We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodations for ones Glacier experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Bad Rock B&B is everything that their website says it is. Rooms are updated, clean & comfortable. The additional amenities at this establishment are plentiful e.g. hiking accessories for usage (hiking poles, bear spray, water bottles, maps, etc.), pamphlets on area activities & restaurants, washer/dryer, common fire pit, evening drinks & snacks, workout equipment, etc. There is also a well thought out binder of information/Q&A in the rooms that were helpful.

The hosts, Mark & Serena Jackson, provide services far and beyond anything else you will get in hotels or B&Bs. Guests essentially have full access to the property and they (the hosts) are there should you need them for ideas, suggestions, directions, etc. - just put it out there.

We stayed here three nights in the St. Mary's Junction Room the second week of September. We liked that we could drive to the front door and able to park very close to the room. Also liked the backdoor access to our own patin sitting area - good for private early morning coffee and evening cocktails.

We will stay here again next time we visit and highly recommend this B&B under Mark & Serena.

Thank you very much for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: The facility has different types of rooms. Take the time to review the website and call the host to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mini6322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

This B and B is convenient and about as close to West Glacier as you can get. The breakfasts are very good and large enough to keep you going until dinner. Mark is very knowledge about about the park and he is a great cook as well. The place is big enough to get to know some of the guests at breakfast and exchange some stories. It is off the main road by a small piece but that kinda adds to the charm. If you want a quiet comfortable place, with charm and a homey fell this is the place for you. The rooms in the main house do not have TV's so if you are into late night tv for entertainment this may not be the best place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at Bad Rock for 2 nights during our trip to Glacier and would have stayed longer had we known how great the place is! We were in the Swan Mountain Cabin, staying here you feel like you have a cabin in the mountains yet you can walk 1 minute to the main house and find any book, article, map, etc regarding Glacier and the surrounding area. Besides this, Mark the owner is a great host and a wealth of knowledge. We actually changed our itinerary slightly after some of his suggestions. They can even help you out with a few essentials if you forget anything- we borrowed a cooler and some bear spray. Glacier is a big area so we had decided to split our time between the east and west sides. Even though we had checked out Mark told us we could hold onto the bear spray and just return it to him on our way back to the airport at the end of our trip. That alone speaks volumes about Bad Rock. Also, the entire place from rooms to the grounds are very clean and well kept, the breakfast was great, and the location was great as well. They really have a good thing going here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have stayed in a lot of B&Bs in our time, and I have to say, I wish all of them could be just like Bad Rock. We chose it for the location and the trip advisor reviews, and we were thoroughly impressed.

The room (one of the cabins) was so lovely that my boyfriend actually took a picture of my face as we walked in. Spacious, gorgeous, tastefully decorated with love, even a fireplace. Having driven a long, long way from Yellowstone that day, we were also very grateful for the wine, beer, and snacks available in the cozy living room after checking ourselves in rather late.

(Note to late arrivals: If you're going to be rolling in in the middle of the night, it is perfectly easy to check yourself in. There was a personal note on the front door with thorough instructions and advice, and the hosts will greet you warmly at breakfast the next morning.)

The bed was huge and comfy, the shower forceful and steamy, and the breakfast sumptuous and fresh. Mark was such a great host and delightful person that we could almost have forgotten about visiting Glacier National Park just to chat with him all morning long. That evening, the guests were even invited to join Serena's birthday party, a lovely invitation that we were keen to take them up on (if all of their friends are as interesting as Mark and Serena, it would certainly be a fun evening!) -- but then after returning after a long day in the park, we decided instead to take advantage of the laundry facilities and turn in early. And then after clicking on the light in the laundry room, we discovered the pool and air hockey tables...

The day we left, Mark took all kinds of time to advise us on the best and prettiest routes for our remaining journey, including hotels and eateries (he's a foodie).

This is a place one could easily stay for a week. Which is precisely what we would like to do next time.

Room Tip: The cabins were awesome.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nikadeedoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We visited Montana in August and stayed 5 nights at Bad Rock B&B to be convenient to a friends home as well as convenient to Glacier National Park. Mark and Serena Jackson, owners, are very warm, talented people who present an excellent experience away from home. We stayed in the main house and the accommodations were perfect. The room and private bath were very clean. The hot breakfast at 8:30am was always delicious and Mark was available to converse with his guests and help with tips on things to do and getting around the area. Mark and Serena have great knowledge of the area and can give you tips on where to eat locally, etc. I could write a journal on our few nights at Bad Rock! Keeping it short, I will tell you that anything you might be interested in doing in your own home can most probably be accomplished here...there are snacks & drinks available, there is a huge deck to enjoy the outdoor air & meet new friends after a long day, there is an exercise area, a firepit area to use on chilly nights and bar-b-que area. The grounds are enjoyable to take a walk and the landscape beds were in bloom. Mark & Serena will lend items you might need at Glacier (backpack, bear spray, etc) and can also help with a kayak trip if interested. There is a library with numerous books to explore and a recreation room to catch a TV program if interested. This being our first experience with a bed and breakfast, I doubt that we would experience another 5-star experience such as this. Thank you Mark and Serena! Hope to see you both again in the future. Bill and Marge

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Plum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at Bad Rock B and B for only one night in July. We found a wonderfully appointed B and B and a friendly host and hostess. Their recommendations for dinner led us to a great local restaurant which had a varied menu. Breakfast was excellent and they circulated among the guests facilitating discussion and keeping our plates full. There was even complimentary wine, beer, sodas, and snacks in the evening. I could not imagine a better place and the view was spectacular. What a find.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 95Leedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Unless you need an RV Park or prefer rustic cabins this is the place to stay for west side access to GNP. The bedrooms are nice. The breakfasts are good. The common rooms are very user friendly including wine available to guests. There is even an exercise room. The B&B is about 10-15 highway miles west of the park. The first pickup stop on many of the red bus tours is at the West Glacier KOA which is a short drive away. (Best seats with first pickup). There is decent dining in the area and the potter next door has some worthwhile items.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelSaavy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia Falls
13.3 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
332 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
9.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Kalispell
4.2 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 5 in Columbia Falls
359 reviews
7.9 mi away
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Historic Tamarack Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hungry Horse
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast

Address: 480 Bad Rock Dr, Columbia Falls, MT 59912-9213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Columbia Falls
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia Falls
Price Range: £118 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bad Rock B&B is a great place to stay while visiting Glacier National Park and the Flathead Valley. With 9 rooms to choose from we have something suited for your personal stay. The views from our 10 acre property of the Swan and Whitefish mountains are breathtaking. Find the beauty of quiet solitude in any of our guest rooms. Only 20 minutes from the west entrance to Glacier NP or Glacier International (Kalispell) Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bad Rock Bed And Breakfast Columbia Falls, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing