We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly, Cozy and Peaceful Lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service
Ranked #1 of 1 Cooke City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Setauket, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family Friendly, Cozy and Peaceful Lodge”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had a wonderful stay here back in July 2013 with our 2 teenagers. Liz is very sweet and will take the time to give you ideas on places to go and things to do outside of Yellowstone. The scenery is beautiful outside the lodge. I loved looking out my room window in morning at the horse stable. Thank you for making it a memorable stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    31
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
61
68
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Lovely lodge in a beautiful location, very convenient to Yellowstone Northeast entrance. The drive to and from Yellowstone is gorgeous. Breakfast was delicious. The beds very comfy. Hosts were kind and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATexasNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Liz and Vic Jackson & all of the Jackson family members know how to treat their guests with a caring attitude. We stayed at the B&B for three nights and also were transported into the backcountry by horses and mules for our third trip with Vic. My husband and I have nothing but good things to say about them.. The way they treat us.we felt like part of their family. Their horses are gentle and sure-footed, the staff is very attentive- Kameesha took photos of us during our horse ride into the Beartooth mountains, and Vic made sure we felt comfortable on the horse ride in and out. The breakfasts cooked by Liz were yummy and she even has sugar-free syrup and gluten-free breads for special needs. We highly recommend their accommodations and horseback riding trips. Our visits to Skyline Guest Ranch are now an annual event we look forward to with anticipation. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are quieter although the downstairs room allows dogs. All of the bathrooms have ampl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skmwildernessgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Montana, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed at the Skyline Guest Ranch for 8 days and used their guide service for a Big Horn Sheep/ Big game combo hunt. I was made to feel welcome right from the start. Liz Met me as I entered smiling and welcoming. I got settled in and she pointed out some hunting I could do if I wanted to get started right away. Luke "my guide" was snowed out for a day due to road closures. Vic the owner took me hunting the first day and when Luke got there late that night he had horses saddled early introduced himself at breakfast and we began hunting. He worked very hard for the next six days trying to put me on the game we were after. The food was top notch, service was great! Every morning I got up came to the dining room and was always met with a smile. Coffee was ready and breakfast on. I read some negative reviews and didn't have that experience at all. I can however see how people could mistake busy for preoccupied or rude. It was rather slow when I was there due to the Government furlough and everyone was very busy still so I can see how during the heat of the tourist season where they would be very busy with guests and day trips as well. I could not imagine any of the family being rude. I felt very welcome and formed great friendships at my time at the skyline guest ranch and would highly recommend them. IWILL BE BACK FOR SURE!!!!! John Martin

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The facilities were lovely and well appointed. The hosts were awesome and very accommodating. The food was great. I wish we'd had time to got for a horseback ride. We had planned to be in Yellowstone but as the park was closed we were looking for alternatives. The Chief Joseph Scenic Byway, Wyoming 296, was a gorgeous drive with the trees starting to change color. It would be a lovely drive anytime of year!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kvilhaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Very nice, comfortable lodgings, great food, beautiful scenery, amazing horses, and knowledgeable guides. The Absaroka/Beartooth mountains are some of the most stunning scenery in the Continental United States. Large breakfast well before dawn, saddled up before sunrise, and traversing some of the most difficult terrain I've ever experienced short of vertical cliff climbing. The horses were sure-footed even in ice & snow, on loose rocks, slick rock, and stepping over tangles of downed timber.

Dinners were also large and delicious, and the packed lunches enough to satisfy someone much larger than me, and I'm 6'4".

The 3 story lodge is situated off of the highway, and has a large great-room heated by a wood stove where guests gather to share the day's experiences, watch TV, or consult the next day's weather forecast on the satellite downlinked internet connection. Rooms are spacious, clean, and well kept. There is a house phone that is free for guests to use.

This is wild country, with Moose, Elk, Mule Deer, and the occasional bear sited from or near the lodge. It also means that access, power, and internet service may be interrupted if the weather closes in. But the lodge is well equipped to handle such contingencies, and it is all part of the wilderness experience. We even got to enjoy an intimate candlelight dinner courtesy of a windstorm that temporarily knocked out the power.

A short drive from the spectacular (and less frequently travelled) NE entrance to Yellowstone national park, be sure to drive the Beartooth Highway and the Chief Joseph Highway while visiting.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs, ask for the room on the ground floor (there is only one). Secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

we really enjoyed out stay at Skyline, it is in a great location ... convenient to both the Beartooth Pkway and to Chief Joseph Scenic byway ... both are must sees if you are in the area. Rooms were clean and nice, most of the rooms are upstairs but if you can handle stairs, you will enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: IF you need a main level room, book early as they only have 1 or maybe 2 on the main floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cooke City hotels
2.9 mi away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#5 of 6 in Cooke City
144 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
135 reviews
2.9 mi away
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service

Property: Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service
Address: 31 Kersey Lake Road, PO Box 1074, Cooke City, MT 59020
Region: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cooke City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7 miles from the northeast entrance to Yellowstone National Park, Skyline Guest Ranch borders the Gallatin National Forest. The lodge is made of hand-hewn logs, nestled back in the pines. Each of our guest rooms has its own private bath, there is a hot tub out on the deck, big screen TV, foosball, ping pong and wi-fi. Breakfast is included with your room. this is a full, hot, sit-down breakfast. There is horseback riding and fishing available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skyline Guest Ranch And Guide Service Hotel Cooke City
Skyline Guest Ranch And Guide Service Cooke City, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing