We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Adequate B&B.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service
Ranked #1 of 1 Cooke City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location. Adequate B&B.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

The location is great,very close to the NE entrance of Yellowstone. The cabin itself is very attractive. The bedroom was nice. Bathroom was very basic. The breakfasts were rather limited and small in portion. We were expecting a nice large breakfast like we've had with other B&Bs. Also, the internet was up and down while we were there. If staying in the area again we'd likely look into other options but we might stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank J75E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkylineGuestRanch, Owner at Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Though disappointed, I can respect this average rating, as we are just average folks working hard to offer excellent service.
Of course we really appreciate excellent ratings but I do sometimes worry that people might get the idea that we're the Ritz or Hilton when we're just a beautiful log cabin in the woods with horses, kids, dogs and dirt in close proximity.
Our goal is to make your stay as comfortable, enjoyable and satisfying as possible. Please allow us to bring out more breakfast or adjust the menu to meet your needs.
Satellite internet, though sometimes unreliable, is the only option in these mountains, there is no cell service but we do offer free unlimited calls from our cordless landline phone. We're here to help with everything from drying shoes to forgotten battery chargers. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    31
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
67
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Best lodging and food in the area. It is very clean and friendly. Best food you can find. I loved staying there. It is a working ranch with horses to rent guides on staff for fishing and horse trips. What is not to love? Wildlife everywhere. We saw there was a moose about a hundred yards away in the creek. Deer and elk also in abundance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JM82435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

The location and the cabin itself are stunning, and as such we had a very pleasant one-night stop over here. The rooms were basic but well kept with nice clean en suite bathroom. We weren’t there long enough to comment on other facilities, but it seems the ideal setting for a hot tub or grilling. The homemade breakfast was very nice and there was plenty of it, a great start to the day. We arrived in town later than planned and as such we decided to eat before everything closed down, so I called the B&B to ask if it’d be fine to arrive late (almost 23.00 by the time we found it). They assured me it was, and indeed there was someone to greet us when we arrived, but I got the impression they weren’t used to it and this isn’t really a place you can come and go as you please – more your early to bed early to rise ethos. I did wonder if we’d fallen out of favour due to our late arrival, but perhaps it was my guilty conscience and the owners are just quiet people. It’s a great ranch though, shame the horses weren’t shod yet (it is the mountains after all) as we had fancied that. I imagine it is very cosy in winter time too. We would stay again if in Cooke City… Ps. their dog is lovely!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BorderRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Super friendly staff! The breakfast was delicious and the place is very clean. Loved the stay with our children.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Bed and breakfast style lodge with spacious rooms, private bath. Family style breakfast (we had pancakes, meat (bacon), juice -- really good. Horses and dogs and a cat on site. No internet (spotty on owner's computer in lodge, no wifi), no cell phone reception, but free calls on lodge land line. Cost was about $120/night and well worth it. Clean and nice rooms, quiet. We went on the trail ride -- REALLY great and high point of stay. Beautiful scenery and rode uphill, through streams, over rocks and mud, but very do-able. We crossed Beartooth Pass (read about it before you decide to make the drive -- it isnt' for wimps); it's breathtaking and also high anxiety if you aren't used to mountain driving and looking over ledges as you climb to the summit, but we were really glad we took the risk and did it. This is close to Yellowstone, relatively speaking, and if we were to return to the area, we'd definitely hope to stay at Skyline again. Guide was one of the best we've ever had; skilled and made the ride a real treat.

Room Tip: Ours was at the top of the stairs and quiet. I don't know that one is better than any other; we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoJoGlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

My family of three recently stayed at Skyline for two nights. Our visit could not have been more pleasant! The Lodge has a warm rustic feel with all the amenities of home. Liz and her daughter, Lara, were very gracious and attentive to our needs. The rooms are spacious and very clean. In addition to the two queen size beds located in our room we were surprised to find that there was also a loft with a twin bed. My 12 year old daughter especially loved having her own space. The breakfasts prepared by Liz were phenomenal. The only regret we have is that our stay at Skyline Guest Ranch was not longer. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed at Skyline in early June for 5 nights. Our visit was excellent! Liz is a fabulous hostess and a great cook. The rooms are spacious and clean. We love the area and will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cooke City hotels
2.9 mi away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#5 of 6 in Cooke City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.9 mi away
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service

Property: Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service
Address: 31 Kersey Lake Road, PO Box 1074, Cooke City, MT 59020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cooke City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7 miles from the northeast entrance to Yellowstone National Park, Skyline Guest Ranch borders the Gallatin National Forest. The lodge is made of hand-hewn logs, nestled back in the pines. Each of our guest rooms has its own private bath, there is a hot tub out on the deck, big screen TV, foosball, ping pong and wi-fi. Breakfast is included with your room. this is a full, hot, sit-down breakfast. There is horseback riding and fishing available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skyline Guest Ranch And Guide Service Hotel Cooke City
Skyline Guest Ranch And Guide Service Cooke City, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing