We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
269 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Neat place”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We are in the Hidden Lake room. It is part of a log building that has 3 other rooms. The furniture is hand made. Our king bed must weigh a ton. Everything is nice including our fireplace. The owner is a foodie so I am sure breakfast will be great. He told us what he is making and it made our mouthes water. There is an exercise room with a very good weight workout machine, bicycle, treadmill, and elliptical. There is also a very nice pool table and air hockey table. In the main house there are snacks and a fridge filled with beer, wine, and soft drinks. The owner has put together a book about Glacier, places to eat, history of his place, and park safety.

Room Tip: Have not seen the others, but Hidden Lake would be hard to beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Con K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    21
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
52
135
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We have stayed at the Bad Rock annually for three years and it is always a pleasure to return. We go to see our daughter and her family, and the two older grandkids are always eager to have a sleepover at the Bad Rock and to see the owner, Mark. Mark has struck the right balance between keeping a rustic, authentic feel to the place, while carefully thinking through every amenity and getting each one just right. Comfortable beds and linens, good chairs to read in, tasty breakfasts and good conversation. This is a superior option to the hotel alternatives in the Flathead Valley, as the cabins are spacious and afford a nice degree of privacy.

Room Tip: The converted barn is great if you want a separate bedroom and living area - with a king upstairs, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margrethe1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

My husband and I arrived at Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast, after ten days in Kalispell, hoping
to continue our adventure in magnificent Montana. Mark greeted us as friends and welcomed us
to his beautiful home. In fact, we had several telephone conversations in the weeks prior, as
he had very kindly tried to arrange off-season hikes in Glacier National Park. Even offering to go
himself.

We loved staying in the Swan Cabin. It's a nicely furnished two-story house, with a great view
of the Swan mountains from the bedroom balcony. We were cozy, warm, and had complete privacy (with our own parking spot out front). Mark's breakfasts were delicious. Best of all were
the table conversations with Mark and another couple from the U.K. Fascinating topics, comments, and opinions were always flying around as we all got to know each other. Staying there during our national elections made it especially interesting.

Our four-night stay went very quickly. We were wishing for a few more days on the morning of
our departure. We hope to return to Montana in the next few years and will definitely look forward to staying with Mark and Serena again.

Room Tip: The Swan Cabin (# 4) was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lifeisanadventure61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We found this B&B on the internet, and were delighted with it. The 'cabins' are fully and nicely furnished, not 'rustic'. Thick, soft towels, good, comfortable bedding. Full bath but also a second sink/mirror in the room for great convenience. Rooms are big, clean, very pretty. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the separate cabins, not the large house, so can't review those rooms, but we were very pleased with the cabins. Even spotted a dozen deer roaming the field behind the property one evening. Breakfast was at a set time (8:30), with one choice of entree each day (besides cereals). I did not like having to be in the dining room at a set time when on vacation, but I survived. I also am not much for gourmet breakfasts, but my husband loved them. All in all, a very nice place, and we would choose to stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehillfamiyx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast during a trip to Glacier National Park in October of this year. Mark, the owner, clearly takes a lot of pride in what he does there - every single detail had been thought out for our stay. Not only did he offer to loan us trekking poles, camp stove fuel and bear spray for our three day trek in the park, but upon our arrival he made some fabulous recommendations on places to eat and shop. Our room "Avalanche Lake" was immaculate, and the cozy gas fireplace heater in the room was delightful after two cold nights of camping in the woods. The Bad Rock features include a fire pit, gas grill for guest use, and a game room with a pool table. The main house has a huge library of books and a gorgeous breakfast room. Breakfast was amazing as well, but perhaps the highlight was watching four or five deer grazing at dusk from the back porch behind our room. It is a serene escape and the perfect place to pamper yourself after a few days camping in the park, or perhaps for those less camping inclined, a close place to call home while you venture out for day hikes in the park.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This was our favorite stop on our 8131 mile cross-country (and into Canada) trek of a lifetime! Mark was a superb host, truly helpful, and such fun to talk with. He is also a gourmet chef, whose breakfasts are unique and beyond compare! We stayed in the entirely renovated "horse barn" which we decided we could nicely live in for the rest of our lives!!! The laundry facility was heaven sent! And, the setting, looking east to the Rockies, was not only beautiful, but peaceful and a perfect end to any day.....turkeys on the fence and deer in the field! Don't miss the Three Forks Grille which Mark recommends!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

The Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast is like driving down a quiet country road to a beautiful ranch. It is very pieceful, there are deer in the yard-I remember thinking ohh how relaxing. The owners name is Mark, very interesting guy and a great cook. The rooms are very rustic, bed, couch and fireplace. The back door of the cottage leads out to a large yard with deer. God we had a great time and slept very well. We'll be going back next year and our way to Canada. Have a great winter Mark Mike and Gloria from Reno, NV

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia Falls
14.8 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
4.2 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
10.2 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
4.2 mi away
Meadow Lake View Bed and Breakfast
11.2 mi away
Smoky Bear Ranch
Smoky Bear Ranch
#2 of 8 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast
Address: 480 Bad Rock Drive, Columbia Falls, MT 59912-9213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Columbia Falls
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bad Rock B&B is a great place to stay while visiting Glacier National Park and the Flathead Valley. With 9 rooms to choose from we have something suited for you personal stay. The views from our 10 acre property of the Swan and Whitefish mountains are breath taking. Find the beauty of quiet solitude in any of our guest rooms. Only 20 minutes from the west entrance to Glacier or Glacier International (Kalispell) Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bad Rock Bed And Breakfast Columbia Falls, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing