We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Just one night at Bad Rock was not enough. The room and setting were beautiful. We stayed in one room of a three-room cabin with a piece of heaven out the back door. Owner knew a ton about West Glacier and helped us modify our hiking plans to perfection (and he demonstrated proper use of bear spray). Wonderful breakfast. I will return if i can.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattfromDenver77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    23
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
59
141
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, CA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is an amazing place. If I had to do it all over again, I would have stayed here much longer and used the experience of the host to plan my trip. A few more nights watching the long Montana summer sunset and true comfort in this cabin, would have made my trip extra special. The host is very knowledgeable and quite a character. He goes beyond what the typical B and B offers. A true host. Excellent breakfast and amenities.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPorterRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This b & b has lots of extras. There is a large library with books of local interest, a large gathering room with a tv, games, snacks, and drinks. In addition to all this, there is a separate rec room with pool table, air hockey, and a full kitchen for you to use if you want to cook. We were the only ones in the rec room each time we were there. The owners cook a different, interesting breakfast each day. The extras make this a good value as a base for visiting the Glacier area. We will definitely stay here again if we are ever in this area again.

Room Tip: The swan cabin is a little more, but worth it if you want extra private space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylormo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringgold, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We are in the Hidden Lake room. It is part of a log building that has 3 other rooms. The furniture is hand made. Our king bed must weigh a ton. Everything is nice including our fireplace. The owner is a foodie so I am sure breakfast will be great. He told us what he is making and it made our mouthes water. There is an exercise room with a very good weight workout machine, bicycle, treadmill, and elliptical. There is also a very nice pool table and air hockey table. In the main house there are snacks and a fridge filled with beer, wine, and soft drinks. The owner has put together a book about Glacier, places to eat, history of his place, and park safety.

Room Tip: Have not seen the others, but Hidden Lake would be hard to beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Con K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We have stayed at the Bad Rock annually for three years and it is always a pleasure to return. We go to see our daughter and her family, and the two older grandkids are always eager to have a sleepover at the Bad Rock and to see the owner, Mark. Mark has struck the right balance between keeping a rustic, authentic feel to the place, while carefully thinking through every amenity and getting each one just right. Comfortable beds and linens, good chairs to read in, tasty breakfasts and good conversation. This is a superior option to the hotel alternatives in the Flathead Valley, as the cabins are spacious and afford a nice degree of privacy.

Room Tip: The converted barn is great if you want a separate bedroom and living area - with a king upstairs, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margrethe1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

My husband and I arrived at Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast, after ten days in Kalispell, hoping
to continue our adventure in magnificent Montana. Mark greeted us as friends and welcomed us
to his beautiful home. In fact, we had several telephone conversations in the weeks prior, as
he had very kindly tried to arrange off-season hikes in Glacier National Park. Even offering to go
himself.

We loved staying in the Swan Cabin. It's a nicely furnished two-story house, with a great view
of the Swan mountains from the bedroom balcony. We were cozy, warm, and had complete privacy (with our own parking spot out front). Mark's breakfasts were delicious. Best of all were
the table conversations with Mark and another couple from the U.K. Fascinating topics, comments, and opinions were always flying around as we all got to know each other. Staying there during our national elections made it especially interesting.

Our four-night stay went very quickly. We were wishing for a few more days on the morning of
our departure. We hope to return to Montana in the next few years and will definitely look forward to staying with Mark and Serena again.

Room Tip: The Swan Cabin (# 4) was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lifeisanadventure61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We found this B&B on the internet, and were delighted with it. The 'cabins' are fully and nicely furnished, not 'rustic'. Thick, soft towels, good, comfortable bedding. Full bath but also a second sink/mirror in the room for great convenience. Rooms are big, clean, very pretty. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the separate cabins, not the large house, so can't review those rooms, but we were very pleased with the cabins. Even spotted a dozen deer roaming the field behind the property one evening. Breakfast was at a set time (8:30), with one choice of entree each day (besides cereals). I did not like having to be in the dining room at a set time when on vacation, but I survived. I also am not much for gourmet breakfasts, but my husband loved them. All in all, a very nice place, and we would choose to stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehillfamily2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia Falls
13.3 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
314 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
144 reviews
4.2 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 5 in Columbia Falls
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Glacier Travel Inn
Glacier Travel Inn
#4 of 5 in Columbia Falls
198 reviews
10.2 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
1,044 reviews
13.9 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#4 of 6 in West Glacier
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast
Address: 480 Bad Rock Drive, Columbia Falls, MT 59912-9213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Columbia Falls
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bad Rock B&B is a great place to stay while visiting Glacier National Park and the Flathead Valley. With 9 rooms to choose from we have something suited for your personal stay. The views from our 10 acre property of the Swan and Whitefish mountains are breathtaking. Find the beauty of quiet solitude in any of our guest rooms. Only 20 minutes from the west entrance to Glacier NP or Glacier International (Kalispell) Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bad Rock Bed And Breakfast Columbia Falls, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing