We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Stay and an Oustanding Host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect Stay and an Oustanding Host”
Reviewed 23 June 2008

Spent 5 nights at Bad Rock.

The facility was top-notch thoughout.

The breakfasts were outstanding (my wife came away with some recipes).

The host (Mark) was a wealth of knowledge on things to see and do in the area. His lively breakfast conversation and advice about the area and its history was great. He also provided hiking equipment, maps and literature on the area, and his famous "Bad Rock Bible" containing info on restaurants, driving directions, Glacier National Park and much more.

The man genuinely enjoys what he's doing and it shows in how he treats his guests. How does a nuclear chemist wind up running a B&B in Montana? That's a question you'll need to ask him at breakfast.

  • Liked — The Host
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_in_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    23
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
57
141
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2008

This is a fine, comfortable place to stay, but not quite as splendid as I expected based on the reviews here.

It seems like they were doing remodeling during our stay ... front and back lawns were dirt; inside family room area had paint cans, putty, lots of clutter on the counters; our room had curtain rods but no curtains; bathtub was older, slightly stained. When we booked, there was an outdoors hot tub - that was removed. We only saw Mark, no other family members.

The room and bed was comfortable, we enjoyed breakfast, and it was nice to borrow the bear spray and hiking poles. Mark was personable and very knowledgeable about the area. Its location is very convenient to many things - the airport, GNP, parks, restaurants.

Relative to other B&Bs we have stayed at - and we try to stay at highly rated B&Bs - I'd honestly have to say it was just average. But that doesn't mean it isn't a comfortable place to stay. It is!

It just didn't "WOW" us as anything exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Route31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2008

Fantastic place for all types. The hosts were totally fun, the food was great, and they have everything you could ever want as far as outdoor gear! We loved it and would definitely make a special trip to go back.

  • Liked — the people, great hosts - very knowledgable
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noahfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2007

Mark & Serena were the ultimate B & B hosts, everything including personal attention and facilites were first rate.
Food was exceptional. Peaceful ,serene, warm, relaxing-better
than home.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MdSailor24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2007

Great place! Serena and Mark are more than helpful with information on the area. They even furnished us with a CD of Glacier National Park for our car trip. Bad Rock has comfortable rooms, well stocked common areas, and great breakfasts. If there is something special that you want or need, they try to provide it. They even fed us breakfast early to make our schedule work.

  • Liked — hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SaSa1539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2007

My sister and I recently stayed at Bad Rock B&B and had such a great experience we can't stop talking about it! The hosts are very kind and easy to talk to. They were very informative about the parks and gave us great advice about bears. They even loaned us bear spray (which thankfully we were able to return unused!). The accommodations were very comfortable and the breakfast (bacon rapped polenta) was amazing!! I think our only regret of this whole experience was not having stayed longer! I highly recommend staying there!

  • Liked — The breakfast!!
  • Disliked — maybe that the hot tub wasn't up and running yet!!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kauffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2007

We started our vacation in a rickety RV rental and wound up in cushy beds, roomy bathroom, and everything you could possibly ask for in a host and hostess. We called them late at night asking for ANY room they might have so we could sleep in a comfortable bed for a couple of nights. Lucky for us, someone had just cancelled and we were able to get all three nights there. The hosts were wonderful! They showed us around the property, game room, exercise equipment, ice machine, laundry room, hiking books, movies, recommendations for hikes, beer, wine, water and breakfast in the morning. How could you possilby go wrong? Our 15 year old son loved the breakfasts every morning, I don't think I've ever seen him eat so much! They have a wonderful "guide" book in your room with restaurant recommendations, etc. We carried it in our car just so we had something to go on our first day in Glacier National Park. Without Mark and Serena our trip would've been horrible. This is definitely a 5 star B&B, I would go back ANY time! We loved it and our hosts. I've never seen so much offered in a business as I have with them. I cannot even begin to tell you how wonderful it was!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBertrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia Falls
13.3 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
308 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
144 reviews
4.2 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Glacier Travel Inn
Glacier Travel Inn
#3 of 4 in Columbia Falls
198 reviews
13.9 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#4 of 6 in West Glacier
242 reviews
10.2 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast
Address: 480 Bad Rock Drive, Columbia Falls, MT 59912-9213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Columbia Falls
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bad Rock B&B is a great place to stay while visiting Glacier National Park and the Flathead Valley. With 9 rooms to choose from we have something suited for your personal stay. The views from our 10 acre property of the Swan and Whitefish mountains are breathtaking. Find the beauty of quiet solitude in any of our guest rooms. Only 20 minutes from the west entrance to Glacier NP or Glacier International (Kalispell) Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bad Rock Bed And Breakfast Columbia Falls, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing