We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great property and what a great story!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Historic Route 7A Manchester, VT.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great property and what a great story!”
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Mark (and Serena) have done an incredible job with this property. They don't stop improving and adding amenities for their guests. I came through on a solo bike ride across country so I was not able to enjoy all that they offer their guests, but as Mark walked me around (I too am a Bed and Breakfast owner) showing the property I was amazed at all the guests have at their disposal to insure their stay is all they want it to be.
I also have to say that Mark and Serena's story is quite interesting and one that is definately entertaining.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and I can not say enough about the hospitality that was provided to me during my stay. I would definately return to The Bad Rock B&B, but next time I'll be in a car versus on a bike! thank you mark and Serena...it was a pleasure to meet you both and to share stories!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    21
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
52
135
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We stayed with Mark and Serena for two nights at the beginning of May and although we live a long way away (in the UK) we would love to visit again. Our guest "cottage" had all that we would require plus more - it was truly a home for home.
The breakfasts were exceptiona, cooked fresh by Mark.
Mark and Serena were so helpful and did everything they could to make us comfortable and relaxed.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Bad Rock B&B to everyone - a must stay if you are near Glacier National Park.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davis48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

The Badrock B and B has to be one of the best places in Montana! The accomodations are lovely, immaculate and very appropriate for this beautiful part of the country with the decor, extras (such as backpacks, water bottles, etc.) and the knowledge of Mark and Serena, the owners, about the Flathead/Glacier area. We came to Columbia Falls to visit family as a group....had visiting relatives from Sweden. The breakfast was gourmet and the atmosphere so homey. Really felt invited into this warm lovely home with wonderful hosts. Our rooms were lovely, private, quiet, well supplied and had very fine "Montana" ambience which we enjoyed. There is even a very nice gym available to help keep one in shape while on vacation. Wildlife was plentiful with many deer coming to find any fall apples left on the ground, bald eagles flying high in the sky coming from the Flathead River, lovely views of Columbia Mountain (even had an early snowstorm that covered the peaks in a soft white blanket). This is THE place we would recommend to anyone traveling to this area. Very accomodating owners!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svenska4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

I need to go on vacation every so often so the many balls I am trying to juggle-mostly without success-can all land, I can declare disaster, and then forecast redemption, upon my return from vacation. I kick all the balls under the desk, declare a vacation is afoot and hope I don't trip on the balls as I go out of the room. I also leave at an odd time for fear that someone might ask me where the two of us are going. Truth be told, I have no idea right up until I hear the jet engines. That explains why we took this trip and why I comment on this fine B&B in a "look back."

We are two 50 somethings from Connecticut who decided at the last minute to go to Montana. The Northeast-all of it-is home and Colorado is a state we are very familiar with. We looked at beaching in October but ended up in Montana, Glacier-Yellowstone and a lot of points in between.

Yes, it was great, Montana is a well kept secret from us Northeasterners who think of Montana as just left of the North Pole. Its really a larger Vermont thirty years ago. Beautiful, great people, incredible outdoors with an innocence that only pre-development allows.

Here we are, singing the praises of the Bad Rock B&B. We simply found them on the internet after searching Barbados. Yes, we are that impulsive; the greatest plug we can bestow on this B&B is that if they were closer we'd want to move in. If you understand "guilty pleasure" or "they thought of everything" you'd get the picture.

Good B&Bs tend to draw interesting and pleasant guests, so we had that, too-come to think of it the other guests surely put us in the same category. The food is superlative, rooms excellent and overall experience a solid A. The owners Mark and Serena Jackson have knowledge of the area that is topnotch; when offered guidebooks--even bear spray if we wanted it--we knew we were on to something special. There is talent and passion here; the B&B is a diamond in the rough.

In this comment, I will let the others reviewers give you the content, suffice it to say when the budding B&B owner/dreamers amongst you want to see how its done-on a small scale, mind you-here it is.

You won't have a million dollar view or a kitchen in your room and you won't be walking to feature restaurants but that doesn't hold a candle to passion, pride in ownership and genuine interest in their guests as well as a comfortable, private room worthy of tired travelers.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillisgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pfafftown
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We stayed 3 nights at this beautiful B&B set at the base of a mountain. It was just like being home because of all the options available to you. (laundry facilities, game room, den, kitchen, bar, patio,etc). The wild life was plentiful without even leaving the premises. The morning breakfast was not of the ordinary. You will think a chef is preparing your unique breakfast meal. Whether you stay in the main house or one of the detached cottages you will find everything beautifully decorated to accent the nature environment. There is a lovely landscaped patio to sit and relax or read a book. The owner makes a great host and is readily available to you for local information or just general conversation. From this location you are near Glacier Falls, Yellowstone and other parks of interest. I would definitely rated this a 4 star experience.

Helpful?
Thank grandbunnyx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olin, NC
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2009

We had reservations at the Bad Rock Bed & Breakfast for Aug. 27th and 28th. It was such a wonderful place to relax, the breakfast was so gooood that we stayed another night. (we were lucky that he had room for us to stay another night.) Mark & Serena Jackson, the owners were so gracious and Mark gave us many tips on where to go and what to see and good places to eat. Mark always found time to sit and chat with us after we had spent the day sight seeing. Snacks were always available and good. They are definately the Host With The Most. The bedrooms were so spacious and nicely furnished. We would go back there and stay in a heart beat. We are still talking about our time there.

Helpful?
Thank NCHolyCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We were very surprised because all of the raves about Bad Rock were true. Our room was very large and well appointed. Mark's breakfasts were outstanding and he has thought of everything to help his guests.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thevat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia Falls
4.2 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
316 reviews
4.2 mi away
Meadow Lake View Bed and Breakfast
9.4 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
963 reviews
11.2 mi away
Smoky Bear Ranch
Smoky Bear Ranch
#2 of 7 in Columbia Falls
36 reviews
5.3 mi away
North Forty Resort
North Forty Resort
#2 of 4 in Columbia Falls
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast
Address: 480 Bad Rock Drive, Columbia Falls, MT 59912-9213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Columbia Falls
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bad Rock B&B is a great place to stay while visiting Glacier National Park and the Flathead Valley. With 9 rooms to choose from we have something suited for you personal stay. The views from our 10 acre property of the Swan and Whitefish mountains are breath taking. Find the beauty of quiet solitude in any of our guest rooms. Only 20 minutes from the west entrance to Glacier or Glacier International (Kalispell) Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bad Rock Bed And Breakfast Columbia Falls, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing