We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 'Bunkhouse'!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great 'Bunkhouse'!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2006

We stayed in the "bunkhouse" in Lake MacDonald room - very spacious accomodations. The room was outfitted with rustic western furnishings, down comforters and wonderful beds - very comfy and cozy. Our hosts were very helpful in securing a "must do" trail ride and gave us alot of information about the area. Our son found plenty to do in the game room and den. Also, the breakfast was wonderful and inlcuded dessert.

  • Liked — Spacious and comfortable accomodations
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    21
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
52
135
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2006

My wife and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Bad Rock B&B. Mark and Serena go out of their way to make the stay relaxing, informative and unique. Their signature breakfasts were a great way to kick off the day. We stayed in #7-St Mary's Lake room which is located in the detached bank of 2 cabins. We found it roomy, modern and comfortable. The detached recreation room with full kitchen, laundry, and exercise equipment is a welcome touch. Their location is only 15-20 minutes south of the main Glacier National Park entrance and 15 minutes away from great eating establishments in Whitefish. You cannot go wrong with the Bad Rock!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flowmete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Charles, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2006

We stayed there for a week and wished we had a month. Fabulous location, fantastic food! Mark and Serena are every traveler's dream hosts- very accomodating! We traveled with 4 adults and 2 preteens and everyone enjoyed it immensely....
Glacier Nat'l Park is an amazing place, and the surrounding area has good entertainment and restaurants to choose from. I can't say enough good things about our stay.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy_Oooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAKE LURE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Bad Rock B&B from September 14th to 21st, 2005. Mark and Serena were terrific hosts. They were very knowledgeable about Glacier National Part and the surrounding area. Great breakfast each morning to start the day. Their B&B is only 15 minutes from the west entrance to the park. They offered "loaner" bear spray, hiking poles, coolers, along with many reference materials that you could take with you each day.

Quiet, peaceful location with very comfortable king bed in the log cabin rooms. No TV in the rooms, but available in the main open living area. High speed internet in the main room also. Open bar was nice.

Great place to stay.

Dale & Dianne

Helpful?
11 Thank DALE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2005

My wife and I stayed at Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast in Columbia Falls, MT from 9/2/2005 through 9/10/2005. We had a wonderful time. Our hosts, Mark and Serena, treated us like royalty.

Each morning, they would prepare a 3 course breakfast for us. It was always different and some of the most wonderful food I have ever tasted. One morning, Mark placed in front of me the most amazing combination of a salad and a rolled bacon, cornbread, and egg breakfast. I loved it! The breakfast desserts were always fun and delicious.

They are only 15 minutes or so from Glacier National Park, so if you plan on visiting the Park, this is the best location to call "home". Mark and Serena are like personal traveling advisers. They would share with us each morning the best hikes, where to go for good horseback rides, excellent rafting companies and quite frankly the best dinner places in Kalispell and Columbia Falls.

To top it off, after a hard day of hiking, you are free to enjoy their large and wonderful hot tub. The jets will relax those tired muscles as you stare up at the perfect Montana night sky.

We stayed in the Lake McDonald cabin, away from the noises of the city and were so relaxed and comfortable, we didn't want to go home. The different people that stayed each night provided interesting and informative conversations at breakfast each morning.

If you are looking to relax and enjoy the great outdoors in Montana, then stay at the Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast in Columbia Falls, MT.

Helpful?
9 Thank Kenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2005

We stayed at Bad Rock B&B for 1 night in the Lake Mc Donald junction room. Very nicely furnished and lots of space! Fresh water and sodas in the fridge. Small private backterrace. No A/C though, but as weather was not too warm, it did not bother us. The hot tub in the garden was just heaven - with view of the mountains at sunset :-) Robes and flipflops provided.
Breakfast was good, but choice was limited: we received watermelon slices, waffles with strawberries & cream and bacon.
Innkeepers were very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank magali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Innkeeper at Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 November 2005
We appreciate the review of this guest. We do want to give more information on the availability of air conditioning. We have window A/C units that we install in July. The average high temperature in June is 70 degrees. This past summer was very mild and we only turned the air on in the main house twice. Montana is very dry in the summer and not humid at all. We have installed permanent A/C units in the house rooms and hope to have the same in the cabins by summer 2006. None of the lodges or cabins in Glacier Park has air conditioning.

Regarding the limited menu mentioned, we have ten separate menus that we rotate everyday. It would take a minimum of an eight-day stay to have the same breakfast twice. We serve one main course daily. For those guests who do not want this choice, an optional breakfast bar is always offered. Guests who choose to have an early breakfast can also have this breakfast bar so they can leave early to go hiking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia Falls
4.1 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
4.2 mi away
Meadow Lake View Bed and Breakfast
9.3 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Smoky Bear Ranch
Smoky Bear Ranch
#2 of 7 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
5.3 mi away
North Forty Resort
North Forty Resort
#2 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
14.6 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast
Address: 480 Bad Rock Drive, Columbia Falls, MT 59912-9213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Columbia Falls
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bad Rock B&B is a great place to stay while visiting Glacier National Park and the Flathead Valley. With 9 rooms to choose from or 3 bedroom guest house or 2 bedroom apartment, we have something suited for you personal stay. The views from our 15 acre property of the Swan and Whitefish mountains are breath taking. Find the beauty of quiet solitude in any of our guest rooms. Only 20 minutes from the west entrance to Glacier or Glacier International (Kalispell) Airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bad Rock Bed And Breakfast Columbia Falls, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing