We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
48
54
40
30
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
54
40
30
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoda buttelamar valleyore houseisolated areahomemade chipsthe staff was super friendlyhit or missdunraven passlarge fireplacemountain stylecomplimentary coffeeadjoining restaurantnortheast entranceold schoolstay there againwe ate breakfastgreat stop
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2011

On a couples motorcycle trip, we had issues finding lodging after an unexpectedly long day in Yellowstone (traffic jams!). We rolled into town and tried to find lodging. Sadly, everything was booked. That's understandable and was our problem. Soda Butte's problem was that their sign stated that they had "VACANCY". We were told that their sign was broken. This seems a little too convenient and drew in slews of people desperate for lodging.
Soda Butte hotel staff was awfully weird and rude. The manager had some of the worst people skills I've ever seen. She was blatantly rude to multiple patrons, including us. Since the hotel was booked, they "offered" to let us stay in the lobby for $25/person with our camping gear. That meant that for the four of us, it would have been $100 a night to sleep in sleeping bags on their disgusting floor with a bunch of other strangers, with the hotel bar (connected to the lobby) open until 2 a.m., and public bathrooms in the basement for us to use. No food was included and the lobby became populated with a tour bus full of people milling around. We counter-offered a more reasonable price, but were turned down. I'm not sure if packing a lobby full of sleeping patrons is even legal for fire-codes. We ended up staying through our horrible dinner that was super expensive and then opting not to sleep on the floor of the lobby. Instead, we drove through the night to stay in Cody, WY.
All in all, the wait staff at the restaurant was very nice and I appreciated them. The rest of the staff was impressive only in the most negative ways. I hope they turn this place around... and sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grillus19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed here as a last option due to a snafu in reservations at another hotel. Dirty floors, walls were all chipped up, and lots of running in the hallways. Bathroom was clean. Front clerk was confused about how our room was going to be billed. Best part-hotel is within easy reach of Lamar Valley. Try the restaurant across the street for the smoked trout- exceptional!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Called and secured a room over the phone for $80 for the girlfriend and myself. When we got there and checked in we where told by the surley, rude staff that all that was left for rooms was a double queen bed room at $99. So much for having a reservation held with a credit card lol. Room was very dingy, water stained ceiling, remote for the tv held together with electrical tape...etc. We will be back to cooke city in the future but it won't be at this so called "lodge"

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fattig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I chose this spot because of the proximity to Yellowstone's Northeast entrance. I knew we wanted to drive through the Beartooth mountains and this place was right there at the end of the Beartooth highway. (awesome drive! ). It was also only $90 bucks a night and we were staying 5 nights so we needed cheap. It looked pretty cool in the photos. Well I booked first and read the reviews later, so I was dreading what we would find. Well we got there and yes it is what you pay for, we had two queen size beds, a TV, a sink in the room with mirror and a small bathroom with shower. Really it was all we needed because there is so much to do in Yellowstone we were up at 630 am and in bed at 11pm, so we just needed a place to sleep. Well I did not think it was as bad as all the reviews said. Yes the rooms had no air, But our windows opened to the beautiful mountain an mountain stream behind the lodge. Keeping the windows open while we were gone and at night kept the room cool. The sound of the stream put us to sleep. Yes it is outdated. But the laundry room is not scary, there are several washers/dryers ($2.00 a load) a couch and a coffee table, laundry folding table and a bookcase to grab something to read. There is a large window that lets in plenty of light while folding. There is no swimming pool/hot tub. Per a local they steamed up the bar and made it uncomfortable for guests so it was better to not have it. there are no small refrigerators in any of the rooms so don't ask. The staff was super friendly and we had no problems with staff or guests. The only problem we had was with our allergies acting up as soon as we set foot in the room. Sneezing, runny nose, congestion. That was a pain, but in fairness we were not sure if it was the room or all the beautiful flowers in bloom on the mountain. The food at the Old Prospector was good but pricey. We only had breakfast there and chose a different place to eat every night. I don't regret staying here, but would maybe choose another location next time we go- Old faithful is 3 hours away! Lamar valley is 15-20 mins. We still had a great time!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluanjel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were mortified when we checked into our room across the street at BunsNBeds, so when the management at this place saved us with a two queen bed room, we were grateful! The staff we interacted with were fabulous. They met each of our needs and were very attentive. They made our two night stay very comfortable and we ate dinner both nights at their restaraunt. The food and service was great!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews