefish Mountain which was an easy drive from the North Forty. The staff at the resort was extremely helpful and welcoming and we are already looking forward to our next trip there. It was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carriemontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thompson Falls
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My wife and I took a winter retreat to Whitefish/Columbia Falls. Our cute log cabin was lovely with a kitchen for meals. The staff is very friendly. They feature winter rates that made the resort just a little higher than a motel. Centrally located it is close to Glacier National Park, Whitefish Mountain Ski Resort, Kalispell and Whitefish. We don't live that far away so this makes a wonderful place for a three day retreat for us. They have one row of cabins on a drive that is the pet friendly area. They also have a trail out back. We shall return.

Room Tip: We had a cabin with a kitchen but they have smaller cabins as well. They also have larger cabins wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

My daughter and son-in law took us on a fantastic road trip from Canada, visiting the Rockies, Las Vegas and Whitefish. Each accommodation was unique and we loved the log cabin experience. This place had everything you needed also being very warm and comfortable. When we requested a hair dryer, iron and ironing board from reception, they brought to us within minutes. DVD's were also free to hire from reception. Whitefish town was a short drive away and the ski resort 'Big Mountain' only a bit further. We loved this place and it made the adventure even more exciting, as there were not too many cabins on the resort. There set also a couple of jacuzzi's on site to relax those tense muscles after skiing. A beautiful place and very welcoming!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PlymouthSmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed here; 17 and 18 Oct. Got a good deal (20% off due to military) when I booked with the resort over the phone. I've stayed at the North Forty Resort several times over the past 8, 9 years. It's been enjoyable every time. The folks running it are nice, check-in is a breeze, the sauna and hot tubs are nice. Recommend you get one of the big cabins... they are further off the highway and it makes a difference in noise. The cabins are large... have WIFI, DVD players and cable TV. Beds are a little hard for me. Highly recommended if you are in the Flathead Lake area of Montana.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the big cabins. They are more expensive... but the size and location makes up for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

These cabins were great-very large and comfortable. It had a good sized kitchen. We were backed up to nothing but the woods. It was a super peaceful place to stay. Although, it did get cold enough at night we had turned the thermostat up a bit. When that kicks on, it is LOUD. So, anyone sleeping on the pullout couch in the living room is definitely going to have trouble sleeping through it. Other than that, I would highly recommend! My kids were in love with this one, and wanted to move in!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noodles1681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Great Location – close to Glacier Park (west) - Private

First time visiting this area; stayed (six nights) in the Ponderosa Cabin (see website for pictures) and found it to be clean and comfortable.

Bedroom: Very comfortable beds and slept very well in this private and (consistently) quiet location. (note: brought our own pillows)

Kitchen area: Just to add to the other excellent reviews on the kitchen area; if you plan on making any meals would recommend on bringing your own spices and/or pantry items; also no built-in oven (although they will loan you a roaster or toaster oven and/or crock pot). Pans provided in the cabin were a dutch oven (I used for homemade soup and boiling king crab), skillet (used for bacon/eggs) and a couple of sauce pans (used for making couscous).

Trail: Appreciated the 1.25 walking path on the property – even saw a couple of deer during one of our walks as well:-).

Nice to have: Plenty of outlets; important if you bring along multiple electronic devices etc..

Location: Google maps indicates Glacier Park is 21 minutes from this location however it may be closer to 30 depending on the time of year you visit.

Living Room: The sofa was very comfortable but the 'log' type rocking chair not so comfortable (probably just a personal preference)

Overall we found this to be a wonderful resort; appreciated the private location yet convenient to markets, gas stations and parks (State and National) and will definitely plan on returning.

Room Tip: Traveled with friends who stayed in the Larch cabin which was similar to the Ponderosa Cabin. Would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kcs02s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia Falls
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
8.5 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
16.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Grouse Mountain Lodge
#6 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Forty Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Forty Resort

Property: North Forty Resort
Address: 3765 Mt Highway 40 W, Columbia Falls, MT 59912-8900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Columbia Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Columbia Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Forty Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Forty Resort is set on 40 forested acres 5 minutes outside of Whitefish, Montana. There are twenty-two individual log cabins, newly updated hot tubs, and a meeting area with a full commercial kitchen. The resort is open year-round and is a great spot for weddings and family reunions. The west entrance to Glacier National Park is only thirty minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your North Forty Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North 40 Resort
North Forty Hotel Whitefish
North Forty Whitefish
North Forty Resort Columbia Falls, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing