We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
48
54
40
29
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
54
40
29
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoda buttelamar valleyore houseisolated areahomemade chipsthe staff was super friendlyhit or missdunraven passlarge fireplacemountain stylecomplimentary coffeeadjoining restaurantnortheast entranceflat screenstay there againold schoolwe ate breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Room was clean and well-appointed. Service was spotty in the inn and the attached restaurant--ranging from friendly/helpful to cool/disinterested. In September, things are starting to slow so perhaps staffing is an issue. No elevator, no rooms on ground floor, and no one to help with luggage so be prepared to haul your things up a flight of stairs. Parking is inadequate on the hotel property so you may have to park along the main drag and be moving by 9:00 a.m. or so. Locals frequent the bar which is a mixed blessing--just mind your own business and should be no problem.

Room Tip: Whole town shuts down about 9:00 pm so noise from street is not a problem.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Accidental_Turista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Only stayed one night at this Motel/Hotel. Rooms were accessed from inside the building. Not sure how old the building is but the floors, although carpeted, were uneven and creaked when you walked on them. My daughter made the comment that the colors of the carpet, walls, etc. reminded her of the Hotel in the movie "The Shining"! We had a good laugh. There is a convenient restaurant located on the first floor. A bit pricey but convenient. There is also a nice bar right next to the restaurant. The staff was friendly but the front desk person was also the only waitress for the restaurant. She was having to check in guests, seat people in the restaurant, take orders and answer the business phone. The bartender was friendly. The front of the Motel faces the main street and the back rooms overlook the river. We couldn't see the river but you could hear the running water and the view was very pretty. Green river bed with lots of trees and a mountainous back ground. The room was a little cramped but clean. It was a quiet time in the town of CookeCity as there was no motorcycle rally rolling through. Lots of souvenir stores, coffee shops and cafes within walking distance. The only suggestions that I have for the proprietor is to do some maintenance on the staircase rails. One side was extremely wobbly. Also, get the carpet stretched as there were lumps that caused some folks to trip.

Room Tip: Get a room on the south side overlooking the river. Don't expect fast service unless they hire more people. This is a laid back Lodge...kitty on the sofa in front of the fireplace in the lobby. We liked it because it met our needs. We were not in a hurry and just enjoyed the views and meeting new people.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PV260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We got into town a little later that we anticipated and after driving through the Pass we decided we really needed some beer. It was only 9pm so we figured we were good on time.
Well the kitchen was closed as we were immediately informed as we walked in the door, it seemed like the hostess wished that would send us away. We went into the bar and after a short period of time the bartender came over and told us that the kitchen was still open, (later he found out that it was closed) He then offered us frozen pizza, and we asked him about the local beer that they served. He went on to list Guiness, Corona, Miller Lite and then stopped. We askd him about LOCAL beer and he said well none of them are really good so I wasn't really going to mention them.
We were not impressed, we each had a Moose Drool and left.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Sassafras G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed 1 night here while we were visiting Yellowstone. Next time, we will just plan to stay there the whole time. We liked the location to our favorite places in the park.

This is not a fancy place and it is definitely older, but it more than met our expectations. It was neat, clean, and tidy. We really liked the whole Cooke City experience!

We ate dinner in the dining room and the food was really great. Everyone was super friendly and we do plan to return and stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScenicWeddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My Family and I stopped at the Soda Butte Lodge for lunch after taking the Beartooth Pass. It was 1:30 in the afternoon on a Sunday, and in the restaurant there was only 9 other people. We are a group of 7 and thought we would get quick service. Wrong! We waited over 30 minutes for our food( basic lunch fare), my husbands burger was burnt and cold, my daughters came out 10 minutes after the rest and was burnt, We didn't get refills on sodas, teas. When I paid, the lady at the counter didn't stop talking to her co-worker long enough to do anything then take my card. Worst experience I have ever had. The place must run on tourist $ ONLY . I'm sure the locals eat somewhere eles.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cashohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews